The French startup Vizcab will use the injection of capital to ramp up marketing of a building life cycle assessment (LCA) method developed at the Smart Living Lab in Fribourg.

The built environment generates 36% of global greenhouse gases, making the construction industry one of the priority sectors for emissions-reduction efforts. Thomas Jusselme, who defended his PhD thesis at EPFL this past March, has devised a new way for engineers to assess a building’s energy efficiency right from the design stage. Jusselme will now market the life cycle assessment (LCA) method through Vizcab, a startup he founded in 2015. The company has just raised 1.6 million euros (1.75 million francs).

“With this injection of capital, we’ll be able to gain a stronger foothold in France,” says Jusselme, who also serves as Vizcab’s head of innovation. The firm, which markets the method under a license obtained from EPFL in 2017, is planning a series B funding round in 18–24 months’ time as it eyes the wider European market.

At the intersection of the digital and ecological transitions

The patented method makes it easier to carry out an LCA at the early stages of a building’s design. “Our startup operates at the intersection of the digital and ecological transitions,” explains Jusselme. Architects and engineers can feed different construction assumptions into a web app developed by Vizcab, which runs thousands of simulations based on different design parameters such as heating, glazing and insulation. This data-driven model enables practitioners to integrate greenhouse gas emission targets into the early stages of the design process. Previously, it was only possible to calculate a building’s environmental impact once the design choices were set in stone.

A multidisciplinary approach

The method was developed by Building2050, a team based at EPFL’s Smart Living Lab in Fribourg – a lab known for its multidisciplinary approach to research. The LCA model draws on the latest advances in building physics, environmental science, mechanical engineering, data science, statistics and data visualization. “I wouldn’t have been able to get this technology off the ground without the backing of Building2050 and the valuable support of my colleagues,” says Jusselme. “It’s the kind of environment that spawns new ideas.” The first prototype was developed in collaboration with two EPFL labs – the Laboratory of Integrated Performance in Design (LIPID) and the Laboratory of Architecture and Sustainable Technologies (LAST) – as well as the EPFL+ECAL Lab and the Human-IST Institute at the University of Fribourg (UNIFR).

Climate neutrality by 2050

Vizcab’s new technology is an example of perfect timing, coming in the wake of the European Green Deal, which commits the European Union to climate neutrality by 2050. “New rules like these impose additional constraints on companies,” says Pont. “The opportunity is ripe for startups to step into the gap and ease regulatory pressures on businesses.” Against this backdrop, the traffic on Vizcab’s platform – which currently has 680 users – could well soar in the coming years.

The LCA method is just the latest in a line of technologies to emerge from the School’s laboratories that could have a major impact on industry and wider society. “It’s always pleasing to hear that a spin-off operating a technology under license from EPFL has secured financing,” says Frédéric Pont, one of the School’s technology transfer managers. “And it’s especially welcome news in the midst of a global pandemic and economic uncertainty.”

Contact

Thomas Jusselme

ENERGY Institute
Professor- HEIA-FR
-efficient energy strategies and regulation
-design and construction processes
-low carbon and reusable

Information

Vizcab

TAGs

Une méthode développée par l'EPFL au sein du Smart Living Lab de Fribourg simplifie l’analyse du cycle de vie d’un bâtiment. Les fonds levés doivent accélérer la commercialisation des solutions de la start-up française Vizcab.

A lui seul, le secteur du bâtiment engendre 39% des émissions totales de CO₂ liées à l'énergie. Un véritable poids lourd qui montre l’urgence de diminuer le bilan carbone dans la construction. Par une approche pluridisciplinaire, une technologie développée par l’EPFL permet aux ingénieurs d’évaluer les qualités énergétiques d’un bâtiment dès les prémices de sa conception. Son auteur, Thomas Jusselme, a défendu sa thèse en mars dernier et cofondé en 2015 la start-up française Vizcab. Elle vient de lever 1,75 million de francs.

«Cette levée de fonds va nous permettre de renforcer le déploiement de nos outils sur le marché français», se réjouit Thomas Jusselme également directeur de l’innovation. En 2017, Vizcab a acquis une licence auprès de l’EPFL et prévoit de pénétrer le marché européen avec un tour de financement de série B d’ici 18 à 24 mois.

À la croisée des transitions numériques et écologiques

Brevetée, la méthode permet de simplifier l’analyse du cycle de vie du bâtiment dès les prémisses du processus de conception. «Notre start-up se situe à la croisée de deux transitions majeures: numérique et écologique», explique Thomas Jusselme. Concrètement, grâce à une application web, les professionnels du bâtiment accèdent à un module d’exploration d’hypothèses de construction, nourri par des dizaines de milliers de simulations où différentes variantes sont prises en compte (types de chauffage, de vitrage ou encore d’isolation). Avec une telle base de données, il est possible de savoir tôt dans le processus de construction ce qu’il faut faire pour atteindre les objectifs fixés. Une véritable innovation, car jusqu’à ce jour le calcul de l’impact environnemental d’un bâtiment ne pouvait se faire qu’une fois ce dernier conçu.

Une approche pluridisciplinaire

La méthode, développée au sein du Smart Living Lab à Fribourg par le groupe de recherche Building2050, adopte une approche pluridisciplinaire, qui allie aussi bien la physique du bâtiment, que les sciences de l’environnement, le génie mécanique, les sciences des données, les statistiques ou encore la visualisation des données. Une pluridisciplinarité inscrite dans l’ADN même du Smart Living Lab. «Building2050 et les nombreux échanges dont j’ai pu bénéficier avec mes collègues dans ce cadre ont été essentiels et déterminants dans le développement de cette technologie. Cet environnement a favorisé son éclosion», tient à souligner Thomas Jusselme. Le premier prototype a notamment été soutenu par des collaborations avec le LIPID et le LAST de l’EPFL, l’EPFL ECAL-Lab et Human-IST de l’UNIFR.

Un contexte favorable: la neutralité carbone 2050

Alors que l’Union européenne, dans le cadre de son «pacte vert», s’est fixé l’objectif d’atteindre la neutralité carbone d’ici 2050, les besoins pour des solutions telles que celle proposée par Vizcab vont se faire croissants. «Quand de nouvelles règles sont imposées, c’est une opportunité intéressante pour les start-ups de développer des solutions pour faciliter la vie des entreprises qui doivent s’y soumettre», note Frédéric Pont. Dans un tel contexte, il y a de fortes chances pour que le nombre d’utilisateurs de la plateforme de Vizcab (680 aujourd’hui) monte en flèche dans les années à venir.

Gestionnaire du transfert de technologie à l’EPFL, Frédéric Pont se réjouit de l’importance de voir des technologies issues des laboratoires - qui ont un impact sur la société et l’industrie - continuer à se développer. «Chaque fois qu’une start-up qui licencie des technologies de l’EPFL lève des fonds, c’est très positif. Et encore plus dans le contexte actuel de la crise sanitaire et économique liée au COVID-19.»

Contact

Thomas Jusselme

ENERGY Institute
Professor- HEIA-FR
-efficient energy strategies and regulation
-design and construction processes
-low carbon and reusable

Information

Vizcab

TAGs