The editorial project «Towards 2050» attempts to showcase the ambitious undertaking of the Smart Living Lab in its various development stages, characterized by the exceptional interdisciplinary collaboration based on the building’s usage, performance, and life cycle.

The first two books of this project, published by Park Books, have been launched in May 2019. The work has been led by Prof. Marilyne Andersen, Head of the Laboratory on Integrated Performance in Design (LIPID) and academic director of the Smart Living Lab, as well as Prof. Emmanuel Rey, Director of the Laboratory of Architecture and Sustainable Technologies (LAST) at the EPFL.

  • Thinking features interviews with twelve experts and leading academics from varied professional and geographical backgrounds, and captures the essence of their forward-looking visions on sustainable buildings in a 2050 perspective.
  • Exploring presents research carried out at the Smart Living Lab since its launch, which has foreshadowed the design process of the future building. The book provides details about the methodological approaches as well as the tools necessary for the smart living lab’s future building to meet the demanding environmental 2050 goals, while providing good comfort conditions and quality of use.

Gallery

Das redaktionelle Projekt «Towards 2050» soll das ehrgeizige Vorhaben des Smart Living Labs in den verschiedenen Phasen seiner Entwicklung dokumentieren, welches durch seine beispiellose interdisziplinäre Zusammenarbeit charakterisiert ist und sich auf die Gebäudenutzung, die Leistung sowie den Lebenszyklus konzentriert.

Im Mai 2019 publizierte das Freiburger Forschungszentrum die ersten beiden Bücher, herausgegeben durch den Park Books Verlag, unter der Leitung von Prof. Marilyne Andersen, Leiterin des LIPID Labors (Laboratory of Integrated Performance in Design) und akademische Direktorin des Smart Living Labs, sowie Prof. Emmanuel Rey, Direktor des LAST Labors (Laboratory of Architecture and Sustainable Technologies der EPFL.

  • Thinking ist eine Sammlung von Interviews, welche mit zwölf führenden Experten, mit unterschiedlichen beruflichen und geografischen Hintergründen, geführt wurden, und deren Visionen von nachhaltigen Gebäuden bis 2050 darstellen.
  • Exploring präsentiert die Forschungsergebnisse seit der Gründung des Smart Living Labs und Einfluss auf den Gestaltungsprozess des zukünftigen Gebäudes gehabt haben. Das Buch beschreibt die methodischen Ansätze und Instrumente, welche entwickelt wurden, damit heute ein Gebäude gebaut werden kann, welches die Umweltziele der Energiestrategie 2050 erfüllt und gleichzeitig optimalen Komfort und Nutzungsqualität bietet.

Galerie