Winner of the Solar Decathlon 2017, the NeighborHub solar house will have an even better future with the local population. Following its success at the international sustainable housing competition in Denver, Colorado, the NeighborHub stands once more in Fribourg’s smart living lab. The Swiss solar house was designed by students and teaching staff from four higher education institutions (EPFL, HEIA-FR, HEAD, and UNIFR), and has been reconstructed at the blueFACTORY site. The solar house offers a new collective and environmental way of living, and is intended to be a meeting place for citizens wishing to develop solutions to facilitate a more sustainable future.

Reconstructed in the spring of 2018 in the blueFACTORY innovation district, the NeighborHub is a modifiable building, thanks to its flexible architecture, movable fittings, convertible furniture, and an interior design that can be adapted to a variety of activities, including a repair café, urban vegetable gardens, eco-friendly cooking classes, and even conferences. The proposed activities and services relate to seven fields of action: renewable energy use, mobility, water and waste management, food, biodiversity, and the selection of materials.

In addition to playing its eponymous role at the heart of the district, the NeighborHub is used as a research prototype inside the smart living lab for the purposes of energy management, user comfort and user interactions.

Gallery

Vainqueur du Solar Decathlon 2017, la maison solaire NeighborHub permet à la population locale d’imaginer un avenir meilleur. Après son succès à la compétition internationale d’habitat solaire à Denver (USA), le NeighborHub revit au sein du smart living lab de Fribourg. La maison solaire suisse, conçue par des étudiants et des professeurs de quatre hautes écoles (EPFL, HEIA-FR, HEAD et UNIFR), a été reconstruite sur le site de blueFACTORY. Cette maison solaire qui propose une nouvelle manière de vivre, collective et environnementale, a été pensée comme un lieu de rencontre pour les citoyens, afin de développer des solutions en faveur d’un avenir plus durable.

Reconstruit au printemps 2018 dans le quartier d’innovation blueFACTORY, le NeighborHub est modulable grâce à son architecture flexible, son ameublement mobile et dépliable et son design intérieur pouvant s’adapter à des activités variées, telles que repair café, potagers urbains, cours de cuisine écoresponsable ou encore conférences. Les activités et services proposés sont en lien avec sept champs d’action : l’utilisation d’énergies renouvelables, la mobilité, la gestion de l’eau et des déchets, l’alimentation, la biodiversité et le choix des matériaux.

En plus de son rôle de coeur de quartier, le NeighborHub est utilisé comme prototype de recherche au sein du smart living lab pour les aspects de gestion de l’énergie, de confort et d’interactions avec les utilisateurs.

Galerie