System Rapa Nui – Superstudio 2018

Paolo Tombesi, EPFL Professor in architecture and Head of the Laboratory of Construction and Architecture (FAR) at the Smart Living Lab, tells us about the “System Rapa Nui – Superstudio 2018”, the first edition of an ambitious three-year course aimed to address the environmental challenges of Easter Island.

Can you describe the project?

Architecture is conventionally associated with specific types of design activity, realization processes and concrete, inhabitable artifacts. As such, it is considered the province of a specific profession, separate from engineering, urban planning, material science, environmental design, regional development. What would happen if we interpreted the word architect differently, almost as a verb in fact – to architect? Would it change the conceptual dimension of the work and the position of those who practice it?

It is in part to answer these questions that, from 2018, the Architecture Section of the School of Architecture, Civil and Environmental Engineering (ENAC) has started directing the focus of Superstudio, its final-year research studio of its entire cohort of over 100 students, towards the investigation of the environmental challenges that characterize Rapa Nui, the remote legendary island in the middle of the Pacific Ocean, home to the Moai sculptures and also known as Easter Island.

For its subsistence, Easter Island relies on energy supplies from the South American continent, 2,000 nautical miles away, whilst sending packaged waste back to it by plane and by boat. Such sombering facts cast just enough light on the pressures that isolation, small size and limited sets of resources place on certain territories’ ability to sustain their own livelihood. In spite of its global fame and inscription in the list of World Heritage sites, Rapa Nui exists on a path of general resource dependency that ties it to the mainland nation it belongs administratively, Chile, and which conditions not only development opportunities but also built environment characteristics. Within an economic landscape however defined by remoteness-related high cost of living and scarcity, human settlements present numerous challenges – from land use to soil erosion and contamination, production and management of waste to infrastructural upkeeping, construction materials selection to typological choices. What sort of analyses should thus inform the design of buildings on the island? What sort of deliberative actions define ‘architecture’ in this context? How should buildings be approached and examined?

In collaboration with Easter Island’s local government and Chilean universities, Superstudio is set to articulate a response in three years. Year 1 (2018) – ‘System Rapa Nui’ – focused on the development of regional analytical methods capable to consider and integrate the issues affecting not only territorial sustenance but also community thriving at macro level. Year 2 (2019) – ‘Space Rapa Nui’ – will focus on the technological choices implied within such visions, and the spatial organization and inhabitation patterns they naturally favour. Year 3 (2020) – ‘Volume Rapa Nui’ – will translate technological decisions into building strategies, programs and prototypical structures.

Why is Easter Island a good context to work on for students in architecture?

Easter Island is an ideal place to study in the context of modern environmental science, planning and technology. On the one hand, it represents a living community subject to all the social and economic pressures or tensions of a developing, multi-ethnic, connected, contemporary society. On the other hand, it has to deal with this condition while existing in a minuscule pocket of land lost in the middle of an ocean, which also happens to be of world heritage status and thus in need of preservation. This places enormous strain on the environmental balancing of economic growth and industrial progress, as well as on the safeguarding of the identity associated with the myth of the island and its habitat.

Through remoteness and scarcity, Easter Island brings emphatically together sustainability, culture, energy, material science, engineering, health, farming, housing, waste, pollution, recycling, traditions, craft, and much more.

Significantly, the territory’s defining spatial quality – isolation – facilitates the examination of the dynamic relationships between the elements of this conceptually complex eco-system. Students have the opportunity to understand and follow ultimately physical relations that it would be impossible even to detect in a larger and less self-contained geographic unit.

In light of all this, Easter Island brings the meaning of architecture into question: What can happen to it in a world characterised by absolute lack of design autonomy – where everything, that is, is apparently a function of something else? What would the role of architects and the tools of the discipline become then? Work on Superstudio suggests the critical value of shifting the focus of the analysis provisionally away from objects and onto the determination/facilitation of privileged relationships based on the interpretation of data sets. At the end of the day, Easter Island is more than a beautifully exotic place; it is a very useful operational paradigm for the rest of the world.

What did the students do when they travelled over there in January 2019?

In the second part of Superstudio, half-way through the winter semester, students worked in groups to outline the possible terms of a regional development policy for the island, ostensibly aimed at connecting, socially as well as physically, the issues affecting the full sustenance of the territory at a macro scale.

The idea, however, was not to leave this work at a speculative level. Since Superstudio is a multi-year / multi-dimensional project carried out in collaboration with partner communities in Chile and Easter Island, the results of the exercise had to be shared and discussed with the actual actors in the process. To this end, we selected a group of 18 students who travelled to Easter Island for a week, so as to lay out, in a well-attended public forum, the visions articulated in Lausanne and receive feedback from the local constituencies. The result of the ensuing discussions will work as the basis for the work to be carried out in Superstudio 2019.

The students took the visit as an opportunity to meet with island residents, activists and operators, experience the place, understand the context, and thus verify the validity of their initial assumptions. In the process, they came face to face with the Moai, got sunburnt, learned to surf, planted pineapples, visited ritual caves, rode horses, fished the ancient way, examined pre-industrial prefabrication, lived on ceviche, made good friends, and, last but not least, became successful ambassadors of EPFL.

What makes ENAC School competences and education relevant for the issues encountered in Easter Island?

From my answers to your previous questions, it would sound like it is more the other way around – how relevant the issues encountered on Easter Island are for our students’ awareness and preparation to act as truly technical citizens of our world. There is no doubt that Easter Island makes for a great intellectual gym, where the need for a comprehensive approach to environmental design and regional development gets displayed with shining clarity. In the absence of a dedicated curriculum, our students had to follow a very steep learning curve. At times this produced elation, at other times frustration.

Yet, it is also true that the approach we elected to follow presupposes the multidimensional engineering base already at the core of ENAC and, more in general, of EPFL. This is important, because there are not many institutions around the world in a position to harness from within the broad arsenal of knowledge required to tackle the integrated challenges present in and presented by Easter Island. In other words, it is the very problem we tried to address – the ability of small regions to provide for their future by envisioning and enacting circular economies appropriate to their locale, which defines ‘structurally’, and irrespective of the school’s current training paths, the global relevance of institutions such as ours when it comes to tackling instances of underdevelopment and environmental imbalance. If we accept this as both a privilege and a responsibility, we simply need to work to make sure that the preparation and the mindset of our students is par for our natural course. I cannot think of a better reason for Superstudio.

This article was published on 13 March 2019 in a short version in the 24th edition of EPFL Magazine.

Contact

Paolo Tombesi

Head of Laboratory of Construction and Architecture (FAR)
Professor- EPFL
-design and construction processes
-sustainable architectural technology
-construction

Laboratory of Construction and Architecture (FAR)
Superstudio

System Rapa Nui – Superstudio 2018

Paolo Tombesi, professeur ordinaire en architecture et responsable du Laboratoire de construction et architecture au Smart Living Lab, nous parle de “System Rapa Nui – Superstudio 2018”, la première édition d’un cours ambitieux étendu sur trois ans, visant à relever les défis environnementaux de l’île de Pâques.

Pourriez-vous décrire le projet?

L’architecture est communément associée à des types spécifiques d’activités de conception, processus de réalisation et d’artefacts concrets et habitables. En tant que telle, elle est considérée comme profession spécifique, distincte de l’ingénierie, l’urbanisme, la science des matériaux, la conception environnementale et le développement régional. Que se passerait-il si l’on interprétait le mot architecture différemment, comme un verbe, par exemple – architecter? Cela changerait-il la dimension conceptuelle de la discipline et la position de ceux qui la pratiquent?

C’est en partie pour répondre à ces questions que, depuis 2018, la section d’architecture de la Faculté de l’environnement naturel, architectural et construit (ENAC) a commencé à orienter Superstudio (projet de recherche de plus de 100 étudiants en dernière année), sur l’étude des défis environnementaux qui caractérisent Rapa Nui, l’île lointaine et légendaire en plein milieu du Pacifique, aussi connue comme île de Pâques, et demeure des sculptures moaï.

Pour sa subsistance, l’île de Pâques dépend de l’approvisionnement énergétique du continent sud-américain, à 2000 milles nautiques, où elle envoie ses déchets en colis conditionnés par avion et bateau. Des faits aussi sombres mettent en lumière la pression qu’exercent des facteurs tels que l’isolement, la petite taille et des ressources limitées sur la capacité de certains territoires à subvenir à leurs propres besoins. Malgré sa renommée internationale et le fait qu’elle soit inscrite au patrimoine mondial de l’humanité, Rapa Nui dépend administrativement du Chili, ce qui conditionne non seulement les opportunités de développement, mais aussi les caractéristiques de l’environnement bâti. Dans un paysage économique défini par la pénurie et le coût élevé engendré par l’éloignement, les constructions humaines présentent de nombreux défis – de l’occupation des terres à l’érosion et la pollution des sols, de la production et gestion des déchets à l’entretien des infrastructures, du choix des matériaux de construction aux choix typologiques. Quel type d’analyse devrait donc guider la conception des bâtiments de l’île? Quelles délibérations devraient définir l’architecture dans ce contexte ? Comment aborder et examiner les bâtiments?  

En collaboration avec le gouvernement de l’île de Pâques et des universités chiliennes, Superstudio doit fournir une réponse en trois ans. La première année (2018) – ‘System Rapa Nui’ – est axé sur le développement de méthodes analytiques capables de considérer et intégrer les problèmes qui touchent non seulement la subsistance territoriale, mais aussi une communauté en plein essor à un niveau macroéconomique. La deuxième année (2019) – ‘Space Rapa Nui’ – portera principalement sur les choix technologiques qu’impliquent de telles visions, et l’organisation spatiale et modes d’habitation qu’elles favorisent. La troisième année (2020) – ‘Volume Rapa Nui’ – traduira les décisions technologiques en stratégies, programmes et structures prototypiques.     

Pourquoi l’île de Pâques représente un contexte approprié pour le travail des étudiants en architecture?

L’île de Pâques est un endroit idéal pour étudier dans le contexte de la science environnementale moderne, planification et technologie. D’un côté, elle représente la vie dans une communauté sujette à la tension sociale et économique d’une société multi-ethnique, connectée, contemporaine et en voie de développement. D’un autre côté, elle doit être en mesure de gérer cette condition avec le fait d’être un minuscule bout de terre perdu au milieu d’un océan, qui est aussi un site classé patrimoine mondial et nécessite d’être conservé. Ce facteur met à rude épreuve l’équilibre environnemental entre croissance économique et progrès industriel, ainsi que la sauvegarde de l’identité associée au mythe de l’île et son habitat.   

À travers l’éloignement et la pénurie, l’île de Pâques allie culture, énergie, sciences des matériaux, ingénierie, santé, agriculture, logement, déchets, pollution, recyclage, traditions, artisanat, et bien plus encore. La définition spatiale du territoire (l’isolement) facilite considérablement l’examen des relations dynamiques entre les éléments de cet écosystème complexe sur le plan conceptuel. Les étudiants ont l’opportunité de comprendre et de suivre des relations physiques qu’il serait impossible de détecter dans une unité géographique de plus grande taille et moins autonome.   

Compte tenu de tous ces facteurs, l’île de Pâques, remet en question le sens de l’architecture:  que peut-il lui arriver dans un monde caractérisé par un manque absolu d’autonomie de conception – où tout ce qui existe est apparemment fonction d’autre chose ? Quel serait alors le rôle et les outils des architectes ? Le travail de Superstudio suggère de détourner l’accent de l’analyse des objets vers la détermination/facilitation des rapports privilégiés basés sur l’interprétation de l’ensemble des données. En fin de compte, l’île de Pâques est beaucoup plus qu’un bel endroit exotique ; c’est un paradigme opérationnel pour le reste du monde.  

Qu’est-ce que les étudiants y ont fait pendant leur voyage au mois de janvier 2019?

Dans la deuxième partie de Superstudio, au milieu du semestre d’hiver, les étudiants ont travaillé en groupes pour esquisser les modalités possibles d’une politique de développement régional pour toute l’île, qui vise à relier, tant socialement que physiquement, les problèmes qui affectent la subsistance du territoire à l’échelle macro.

L’idée n’était pas de laisser ce travail à un niveau spéculatif. Superstudio est un projet multidimensionnel sur plusieurs années, réalisé en collaboration avec des communautés partenaires au Chili et à l’île de Pâques ; les résultats de l’exercice doivent alors être partagés et discutés avec des acteurs réels du processus. À cet effet, nous avons sélectionné un groupe de 18 étudiants qui ont voyagé à l’île de Pâques pendant une semaine, pour poser, dans un forum avec des nombreux visiteurs, les visions articulées à Lausanne et recueillir les réactions des associations locales. Les résultats des discussions qui s’en sont ensuivies serviront de base aux travaux réalisé dans le cadre de Superstudio en 2019.

Les étudiants ont profité de cette visite pour rencontrer les habitants de l’île, des activistes et des opérateurs, faire l’expérience du lieu, comprendre le contexte, et ainsi vérifier la validité de leurs hypothèses initiales. Dans le processus, ils ont été confrontés aux Moai, attrapé des coups de soleil, appris à surfer, planté des ananas, visité des caves rituelles, fait du cheval, pêché à l’ancienne, examiné la préfabrication préindustrielle, mangé du ceviche, se sont fait de bons amis, et, last but not least, ils ont été les ambassadeurs de l’EPFL.

Quelle est l’importance des compétences et de l’enseignement de l’ENAC pour la problématique rencontrée sur l’île de Pâques?

 Selon mes réponses à vos questions précédentes, ce serait plutôt l’inverse – quelle est l’importance de la problématique étudiée sur l’île de Pâques pour la sensibilisation de nos étudiants, et la préparation à agir en tant que citoyens techniques du monde. Il ne fait aucun doute que l’île de Pâques procure les éléments pour une bonne gymnastique intellectuelle, où la nécessité d’une approche globale de la conception environnementale et du développement régional se manifeste avec autant de clarté. En l’absence d’un curriculum spécifique, nos étudiants ont été obligés de suivre une courbe d’apprentissage accéléré. Ceci a causé de l’exaltation, mais aussi de la frustration.  

Il est aussi vrai que l’approche que l’on a choisie présuppose les bases scientifiques et multidimensionnelles déjà au cœur de l’ENAC, et de l’EPFL de façon plus générale. Ceci est important car il n’y a pas beaucoup d’autres institutions dans le monde capable de rassembler le vaste arsenal de connaissances nécessaires pour aborder les enjeux présents à l’île de Pâques. En d’autres termes, c’est précisément le problème que l’on a essayé de résoudre – la capacité de petites régions d’assurer leur subsistance en préparant et adoptant des économies circulaires adaptées à leur région, qui définit ‘structurellement’ et indépendamment du parcours de formation actuel de l’école, l’importance globale des institutions comme la nôtre quand il s’agit de lutter contre des cas de sous-développement et de déséquilibre environnemental. Si l’on accepte ceci non seulement comme un privilège, mais aussi comme une responsabilité, nous devons simplement travailler pour nous assurer que la préparation et l’état d’esprit de nos étudiants sont à la hauteur de notre enseignement. Je ne peux penser à un argument plus convaincant pour Superstudio.

Contact

Paolo Tombesi

Head of Laboratory of Construction and Architecture (FAR)
Professor- EPFL
-design and construction processes
-sustainable architectural technology
-construction

Information

Laboratory of Construction and Architecture (FAR)
Superstudio