The smart living lab is a research and development center for the built environment of the future whose aim is to achieve energy efficiency, digital transformation, and the well-being of its users. Here, interdisciplinary research projects are pursued with experiments carried out in real-life conditions. These activities involve researchers and companies.

The smart living lab brings together the combined expertise of the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology Lausanne (EPFL), the School of Engineering and Architecture of Fribourg (HEIA-FR), and the University of Fribourg (UNIFR) in research areas such as construction technologies, well-being and behaviors, interactions and design processes, and energy systems. The smart living lab has been housed at the blueFACTORY site in Fribourg since the end of 2015. The construction phase for the new smart living lab building is slated for 2020.

The smart living lab has helped Fribourg to forge a long-lasting link between the city’s image and EPFL’s brand and global network. The Canton of Fribourg and the blueFACTORY site are now well and truly on the map – not just in Switzerland but internationally – in the domain of innovative technologies. The smart living lab also plays a key role in the Swiss Innovation Park (SIP), forming the heart of western Switzerland’s SIP Network West at the blueFACTORY, alongside the EPFL Innovation Park, Lausanne’s Biopôle, Campus Biotech at Geneva, Microcity in Neuchâtel, and Energypolis at Sion.

Partners

Comprised of over 300 labs and research groups on its campus, the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology Lausanne (EPFL) is among the most productive and innovative research institutions worldwide. Ranked in the top three at European level and in the top 20 globally according to several scientific ranking lists, EPFL has drawn some of the best researchers in their fields. EPFL has a unique organizational structure designed to stimulate transdisciplinary research and encourage partnerships with other institutions.

Located in the heart of a bilingual region, culturally rich and ideally situated, the School of Engineering and Architecture of Fribourg (HEIA‐FR) trains future engineers and architects holding a Bachelor’s or Master’s degree from Swiss universities of applied sciences. This state-of-the-art school offers university-level training based on professional practice. Recognized by the public and local businesses for its many applied research activities, the school contributes to innovation activity and allows the Canton of Fribourg to project itself on both a technological and scientific level.

Founded in 1889, the University of Fribourg (UNIFR), is the only bilingual university in Switzerland and has a strong international tradition. It operates as a cutting-edge scientific and teaching center, with a strong human-centered approach that covers a wide range of disciplines in five different faculties. Nearly 10,000 Bachelor’s, Master’s, and PhD students benefit from its excellent infrastructure and its many educational opportunities.

It is worth mentioning that the smart living lab project is the first of its kind in Switzerland. It brings together knowledge from several institutions in a single location at the heart of a city. The research facility offers a unique infrastructure for the rapid transfer of key expertise to the construction industry. For the Canton of Fribourg, whose construction industry is a major pillar, the presence of a center of national and international outreach reinforces its economic fabric by offering many new competitive advantages.

Contact

Anne-Claude Cosandey

Director of Operations EPFL Fribourg and smart living lab
Until 31.12.2018- EPFL
-project management
-change management
-administration

Video

Information

Newsletter

To receive the newsletter of the smart living lab twice a year, please enter your e-mail address | Disclaimer

email

View previous campaigns.

Le smart living lab est un centre de recherche et développement dédié à l’habitat du futur, dont les activités sont motivées par le bien-être des utilisateurs, l’efficacité énergétique et la transformation numérique. Ce living lab implémente des projets de recherche interdisciplinaires grâce à une expérimentation en conditions réelles impliquant des chercheurs et des entreprises.

Le smart living lab rassemble l’expertise de l’Ecole polytechnique fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL), de la Haute école d’ingénierie et d’architecture de Fribourg (HEIA-FR) et de l’Université de Fribourg dans les domaines de recherche des «Technologies de la construction», «Bien-être et comportements», «Interactions et processus de conception» et «Systèmes énergétiques». Depuis 2015, il développe ses activités de recherche dans le quartier d’innovation du blueFACTORY à Fribourg et verra la construction de son propre bâtiment sur le même site dès 2020.

Le smart living lab permet à Fribourg de lier durablement son image à la marque et au réseau EPFL mondial et de positionner le canton et le site de blueFACTORY, sur le plan suisse et international, dans le domaine des technologies novatrices. Il joue également un rôle clé dans le Swiss Innovation Park (SIP), en formant le cœur du SIP West de Suisse occidentale à blueFACTORY, au côté de l’EPFL Innovation Park et le Biopôle à Lausanne, le Campus Biotech à Genève, Microcity à Neuchâtel et Energypolis à Sion.

Partenaires

Avec plus de 300 laboratoires et groupes de recherche présents sur son campus, l’Ecole polytechnique fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL) est une des institutions de recherche parmi les plus productives et les plus innovantes au monde. Elle culmine parmi les trois premières au niveau européen et les 20 premières au niveau mondial selon divers classements scientifiques. L’EPFL attire chaque année les meilleurs chercheurs dans leur domaine. L’école a une organisation unique qui vise à stimuler la recherche transdisciplinaire et à promouvoir les partenariats avec les autres institutions.

Située au cœur d’une région bilingue, culturellement riche et idéalement placée sur la carte, la Haute école d’ingénierie et d’architecture de Fribourg (HEIA-FR) a pour mission de former les futur-e-s ingénieur-e-s et architectes HES, détenteurs et détentrices de bachelor et master HES-SO. A la pointe de la technologie, la Haute école offre une formation de niveau universitaire axée sur la pratique professionnelle. Reconnue par la société et l’économie pour ses nombreuses activités en recherche appliquée, elle contribue grandement à l’innovation et au rayonnement scientifique et technologique du canton de Fribourg.

L’Université de Fribourg (UNIFR), fondée en 1889, est l’unique université bilingue de Suisse et maintient une tradition fortement internationale. Elle s’entend comme lieu de recherche et d’enseignement scientifique au plus haut niveau, tout en plaçant l’être humain au centre. Elle offre un large éventail de disciplines issues de cinq facultés. Près de 10’000 étudiants de niveau bachelor, master et doctorat bénéficient de son excellente infrastructure et de nombreuses offres et opportunités complémentaires.

Il mérite d’être mentionné que le smart living lab est le premier du genre en Suisse. Il réunit le savoir-faire de plusieurs institutions en un même lieu, au cœur de la ville de Fribourg. Le centre de recherche sur l’habitat du futur offre une infrastructure unique pour un transfert rapide des compétences clés vers l’industrie du bâtiment. Pour l’Etat de Fribourg, dont le secteur de la construction est un des piliers, la présence d’un centre au rayonnement national et international renforce son tissu économique, tout en offrant de nombreux avantages compétitifs.

Contact

Anne-Claude Cosandey

Head of Operations EPFL Fribourg
Coordinator smart living lab- EPFL
-project management
-change management
-administration

Vidéo

Information

Newsletter

Pour recevoir la newsletter du smart living lab 2 fois par an, merci d’indiquer votre adresse e-mail | Mentions légales

email

Voir nos précédentes newletter