Student Incubator

The Smart Living Lab has just introduced a promising incubator program for students in collaboration with the future-orientated company Baloise Group. The so-called “Student Incubator” was launched striving for new insights of the Smart Living Lab’s research areas dedicated to the future of the built environment: well-being and behaviors, interaction and design processes, energy systems and construction technologies. Next deadline for project submissions is on 10 June 2019.

Characterized by its early-stage support, the student incubator allows students to gain valuable experience in the field of innovation without taking any financial risk. The program offers support up to CHF 5000. – (of which CHF 1000. – as a starting grant for accepted students) and professional coaching by members of the Smart Living Lab scientific community. Within the Student Incubator, coaches are acting as the first point of contact for all upcoming expert questions. Consequently, compared to many other incubator programs, students are not completely left to their own devices, as coaches accompany projects in order to ensure a best possible assistance for students aiming to turn their project ideas into reality.

Furthermore, the program offers an interdisciplinary working environment as it is available for all students of the Smart Living Lab’s partner institutions (EPFL, School of Engineering and Architecture of Fribourg and University of Fribourg). Thus, there is the opportunity to work with coaches or participants from other universities and backgrounds.

Information

Student Incubator

Info Session: 21.5.2019 |12:15 – 13:00 | Blue Hall | Subscription

Project submission deadline: 10.6.2019

Student Incubator

Le Smart Living Lab vient de lancer un programme d’incubation de projets novateurs destiné aux étudiants, en collaboration avec le Groupe Bâloise, orienté vers l’avenir. Ce «Student Incubator» vise à stimuler l’éclosion d’initiatives créatives et entreprenariales dans les domaines de recherche du Smart Living Lab dédiés au futur de l’environnement bâti: bien-être et comportements, interactions et processus de conception, systèmes énergétiques et technologies de la construction. Un premier délai de soumission pour l’appel à projets est fixé le 10 juin 2019.

Caractérisé par son soutien à un stade précoce, le Student Incubator permet aux étudiants d’acquérir une expérience d’innovation au travers de projets librement proposés, hors du cursus académique et sans risque financier. Le programme offre un soutien jusqu’à CHF 5000. – (dont CHF 1000. – de financement initial pour les étudiants retenus) et un coaching professionnel par des membres de la communauté scientifique du Smart Living Lab. Au sein du programme d’incubation, ces coachs offrent un premier point de contact pour toutes les questions spécifiques et assurent le meilleur soutien possible aux étudiants désireux de concrétiser leurs idées en des prototypes.

De plus, le programme offre un environnement de travail interdisciplinaire puisqu’il est accessible à tous les étudiants des institutions partenaires du Smart Living Lab (l’EPFL, l’École d’ingénierie et d’architecture de Fribourg et l’Université de Fribourg). Une caractéristique unique du programme est qu’il permet aux étudiants de collaborer avec des participants des autres écoles partenaires, et ainsi qu’avec des coachs des trois écoles.

Information

Student Incubator

Séance d’information: 21.5.2019 |12:15 – 13:00 | Halle bleue | Inscription

Délai de soumission des projets: 10.6.2019