Construction of the smart living lab’s own dedicated building in Fribourg is set to begin in 2020. This multidisciplinary living laboratory will serve as a catalyst of progress, providing fertile ground for carrying out work in real conditions. The new building should encourage rigorous investigation and lateral thinking thanks to its range of facilities for different types of research activity. The building will be at the cutting edge of efficient resource use over its complete life cycle. Its construction comes 30 years in advance of Switzerland’s 2050 energy targets.

Even after its construction is complete, the building will continue to evolve to aid research, improve its performance, maintain its longevity, and maintain its place at the forefront of innovation. Its technical components will therefore be replaceable, and its spaces will be flexible enough to be adapted for different uses.
A number of sensors will be used to measure different parameters linked to energy consumption, environmental quality, and how spaces are occupied. This constant monitoring of the building will provide data for a numerical model, which has two fundamental aspects:

  • Monitoring research results: the work carried out will be subject to regular post-occupation assessments, which should provide proper feedback to verify that the target energy performance levels have been reached.
  • Input for research tasks, so that the researchers can devise new experiments in the building on a “plug and test” basis.

The experiments carried out in this experimental building will include:

  • using technology for human-building interactions in order to optimize user comfort, productivity, and resource consumption.
  • replacing building components to measure their properties and performance.
  • testing energy production and storage systems in real conditions to determine which are the most efficient.

The building will satisfy some unique ambitions. Its design process has been the subject of careful consideration, so that the different actors concerned can be involved at the appropriate time, thus providing:

  • integrated results from preliminary environmental research
  • responses to the needs of researchers and other users
  • high architectural quality
  • respect for the appropriate legal and financial framework

Operational transition
The building construction process that has been established comprises three phases: the call for project proposals, the implementation study, and construction. A number of programming requirements have been identified for the researchers: office space, laboratories, and meeting space. From an urban planning perspective, the siting of the building respects the new cantonal land use plan, which came into force in the summer of 2018. These various elements, together with the recommendations and tools that came out of the research program, have been consolidated in the Mandat d’Études Parallèles (MEP) tender document published on the simap public procurement platform in September, 2018 (application deadline: 26 October). The winner and the preliminary draft will be unveiled at the end of June, 2019.

Dès 2020 débutera à Fribourg la construction d’un bâtiment unique dédié au smart living lab. Pluridisciplinaire et catalyseur de progrès, ce «laboratoire vivant» sera un terrain propice aux travaux menés en conditions réelles. Stimulant la rigueur d’investigation et la pensée latérale, l’édifice proposera une palette d’aménagements permettant diverses activités de recherche. Le bâtiment se veut aussi un pionnier dans l’utilisation efficace des ressources, pour l’entier de son cycle de vie. Il s’inscrit avec 30 ans d’avance dans la mise en œuvre des objectifs énergétiques 2050 de la Confédération suisse.

Une fois construit, ce bâtiment ne cessera d’évoluer afin de servir la recherche, améliorer ses performances, assurer sa longévité et rester à la pointe de l’innovation. Ainsi, les éléments techniques seront apparents pour faciliter leur remplacement et les espaces offriront la flexibilité nécessaire pour adapter leurs aménagements à de nouveaux usages.

De nombreux capteurs permettront de mesurer différents paramètres liés à la consommation énergétique, la qualité environnementale ou à l’occupation des espaces. Ce monitoring permanent du bâtiment, alimentera une maquette numérique, qui servira deux aspects fondamentaux:

  • Le suivi d’un résultat de recherche: l’ouvrage sera soumis régulièrement à des évaluations post-occupation, qui devront fournir un vrai retour critique et montrer qu’il atteint les performances énergétiques visées.
  • Un apport pour les travaux des chercheurs, qui pourront imaginer de nouvelles expériences, sur ce bâtiment «plug and test».

Dans ce bâtiment expérimental, on mènera des expériences relatives:

  • au déploiement de technologies au service des interactions humains-bâtiment pour optimiser le confort, la productivité ainsi que la consommation de ressources des utilisateurs.
  • au remplacement de composantes du bâtiment pour en mesurer les propriétés et performances.
  • à des tests de systèmes de production et stockage d’énergie en conditions réelles pour déterminer quels sont les plus efficaces.

Ce bâtiment répondra à des ambitions uniques. Son processus de conception a fait l’objet d’une réflexion approfondie lui permettant d’intégrer au moment opportun les différents acteurs concernés pour assurer:

  • l’intégration des résultats d’une recherche environnementale préalable
  • la réponse aux besoins des différents utilisateurs – chercheurs
  • une haute qualité architecturale
  • le respect d’un cadre juridique et financier donné

Transition opérationnelle
Un processus de construction du bâtiment au travers de trois phases (appel à projets, étude de réalisation, construction) a été défini. Les besoins des chercheurs en termes programmatiques ont été identifiés (surfaces respectives de bureaux, laboratoires, espaces de réunions). Du point de vue urbanistique, l’emplacement du bâtiment tient compte du nouveau Plan d’affectation cantonal entré en vigueur en été 2018. Ces différents éléments, ainsi que les recommandations et outils issus du programme de recherche, ont été consolidés dans le document d’appel d’offre du Mandat d’Études Parallèles (MEP) publié en septembre 2018 sur la plateforme des marchés publics simap (remise des candidatures: fin octobre). Le lauréat ainsi que l’avant-projet seront dévoilés fin juin 2019.