Press release

The group made up of Behnisch Architekten, Drees & Sommer Schweiz AG, and ZPF Ingenieure AG wins the Parallel Studies Mandate (Mandat d’études parallèles – MEP) launched in 2018 by Bluefactory Fribourg-Freiburg SA and the Smart Living Lab in order to define the project of the new iconic building of the research center located in the blueFACTORY innovation district, Fribourg. The winning project, named “HOP”, was singled out amongst four proposals for its open, flexible, integrative and user-centric character, and for the experimental potential as its signature feature. It also has a remarkable environmental performance, due in particular to the use of wood as its main material. All projects will be presented during an exhibition from September 13 to 26 at the Smart Living Lab. The construction of the building will start end of 2020 in Fribourg, with a budget of 25 million francs voted by the State of Fribourg in 2018.

Resource-efficient, open, evolutive building
The panel of experts, chaired by Marilyne Andersen, professor at EPFL and academic director of the Smart Living Lab, met on July 1 and 2, 2019 in Fribourg, and unanimously chose “HOP”, the project designed by Behnisch Architekten, Drees & Sommer Schweiz AG et ZPF Ingenieure AG, as the winner of the design competition launched in 2018 for the future building of the research center. Conceived as a living space offering experimentation capabilities, the chosen project won over the panel of experts not only with its evolutive characteristics, its spaciousness, but also with its open and inviting aspect, conducive to the desired environment within a living lab. Equally impressive are the project’s economic and resource savings, while also responding to the strict energy and environmental requirements set for the competition.

Lively project
According to its authors, the building is designed around the core idea that it should be likened to a living organism, which interacts with its environment. Its façade integrates winter gardens which work as important connectors with the outside world, contributing to the diversity of space typologies, and the quality of the work environment. The atrium brings people together thanks to its position and the integration of a staircase. The main lobby has bleachers, which allows for an informal use of the space. The cafeteria, close to the lobby, fosters interactions with the public. The project, described as “lively” by Philippe Jemmely, director of Bluefactory Fribourg-Freiburg SA, stands out for its potential to “manage tensions between opposite requirements: strong identity vs. flexibility, experimentation vs. robustness, generosity vs. simplicity”.

Local resources and natural materials
The building will provide workspaces for close to 130 people over a 5000m2 floor area, on four stories. Its main structure is made of timber. Wood is also used for a system of box slabs which integrates ventilation, and for the façade. The latter combines various species of wood according to their properties and their origin, paying particular attention to local timber.

Teamwork praised
In general, the panel of experts highlights the quality of all the submitted projects, as well as the involvement and the open-mindedness of all contenders, and the efforts provided throughout the MEP.

The pluridisciplinary groups selected for this competition were:

  • Behnisch Architekten, Drees & Sommer Schweiz AG, ZPF Ingenieure AG (winner)
  • Baumschlager Eberle Architekten AG, Dr. Lüchinger + Meyer Bauingenieure AG, Lauber IWISA AG, B+S AG
  • estudioHerreros SLP, Dr Schwartz Consulting AG, Transplan Technik-Bauplanung Gmbh, Transsolar Energietechnik Gmbh, xmade Gmbh
  • Itten + Brechbühl SA, CSD Ingénieurs

As a reminder, the process started with a meeting attended by all participants in December 2018, followed by two intermediate dialogues in February and April 2019, where conversations took place between the teams, preceding the final presentation of all projects on June 6, 2019. The winning team stood out particularly because of their collective intelligence, their ability to listen and their enthusiasm, and the integration of a close cooperation between architects and engineers.

Original competition
During the intermediate dialogues of the MEP, the contenders were able to learn about the other projects and freely exchange information about them with the panel of experts and their opponents. This original approach, as well as the ambitious goals of the future building stem directly from the research carried out within the Smart Living Lab.

A big step forward towards the construction of tomorrow
The Canton of Fribourg invests in education, research and innovation in the construction sector. Last year, its parliament voted a budget of 25 million francs for the construction of the building of the Smart Living Lab, which will be made available to research for at least 20 years. Bluefactory Fribourg-Freiburg SA will be the project owner.

The building will be considered at the same time as an object, context, and result of research. The research programme conducted by the Smart Living Lab since its creation in 2014 has produced knowledge and new tools to allow designers to achieve performance goals considering the entire life cycle of a building, including the carbon footprint of construction materials (embodied energy). This MEP procedure is the first one ever to require compliance with the target values of greenhouse gas emissions (13 kg CO2/m2/year according to the SIA 2040/2017 norm).

The results of preliminary research, which were compiled in two books of the series Towards 2050 published in May 2019, contributed to the elaboration of the specifications, considered as a real challenge by professionals. “The original procedure of this MEP and its ambitious requirements resulting from four years of research, proved to be a learning experience for all, participants and organizers alike, and a demonstration of the innovation capacity of the Smart Living Lab” says Marilyne Andersen, chairperson of the panel of experts.

Exhibition of MEP projects: September 13-26, 2019, Halle bleue, blueFACTORY

Vernissage and press conference: September 13, 2019, 13:15

About the Smart Living Lab
Founded in 2014 with the creation of an EPFL outpost in Fribourg, the Smart Living Lab is a research center for the future of the built environment, located in the blueFACTORY innovation district, a site affiliated to the Switzerland Innovation Network West. It brings together scientific teams from EPFL, the School of Engineering and Architecture of Fribourg and the University of Fribourg, an interdisciplinary hub of international outreach, offering full-scale experimental facilities in fields related to sustainable habitat: well-being and behaviors, construction technologies, interactions and design processes, and energy systems.

About Bluefactory Fribourg-Freiburg SA
Founded in 2014, Bluefactory Fribourg-Freiburg SA’s mission is to develop, build, promote, and foster community life in the blueFACTORY emerging innovation district. There are at present around 280 people working on the site from around forty entities (SMEs, startups, innovative players, and university research) promoting principles of sustainable development as well as those of circular economy.

Contact

Olivier Curty, State Councilor, Director of Economy and Employment, DEE, +41 26 305 24 02, available between 10:00 and 12:00

Prof. Marilyne Andersen, EPFL Professor and chairperson of the panel of experts, marilyne.andersen@epfl.ch, +41 21 693 08 82

Philippe Jemmely, Director of BFF SA, philippe.jemmely@bluefactory.ch, +41 26 422 37 10, available as of 19.07.2019

Yanick Jolliet, Architect and project manager BFF SA, yanick.jolliet@bluefactory.ch, +41 78 829 98 93

Gallery

Communiqué de presse

Le groupe composé de Behnisch Architekten, Drees & Sommer Schweiz AG et ZPF Ingenieure AG remporte le Mandat d’études parallèles (MEP) initié en 2018 par Bluefactory Fribourg-Freiburg SA et le Smart Living Lab pour définir le projet du nouveau bâtiment emblématique du centre de recherche dans le quartier d’innovation fribourgeois de blueFACTORY. Intitulé «HOP», le projet lauréat s’est distingué parmi quatre propositions par son caractère ouvert, flexible et intégratif, plaçant l’utilisateur au centre, tout en offrant un potentiel expérimental qui fait sa signature. Il affiche une performance environnementale exemplaire, notamment grâce au choix du bois comme matériau principal. Une exposition présentera tous les projets du 13 au 26 septembre au Smart Living Lab. La construction du bâtiment débutera dès fin 2020 à Fribourg grâce à un crédit de 25 millions de francs voté en 2018 par le Grand Conseil fribourgeois.

Bâtiment ouvert, évolutif et économe en ressources
Réunis les 1 et 2 juillet 2019 à Fribourg, les membres du collège d’experts présidé par Marilyne Andersen, professeure à l’EPFL et directrice académique du Smart Living Lab, ont désigné à l’unanimité le projet «HOP», imaginé par l’équipe de Behnisch Architekten, Drees & Sommer Schweiz AG et ZPF Ingenieure AG, comme lauréat du Mandat d’études parallèles (MEP) initié fin 2018 pour le futur bâtiment du centre de recherche. Pensé comme un espace de vie et de travail offrant des capacités d’expérimentation, le projet gagnant a séduit les experts par ses caractéristiques évolutives, sa richesse spatiale et son aspect ouvert et convivial, propice aux interactions voulues dans un living lab. Le projet impressionne également par son économie de moyens et de ressources, tout en répondant aux exigences écologiques et énergétiques très ambitieuses fixées dans le cadre de ce concours.

Projet vivant
Selon ses auteurs, le bâtiment est conçu à partir de l’idée qu’il doit se rapprocher d’un organisme vivant, qui interagit avec son environnement. Sa façade intègre des jardins d’hiver fonctionnant comme des éléments connecteurs fondamentaux avec l’extérieur, qui participent à la diversité des types d’espaces et à la qualité de l’environnement de travail. Son atrium constitue un espace fédérateur grâce à sa position et à l’inclusion d’un escalier. Le foyer d’entrée constitué de gradins permet des usages informels. La cafétéria, proche du foyer d’entrée, favorise les échanges avec le public.

Décrit comme «vivant» par Philippe Jemmely, directeur de Bluefactory Fribourg-Freiburg SA, le projet se démarque aussi par son potentiel à «gérer les tensions entre des exigences contraires: identité forte versus flexibilité, expérimentation versus robustesse, générosité versus sobriété».

Matériaux naturels et ressources locales
Le bâtiment doit offrir des espaces de travail pour près de 130 personnes sur une surface de plancher de 5000m2 et quatre étages. La structure principale du projet lauréat est en bois. Du bois sera aussi utilisé pour un système de dalles à caisson intégrant la ventilation et pour la façade qui combine différentes essences en fonction de leurs propriétés et de leur provenance, avec une attention particulière portée à l’aspect local.

Travail d’équipe salué
Dans l’ensemble, le collège d’experts souligne la qualité de tous les projets rendus, l’implication et l’ouverture d’esprit de l’ensemble des groupes pluridisciplinaires candidats, ainsi que l’immense travail fourni tout au long du MEP. Les groupes candidats sélectionnés pour ce MEP étaient:

  • Behnisch Architekten, Drees & Sommer Schweiz AG, ZPF Ingenieure AG (projet lauréat)
  • Baumschlager Eberle Architekten AG, Dr. Lüchinger + Meyer Bauingenieure AG, Lauber IWISA AG, B+S AG
  • estudioHerreros SLP, Dr Schwartz Consulting AG, Transplan Technik-Bauplanung Gmbh, Transsolar Energietechnik Gmbh, xmade Gmbh
  • Itten + Brechbühl SA, CSD Ingénieurs

Pour rappel, le processus a commencé par une rencontre des participants en décembre 2018, suivie de deux dialogues intermédiaires avec échanges entre les équipes en février et avril 2019, avant la présentation finale des projets le 6 juin 2019. Le groupe lauréat s’est particulièrement illustré par son intelligence collective, son sens de l’écoute et son enthousiasme, intégrant les architectes et les ingénieurs dans une collaboration étroite.

Concours de forme originale
Pendant les dialogues intermédiaires du MEP, les groupes candidats ont pu prendre connaissance des autres projets et échanger de manière libre à leur propos avec le collège d’experts et avec leurs concurrents. Cette démarche originale, ainsi que les objectifs très ambitieux fixés pour le futur bâtiment émanent directement des recherches du Smart Living Lab.

Grand pas vers la construction de demain
Le Canton de Fribourg investit dans la formation, la recherche et l’innovation dans le domaine de la construction. Il a voté en 2018 un crédit de 25 millions de francs pour la construction du bâtiment du Smart Living Lab, qui sera mis à disposition de la recherche pour une durée minimale de 20 ans. La société Bluefactory Fribourg-Freiburg SA en sera le maître d’ouvrage.

Ce bâtiment sera à la fois le contexte, l’objet et un résultat de recherche scientifique. Le programme de recherche mené par le Smart Living Lab depuis sa création en 2014 a produit des connaissances et de nouveaux outils pour permettre aux concepteurs d’atteindre les objectifs de performance sur l’ensemble du cycle de vie du bâtiment, qui inclut l’empreinte carbone des matériaux de construction (énergie grise). Ce MEP est le premier à exiger des projets de respecter les valeurs cibles d’émission de gaz à effet de serre (13 kg CO2/m2/an selon norme SIA 2040/2017).

Les résultats des travaux de recherche préalables, qui ont été repris dans les premiers livres du projet éditorial Towards 2050 publiés en mai 2019, ont contribué à l’élaboration d’un cahier des charges vu par les professionnels comme un véritable défi. «La procédure originale de ce MEP et ses exigences très ambitieuses émanant de quatre ans de recherche se sont révélées comme une expérience de formation pour tous les participants et organisateurs, et comme une démonstration de la capacité d’innovation du Smart Living Lab» explique Marilyne Andersen, présidente du collège d’experts.

Exposition des travaux du MEP: du 13 au 26 septembre 2019, Halle bleue, blueFACTORY
Vernissage de l’exposition et conférence de presse: 13 septembre 2019, 13h15

À propos du Smart Living Lab
Fondé en 2014 avec la création d’une antenne de l’EPFL à Fribourg, le Smart Living Lab est un centre de recherche pour le futur de l’environnement bâti, installé dans le quartier d’innovation blueFACTORY, l’un des sites du réseau Switzerland Innovation West. Il réunit des équipes scientifiques de l’EPFL, de la Haute école d’ingénierie et d’architecture de Fribourg et de l’Université de Fribourg pour former un pôle interdisciplinaire de rayonnement international offrant un terrain d’expérimentation à échelle réelle dans les domaines liés à l’habitat durable: le bien-être et les comportements des utilisateurs, les techniques de construction, les interactions et les processus de conception et les systèmes énergétiques.

À propos de Bluefactory Fribourg-Freiburg SA
Fondée en 2014, Bluefactory Fribourg-Freiburg SA a pour mission le développement, la construction, l’exploitation, la promotion et l’animation du quartier d’innovation en devenir blueFACTORY. Le quartier compte aujourd’hui plus de 280 personnes actives dans une quarantaine d’entités (PME, start-up, acteurs innovants et recherche universitaire) et promeut les principes du développement durable ainsi que ceux de l’économie circulaire.

Contact

Olivier Curty, Conseiller d’État, Direction de l’économie et de l’emploi DEE, +41 26 305 24 02, atteignable entre 10h et 12h

Prof. Marilyne Andersen, Professeure EPFL et Présidente du collège d’experts, marilyne.andersen@epfl.ch, +41 21 693 08 82

Philippe Jemmely, Directeur BFF SA, philippe.jemmely@bluefactory.ch, +41 26 422 37 10, atteignable dès le 19.07.2019

Yanick Jolliet, Architecte chef de projet BFF SA, yanick.jolliet@bluefactory.ch, +41 78 829 98 93

Information

Galerie