The editorial project «Towards 2050» attempts to showcase the ambitious undertaking of the Smart Living Lab in its various development stages, characterized by the exceptional interdisciplinary collaboration based on the building’s usage, performance, and life cycle.

The first two books of this project, published by Park Books, have been launched in May 2019. The work has been led by Prof. Marilyne Andersen, Head of the Laboratory on Integrated Performance in Design (LIPID) and academic director of the Smart Living Lab, as well as Prof. Emmanuel Rey, Director of the Laboratory of Architecture and Sustainable Technologies (LAST) at the EPFL.

  • Thinking features interviews with twelve experts and leading academics from varied professional and geographical backgrounds, and captures the essence of their forward-looking visions on sustainable buildings in a 2050 perspective.
  • Exploring presents research carried out at the Smart Living Lab since its launch, which has foreshadowed the design process of the future building. The book provides details about the methodological approaches as well as the tools necessary for the smart living lab’s future building to meet the demanding environmental 2050 goals, while providing good comfort conditions and quality of use.

Gallery

Le projet éditorial «Towards 2050» vise à témoigner de l’ambitieuse entreprise du Smart Living Lab dans les différentes étapes de son développement, qui se caractérise par une collaboration interdisciplinaire inédite centrée sur les usages du bâtiment, sa performance et son cycle de vie.

En mai 2019, le centre de recherche fribourgeois a verni les deux premiers ouvrages de ce projet, publiés aux éditions Park Books, sous la direction de la Prof. Marilyne Andersen, à la tête du Laboratoire de Performance Intégrée au Design (LIPID) et directrice académique du Smart Living Lab, et du Prof. Emmanuel Rey, directeur du Laboratoire d’architecture et technologies durables (LAST) à l’EPFL.

  • Thinking présente des entretiens avec douze experts de premier plan provenant d’horizons professionnels et géographiques variés, capturant l’essence de leurs visions prospectives pour des bâtiments durables à l’horizon 2050.
  • Exploring expose les résultats des recherches menées au sein du Smart Living Lab depuis son lancement et qui ont préfiguré le processus de conception de son futur bâtiment. Le livre détaille les approches méthodologiques, ainsi que les outils qui ont été développés pour permettre de réaliser aujourd’hui un bâtiment qui atteigne les objectifs environnementaux de la stratégie énergétique fixés pour 2050, tout en offrant des conditions de confort et une qualité d’usage optimales.

Galerie