The smart living lab has created a new website to draw attention to its R&D activities focused on the built environment of the future. The research center’s 2017 annual report will also be published as a website for the first time. Find out more about its flagship projects such as the collaborative parallel studies mandate for construction of the building where the smart living lab will be housed in the future or its research infrastructures modeled after the NeighborHub solar house, which gave the Swiss team its victory at the Solar Decathlon in the United States only a year ago.

SPOTLIGHT ON RESEARCH

The smart living lab’s new website has been designed to reflect, in particular, the lab’s interdisciplinary research activities, which concern user well-being, energy efficiency, and digital transformation. Around 80 projects are available to discover online, listed by research domains and groups – most of these the result of the joint efforts of the EPFL, the School of Engineering and Architecture of Fribourg, and the University of Fribourg at the smart living lab.

The different research infrastructures make it possible to conduct experiments in real conditions, as highlighted via the new web platform, and having an overview of these infrastructures should prove helpful in forging ties with potential research partners. From the blueFACTORY’s Blue Hall, which currently houses the smart living lab, to the popup studio, a construction and experimental space devoted to teaching and research, these different spaces open up multiple opportunities and are hence conducive to collaborative, multidisciplinary research.

In addition, the website will make it possible to follow the construction process for the smart living lab’s new building over three phases: the call for project proposals, the implementation study, and construction.

2017: A CRUCIAL YEAR FOR THE SMART LIVING LAB

Published as a website for the very first time, the smart living lab’s annual report for 2017 provides an overview of a year full of highlights, not least the Swiss team’s triumph at the Solar Decathlon competition in the US, where the NeighborHub solar house delighted the jury with its sustainable architecture and energy management in particular. This success in Denver has helped to consolidate academic ties between the EPFL, the School of Engineering and Architecture of Fribourg, and the University of Fribourg, whose teams have been jointly based at the smart living lab since it was set up in 2014. It has also reinforced a large network of both public and private partners.

The annual report also shows that 2017 was a defining year for the promotion of research connected with the smart living lab’s future building. This was done in various Swiss and international publications.

In addition, the report highlights the many collaborative and multidisciplinary projects that were initiated in 2017 thanks to the work of an ever increasing number of researchers at the smart living lab. Both the annual report and the smart living lab’s new website contain a list of projects categorized by research group and domain, together with information on their funding sources and private partnerships.

MULTIMEDIA SHOWCASE

The smart living lab’s new website also serves as a digital platform for the promotion of research using various media, including social networks such as Instragram, LinkedIn, and Twitter, a photo gallery and videos. Available to watch online now!

Information

Annual Report 2017
smartlivinglab.ch

Social media

Follow us!

Le smart living lab publie un nouveau site Internet en trois langues pour mettre en lumière ses activités de recherche et développement dédiées à l’habitat du futur. Le centre de recherche présente également son rapport annuel 2017 pour la première fois sur une plateforme numérique. Découvrez plus en détails ses projets phares, tel que le lancement d’un mandat d’études parallèles pour son futur bâtiment, ou ses infrastructures de recherche à l’image de la maison solaire NeighborHub, qui a été distinguée au Solar Decathlon aux Etats-Unis il y a tout juste un an.

COUP DE PROJECTEUR SUR LA RECHERCHE

Le nouveau site Internet du smart living lab a été conçu pour refléter, en particulier, ses activités de recherche interdisciplinaires, motivées par le bien-être des utilisateurs, l’efficacité énergétique et la transformation numérique. Près de 80 projets, dont la plupart sont le fruit de la collaboration entre l’EPFL, la Haute école d’ingénierie et d’architecture de Fribourg et l’Université de Fribourg au sein du smart living lab, sont à découvrir en ligne grâce à un système de filtres par domaine et groupe de recherche.

Les infrastructures de recherche, qui permettent de réaliser des expérimentations en conditions réelles, sont également à l’honneur sur la nouvelle plateforme web. Une vue d’ensemble de ces infrastructures veut permettre de tisser des liens avec de potentiels partenaires de recherche. De la Halle bleue de blueFACTORY, qui abrite aujourd’hui le smart living lab, à l’atelier popup, lieu de construction et d’expérimentation destiné à l’enseignement et à la recherche, les différents espaces offrent des possibilités multiples, qui invitent à la recherche collaborative et pluridisciplinaire.

De plus, le site Internet permettra aussi de suivre le processus de construction du futur bâtiment du smart living lab, au travers de trois phases: appel à projets, étude de réalisation et construction.

2017, UNE ANNÉE DÉCISIVE POUR LE SMART LIVING LAB

Le rapport annuel 2017 du smart living lab est publié conjointement au nouveau site Internet, pour la première fois en version numérique. Il revient sur une année 2017 riche en événements phares, tels que la victoire de l’équipe suisse à la compétition US Solar Decathlon, dont la maison solaire NeighborHub a notamment remporté les faveurs du jury pour son architecture durable et sa gestion énergétique. Ce succès a permis de consolider les liens académiques entre l’EPFL, la Haute école d’ingénierie de Fribourg et l’Université de Fribourg, réunies au sein du smart living lab depuis sa création en 2014, et de renforcer un réseau de nombreux partenaires publics et privés. 
Le rapport d’activités rappelle encore que l’année 2017 a aussi été déterminante pour la promotion de la recherche liée au futur bâtiment du smart living lab, au travers de multiples publications nationales et internationales. 

Enfin, il souligne que 2017 a vu naître plusieurs projets collaboratifs et pluridisciplinaires, à la faveur de chercheurs toujours plus nombreux au sein du smart living lab. Tout comme le nouveau site Internet du smart living lab, il contient une liste des projets présentés en fonction des groupes et domaines de recherche, ainsi que des informations sur leurs sources de financement et leurs partenariats privés.

MULTIMÉDIA À L’HONNEUR

Le site nouveau site Internet du smart living lab se veut aussi une plateforme numérique au service de la promotion de la recherche via plusieurs médias de communication, tels que les réseaux sociaux (Instagram, LinkedIn, Twitter), la photographie et la vidéo. A découvrir en ligne sans plus tarder!

Information

Rapport annuel 2017
smartlivinglab.ch

Médias sociaux

Suivez-nous!