Press release

On 8 May 2019 at the Smart Living Lab in Fribourg takes place the vernissage of the first two books from the series entitled «Towards 2050»: Thinking, Visions for Architectural Design and Exploring, Research-driven Building Design, published by Park Books under the supervision of two EPFL professors.

The editorial project «Towards 2050» attempts to showcase the ambitious undertaking of the Smart Living Lab in its various development stages, characterized by the exceptional interdisciplinary collaboration based on the building’s usage, performance, and life cycle.

The presentation of the first two books of this project, published by Park Books, takes place on Wednesday, 8 May 2019. The work has been led by Prof. Marilyne Andersen, Head of the Laboratory on Integrated Performance in Design (LIPID) and academic director of the Smart Living Lab, as well as Prof. Emmanuel Rey, Director of the Laboratory of Architecture and Sustainable Technologies (LAST) at the EPFL.

  • Thinking features interviews with twelve experts and leading academics from varied professional and geographical backgrounds, and captures the essence of their forward-looking visions on sustainable buildings in a 2050 perspective.
  • Exploring presents research carried out at the Smart Living Lab since its launch, which has foreshadowed the design process of the future building. The book provides details about the methodological approaches as well as the tools necessary for the smart living lab’s future building to meet the demanding environmental 2050 goals, while providing good comfort conditions and quality of use. It also contains a chapter that translates academic research results into a series of operational recommendations for professionals.

This event, which brings together all project stakeholders, the academic and political partners, offers the possibility to refer back to the research work done before the Smart Living Lab’s building design. There is a collaborative Mandate of parallel studies (MEP) currently going on, which gathers four groups made up of renowned architecture and engineering studios.

About the Smart Living Lab

Created in 2014, the Smart Living Lab is a research center established on the blueFACTORY site in Fribourg, bringing together scientists from the EPFL, the School of Architecture and Engineering of Fribourg, and the University of Fribourg in areas related to sustainable dwellings: construction technologies, well-being and behaviors, interactions and design processes, and energy systems.

Information

Smart Living Lab
Park Books

Contact

Prof. Marilyne Andersen
Prof. Emmanuel Rey

Gallery

Communiqué de presse

Le 8 mai 2019, au Smart Living Lab de Fribourg, a lieu le vernissage des deux premiers ouvrages du projet éditorial «Towards 2050»: Thinking, Visions for Architectural Design et Exploring, Research-driven Building Design, publiés aux éditions Park Books sous la direction de deux professeurs de l’EPFL.

Le projet éditorial «Towards 2050» vise à témoigner de l’ambitieuse entreprise du Smart Living Lab dans les différentes étapes de son développement, qui se caractérise par une collaboration interdisciplinaire inédite centrée sur les usages du bâtiment, sa performance et son cycle de vie.

Le mercredi 8 mai 2019, le centre de recherche fribourgeois vernit les deux premiers ouvrages de ce projet, publiés aux éditions Park Books, sous la direction de la Prof. Marilyne Andersen, à la tête du Laboratoire de Performance Intégrée au Design (LIPID) et directrice académique du Smart Living Lab, et du Prof. Emmanuel Rey, directeur du Laboratoire d'architecture et technologies durables (LAST) à l’EPFL.

  • Thinking présente des entretiens avec douze experts de premier plan provenant d'horizons professionnels et géographiques variés, capturant l'essence de leurs visions prospectives pour des bâtiments durables à l’horizon 2050.
  • Exploring expose les résultats des recherches menées au sein du Smart Living Lab depuis son lancement et qui ont préfiguré le processus de conception de son futur bâtiment. Le livre détaille les approches méthodologiques, ainsi que les outils qui ont été développés pour permettre de réaliser aujourd’hui un bâtiment qui atteigne les objectifs environnementaux de la stratégie énergétique fixés pour 2050, tout en offrant des conditions de confort et une qualité d’usage optimales. Il contient notamment un chapitre qui traduit les résultats de la recherche académique en une série de recommandations opérationnelles à destination des professionnels.

L’évènement, qui réunit les nombreux acteurs du projet avec les partenaires académiques et politiques, offre l’opportunité de revenir sur les travaux de recherche qui ont précédé la conception du bâtiment du Smart Living Lab. Ce dernier fait aujourd’hui l’objet d’un mandat d’études parallèles (MEP) collaboratif, dans lequel sont engagés quatre groupes constitués de bureaux d’architectes et d’ingénieurs renommés.

A propos du Smart Living Lab

Fondé en 2014, le Smart Living Lab est un centre de recherche installé sur le site de blueFACTORY à Fribourg, qui réunit des équipes scientifiques de l’EPFL, de la Haute école d’ingénierie et d’architecture de Fribourg et de l’Université de Fribourg dans les domaines liés à l’habitat durable : technologies de la construction, bien-être et comportements, interactions et processus de conception, et systèmes énergétiques.

Information

Smart Living Lab
Park Books

Contact

Prof. Marilyne Andersen
Prof. Emmanuel Rey

Galerie