Identification of greenhouse gas emissions benchmarks for the construction of buildings in different planning phases

Apart from the 'performance gap', we now know how to achieve low or even negligible energy consumption in buildings in the operating phase. However, the savings are clearly at the expense of building materials and their consumption of non-renewable primary energy ('grey energy') and associated greenhouse gas emissions. The final extent of building material consumption is influenced to a greater or lesser extent, favourably or unfavourably, by decisions made in the various planning phases of a building. Progressive builders and planners often want to know how much environmental savings potential can still be tapped in specific planning phases through the use of alternative 'green' building materials.

The proposed project therefore pursues to identify benchmarks (incl. possible variations of greenhouse gas emissions) for the construction of buildings in the respective planning phase. For the preliminary study phase, MINERGIE-ECO projects will be evaluated on the basis of suitable key figures for the project. Case studies of different types of load-bearing structures will be used to show the savings potential that can be achieved in the preliminary design phase. Then case studies comparing the most common building components and materials with ecofriendly alternatives will be used to demonstrate the savings potential that can be achieved in the construction phase. Finally, case studies of interior fittings will be used to demonstrate the savings potential in the implementation phase.

The results of the study will be condensed into a guideline in German, French and Italian on the optimisation potential of greenhouse gas emissions in the construction of buildings and common components at different planning phases. These results can also serve as a basis for developing alternative new construction solutions and as a starting point for specific additions to reconstruction procedures.

Gallery

Identifizierung von Treibhausgasemissions-Benchmarks für den Bau von Gebäuden in verschiedenen Planungsphasen

Wie ein tiefer oder gar verschwindend geringer Energieverbrauch von Gebäuden in der Betriebsphase erreicht werden kann, ist heute – abgesehen vom „Performance Gap“ – bekannt. Die Einsparungen erfolgen jedoch klar zulasten der Baustoffe und ihres Verbrauchs an nicht erneuerbarer Primärenergie PEne („Graue Energie“) und zugehöriger Treibhausgasemissionen THGE. Das Endausmass des Baustoffverbrauchs wird durch Entscheidungen in den jeweiligen Planungsphasen eines Gebäudes mehr oder weniger stark, günstig oder ungünstig beeinflusst. Progressive Bauherren und Fachplaner möchten oft schon wissen, welches ökologische Einsparpotenzial in welcher Planungsphase mit dem Einsatz alternativer „grüner“ Baustoffe (noch) vorhanden ist.

Das vorgeschlagene Projekt hat daher das Ziel, Benchmarks inklusive möglicher Variationen von PEne/THGE für die Erstellung von Gebäuden in der jeweiligen Planungsphase zu identifizieren. Für die Vorstudienphase werden MINERGIE-ECO-Projekte nach geeigneten Projektkennzahlen ausgewertet. Anhand von Fallbeispielen mit verschiedenen Tragstrukturtypen wird das Einsparpotenzial im Vorprojekt aufgezeigt. Mittels Auswertungen für die gängigsten Bauteile und Baustoffe und des Vergleichs mit ökologisch optimierten Baustoffen wird an den Fallbeispielen das Einsparpotenzial im Bauprojekt ermittelt. Dank der Ermittlung in den Fallbeispielen des Anteils des Innenausbaus an der Gesamtbilanz wird das Einsparpotenzial im Ausführungsprojekt aufgezeigt.

Die Studienresultate werden in einem Leitfaden in D, F & I zum Optimierungspotenzial bezüglich PEne/THGE in der Erstellung von Gebäuden und gängiger Bauteile auf verschiedenen Planungsstufen kondensiert. Die Studienresultate können weiter als Grundlage für die Entwicklung alternativer Neubaulösungen und als Ausgangslage für spezifische Ergänzungen des Vorgehens für den Umbau dienen.

Galerie