Taking Soil Functions into Account in Spatial Planning

In Switzerland, it takes about 1000 years to form 10cm of soil. However, between 1985 and 2018, it only took a second to lose 1.1 m2 of agricultural land (Sen; OFS, 2021), and urban expansion is not finished. By 2050, the Chamblioux-Bertigny sector, spanning the municipalities of Givisiez, Granges-Paccot, Villars-sur-Glâne, and Fribourg, will experience unprecedented urbanization: on this 73ha area, the covering of the N12 motorway, the new cantonal hospital, an activity hub, a new district, and a park will be built. The scale of this project provides a unique opportunity to consider the integration of soil value into spatial planning.

Who should do what, when, and how?
Starting from this observation, two institutes of HEIA-FR, iTEC (Institute of the Built Environment) and TRANSFORM (Institute of Architecture), have joined forces to establish a LivingLab and support the professionals responsible for the project's development. The institutes provide their respective expertise and accompany the stakeholders in their reflection to answer the question "Who should do what, when, and how to better take into account the value of soils in spatial planning?"

"LASOL is an opportunity to have privileged contacts with other project stakeholders and to develop a common understanding of the issues related to considering soil quality in such a project"

Barbara Gfeller Laban (Service de l'environnement du canton de Fribourg)

Through various workshops where project owners, soil protection bodies, and other industry professionals meet, LivingLab members identify key stages of the process in which soil specialists can intervene. Furthermore, LivingLab members aim to identify existing tools and develop new tools in the field of soil, accessible and understandable to all stakeholders, including spatial planning specialists, decision authorities, soil specialists, construction specialists, and public authorities. Finally, LASOL facilitates exchanges between project stakeholders, thereby promoting a shared understanding of sectoral issues, both from the soil and spatial planning perspectives.

"The LASOL living lab allowed me to observe the significant delay in considering the theme in spatial planning procedures and the difficulty in determining the best form of implementation (how and at what stage(s) of the procedure)"

Jocelyn Bottinelli (Mandataire de la DIME)

This project will be presented at the centennial of the International Union of Soil Sciences (IUSS) on May 20, 2024.

Gallery

Faciliter l’intégration des sols dans le développement urbain

En Suisse, il faut environ 1000 ans pour former 10cm de sol. Pourtant, entre 1985 et 2018, il suffit d’une seconde pour perdre 1.1 m2 de terres agricoles (Sen ; OFS, 2021) et l’expansion urbaine n’est pas terminée. D’ici à 2050, le secteur Chamblioux-Bertigny, à cheval sur les communes de Givisiez, Granges-Paccot, Villars-sur-Glâne et Fribourg, va connaître une urbanisation sans précédent : sur cette étendue de 73ha seront construits la couverture de l’autoroute N12, le nouvel hôpital cantonal, un pôle d’activité, un nouveau quartier et un parc. L’envergure de ce projet offre une opportunité unique pour réfléchir à l’intégration de la valeur des sols dans l’aménagement du territoire. 

Qui doit faire quoi, quand et comment ?
Partant de ce constat, deux instituts de la HEIA-FR, l’iTEC (Institut de l’Environnement Construit) et TRANSFORM (Institut d’Architecture) se sont alliés pour fonder un LivingLab et accompagner les professionnels en charge du développement du projet. Les instituts mettent à disposition leur expertise respective et accompagne les acteurs dans leur réflexion pour répondre à la question « Qui doit faire quoi, quand et comment pour mieux prendre en compte la valeur des sols dans l’aménagement du territoire ? »

"LASOL est l’occasion d’avoir des contacts privilégiés avec d'autres acteurs du projet et de développer une compréhension commune des enjeux de la prise en compte de la qualité des sols dans un tel projet"

Barbara Gfeller Laban (Service de l'environnement du canton de Fribourg)

À travers différents ateliers où se rencontrent les maitres d’ouvrages, les organes de protections des sols et autres professionnels du secteur, les membres du LivingLab identifient les étapes clés du processus dans lesquelles les spécialistes sols peuvent intervenir. D’autre part, les membres du LivingLab visent à recenser les outils existants et à développer de nouveaux outils dans le domaine du sol, accessibles et compréhensibles pour tous les acteurs, spécialistes de l'aménagement du territoire, autorités de décision, spécialistes des sols, spécialiste de la construction, collectivités publiques. Enfin, LASOL facilite les échanges entre les acteurs du projet, favorisant ainsi une compréhension partagée des enjeux du secteur, tant du point de vue du sol que de l'aménagement.

"Le livinglab LASOL m’a permis de constater l'important retard de la considération du thème dans les procédures de planification/aménagement du territoire et la difficulté d'en cerner la meilleure forme d'implémentation (comment et à quel(s) stade(s) de procédure)"

Jocelyn Bottinelli (Conseiller et coordinateur mandaté par la DIME)

Ce projet sera présenté au lors du centenaire de l’Union internationale des sciences du sol (UISS) le 20 mai 2024 

Galerie