The smart living lab is a research and development center for the built environment of the future whose aim is to achieve energy efficiency, digital transformation, and the well-being of its users. Here, interdisciplinary research projects are pursued with experiments carried out in real-life conditions. These activities involve researchers and companies.

The smart living lab brings together the combined expertise of the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology Lausanne (EPFL), the School of Engineering and Architecture of Fribourg (HEIA-FR), and the University of Fribourg (UNIFR) in research areas such as construction technologies, well-being and behaviors, interactions and design processes, and energy systems. The smart living lab has been housed at the blueFACTORY site in Fribourg since the end of 2015. The construction phase for the new smart living lab building is slated for 2020.

The smart living lab has helped Fribourg to forge a long-lasting link between the city’s image and EPFL’s brand and global network. The Canton of Fribourg and the blueFACTORY site are now well and truly on the map – not just in Switzerland but internationally – in the domain of innovative technologies. The smart living lab also plays a key role in the Swiss Innovation Park (SIP), forming the heart of western Switzerland’s SIP Network West at the blueFACTORY, alongside the EPFL Innovation Park, Lausanne’s Biopôle, Campus Biotech at Geneva, Microcity in Neuchâtel, and Energypolis at Sion.

Partners

Comprised of over 300 labs and research groups on its campus, the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology Lausanne (EPFL) is among the most productive and innovative research institutions worldwide. Ranked in the top three at European level and in the top 20 globally according to several scientific ranking lists, EPFL has drawn some of the best researchers in their fields. EPFL has a unique organizational structure designed to stimulate transdisciplinary research and encourage partnerships with other institutions.

Located in the heart of a bilingual region, culturally rich and ideally situated, the School of Engineering and Architecture of Fribourg (HEIA‐FR) trains future engineers and architects holding a Bachelor’s or Master’s degree from Swiss universities of applied sciences. This state-of-the-art school offers university-level training based on professional practice. Recognized by the public and local businesses for its many applied research activities, the school contributes to innovation activity and allows the Canton of Fribourg to project itself on both a technological and scientific level.

Founded in 1889, the University of Fribourg (UNIFR), is the only bilingual university in Switzerland and has a strong international tradition. It operates as a cutting-edge scientific and teaching center, with a strong human-centered approach that covers a wide range of disciplines in five different faculties. Nearly 10,000 Bachelor’s, Master’s, and PhD students benefit from its excellent infrastructure and its many educational opportunities.

It is worth mentioning that the smart living lab project is the first of its kind in Switzerland. It brings together knowledge from several institutions in a single location at the heart of a city. The research facility offers a unique infrastructure for the rapid transfer of key expertise to the construction industry. For the Canton of Fribourg, whose construction industry is a major pillar, the presence of a center of national and international outreach reinforces its economic fabric by offering many new competitive advantages.

Contact

Anne-Claude Cosandey

Director of Operations EPFL Fribourg and smart living lab
Until 31.12.2018- EPFL
-project management
-change management
-administration

Video

Information

Newsletter

To receive the newsletter of the smart living lab twice a year, please enter your e-mail address | Disclaimer

email

View previous campaigns.

Das smart living lab ist ein Forschungs- und Entwicklungszentrum für den Wohn- und Lebensraum der Zukunft, dessen Aktivitäten sich auf das Wohlbefinden von Gebäudenutzern, die Energieeffizienz und die Digitalisierung fokussieren. Das smart living lab führt mit Forschungsteams und Unternehmen interdisziplinäre Forschungsprojekte unter realen Bedingungen durch.

Das smart living lab vereint die Kompetenzen der Eidgenössischen Technischen Hochschule Lausanne (EPFL), der Hochschule für Technik und Architektur Freiburg (HTA-FR) und der Universität Freiburg (UNIFR) in den vier Forschungsgebieten Bautechnologien, Wohlbefinden & Verhalten, Interaktionen & Designprozesse sowie Energiesysteme. Seit Ende 2015 übt es seine Forschungstätigkeit am Innovationsstandort blueFACTORY in Freiburg aus. Hier entsteht 2020 auch ein eigenes Gebäude.

Mit dem smart living lab verknüpft Freiburg sein Image mit der Marke EPFL und deren internationalem Netzwerk. So positionieren sich der Kanton und das blueFACTORY-Gelände als Hotspot der innovativen Technologien im In- und Ausland. Das smart living lab spielt auch im Swiss Innovation Park (SIP) eine zentrale Rolle, denn mit seinem Standort auf dem blueFACTORY-Gelände bildet es neben dem EPFL Innovation Park und dem Biopôle in Lausanne, dem Campus Biotech in Genf, Microcity in Neuenburg und Energypolis in Sitten das Herz des SIP West.

Partner

Mit mehr als 300 Laboratorien und Forschungsgruppen auf dem Campus gehört die Eidgenössische Technische Hochschule Lausanne (EPFL) zu den innovativsten und produktivsten Forschungsstätten weltweit. Die EPFL zählt in wissenschaftlichen Rankings zu den Top 3 in Europa und den Top 20 weltweit und hat einige der führenden Forscherinnen und Forscher ihres Fachgebiets in ihren Reihen. Die Hochschule verfügt über eine einzigartige Organisation, um die transdisziplinäre Forschung zu gestalten und Partnerschaften mit anderen Institutionen zu fördern.

Die Hochschule für Technik und Architektur Freiburg (HTA-FR) liegt im Herzen einer zweisprachigen Region mit reichhaltiger Kultur und idealer Lage. Sie hat den Auftrag, Ingenieure und Architekten auszubilden, die über einen Bachelor- oder Master-Abschluss von Fachhochschulen verfügen. Ausgerüstet mit Spitzentechnologie, anerkannt von der Gesellschaft und der Wirtschaft für ihre zahlreichen Aktivitäten in der anwendungsorientierten Forschung und Entwicklung, trägt die HTA-FR entscheidend zur Innovation und zur wissenschaftlichen und technologischen Ausstrahlung des Kantons Freiburg bei.

Die Universität Freiburg (UNIFR), gegründet 1889, ist die einzige zweisprachige Universität der Schweiz und pflegt eine ausgesprochen internationale Tradition. Sie steht für Forschung und Lehre auf höchstem Niveau mit dem Anspruch, stets den Menschen in den Mittelpunkt zu stellen. An ihren fünf Fakultäten bietet sie ein umfassendes Angebot an Studienfächern. Rund 10 000 Studierende der Stufen Bachelor, Master und Doktorat profitieren von einer exzellenten Infrastruktur und zahlreichen Begleitangeboten.

Das smart living lab ist das erste Projekt seiner Art in der Schweiz. Es vereint die Kompetenzen mehrerer Institutionen im Herzen der Stadt. Es bietet zudem eine einzigartige Infrastruktur für den schnellen Transfer von Schlüsselkompetenzen an die Baubranche. Das Kompetenzzentrum mit nationaler und internationaler Ausstrahlung verschafft dem Kanton Freiburg, dessen Bauindustrie ein überaus wichtiger Pfeiler ist, viele neue Wettbewerbsvorteile und stärkt das lokale Wirtschaftsgefüge.

Kontakt

Anne-Claude Cosandey

Director of Operations EPFL Fribourg and smart living lab
Until 31.12.2018- EPFL
-project management
-change management
-administration

Video

Information

Newsletter

Um den Newsletter des smart living lab zweimal jährlich zu erhalten, tragen Sie bitte Ihre E-Mail-Adresse ein | Rechtliche Hinweise

email

View previous campaigns.