New chapter in the five-year history of the Smart Living Lab

In 2019, the Smart Living Lab began a new chapter in its five-year history with a new type of Parallel Studies Mandate (MEP) - open and collaborative - for the design of its future building, thus transforming the results of four years of research into a tangible project. This was an opportunity for the selected architectural and engineering firms to work closely with the research teams. The winning project has put a face to the building that will house the Smart Living Lab researchers from 2023. The annual report 2019 highlights this challenge.

The Smart Living Lab now enjoys a national reputation that increases the number of opportunities for international visibility. The ARC-HEST’s Swiss-Korean academic programme is a good example of this. Launched in partnership with three South Korean universities, this is an interdisciplinary Summer School devoted to the study of comfort in co-working spaces in Seoul, South Korea and a corresponding Winter School in Fribourg, Switzerland. Another example includes the initiative to organise sustainable construction workshops in Colombia, as part of the cooperation activities carried out by the State Secretariat for Economic Affairs. These workshops have enabled research findings produced in Fribourg to be transferred and adapted to a different context, where the potential impact is enormous. For each of these projects, the collaborative work between the three partners EPFL, HEIA-FR and UNIFR was a key success factor.

“The Smart Living Lab now enjoys a national reputation that increases the number of opportunities for international visibility”

On the blueFACTORY site where the Smart Living Lab is located, the NeighborHub solar house continues to draw many visitors. It still serves as a multi-functional neighbourhood home designed to showcase sustainability. While public events are held there, the house generates research data on the production and consumption of energy and water. The first two books of a new series entitled “Towards 2050” were published by the European publishing house Park Books in May 2019. These books are intended to disseminate preliminary research findings from the Building2050 programme to a larger readership. The programme exists for the purpose of designing the future Smart Living Lab building. These two books offer recommendations to guide practitioners in the development of comfortable buildings with a low carbon footprint.

2019 was a busy and very satisfying year for the new director, who would like to warmly thank all the members and partners of the Smart Living Lab for their contribution to the success of this ambitious and unique research centre. We look forward to the new fundamental and applied research projects that will result from the Smart Living Lab’s participation in national networks as well as to the innovations that will emerge from these networks through current and future partnerships.

Contact

Marilyne Andersen

Academic Director of Smart Living Lab
Professor, Scientific Commission Chair- EPFL
-modeling, simulations and algorithms
-human-building interaction
-solar availability

Martin Gonzenbach

Director of Operations EPFL Fribourg and Smart Living Lab
-modeling, simulations and algorithms
-technology transfer
-administration

Information

TAGs

Nouveau chapitre dans l'histoire du Smart Living Lab

Le Smart Living Lab a entamé en 2019 un nouveau chapitre de son histoire, après cinq ans d’existence. 2019 a été l’année du concours sous forme de Mandat d’études parallèles (MEP) d’un genre nouveau - ouvert et collaboratif - pour la conception de son futur bâtiment, ce qui a permis de traduire les résultats de quatre ans de recherche en un projet tangible. Une opportunité pour les bureaux d’architecture et d’ingénierie sélectionnés de collaborer étroitement avec les équipes scientifiques. Le projet lauréat a donné un visage au bâtiment qui accueillera les chercheurs du Smart Living Lab dès 2023. Le rapport annuel 2019 en détaille les enjeux.

Le Smart Living Lab jouit désormais d’une renommée à l’échelle nationale, qui multiplie les opportunités de rayonnement international. Le programme académique ARC-HEST, une université d’été interdisciplinaire à Séoul consacrée à l’étude des espaces de travail partagés, en partenariat avec trois universités de Corée du Sud, en offre un bel exemple. Les ateliers de construction durable, organisés en Colombie dans le cadre des actions de coopération du Secrétariat d’Etat à l’économie, ont aussi permis de diffuser la recherche produite à Fribourg et de l’adapter à un contexte différent, où le potentiel d’impact est immense. Pour chacun de ces projets, la collaboration entre les trois partenaires que sont l’EPFL, la HEIA-FR et l’UNIFR a été un facteur clé de succès.

« Le Smart Living Lab jouit désormais d’une renommée à l’échelle nationale, qui multiplie les opportunités de rayonnement international »

Sur le site de blueFACTORY, où se situe le Smart Living Lab, le pavillon solaire NeighborHub continue d’attirer de nombreux visiteurs et fonctionne toujours comme une maison de quartier multifonctionnelle dédiée à la durabilité. Pendant que s’y déroulent des activités publiques, le bâtiment génère des données destinées à la recherche sur la production et la consommation d’énergie et d’eau. Deux ouvrages, formant le début d’une série intitulée « Towards 2050 », ont été publiés en mai 2019 chez Park Books. Ils visent à disséminer plus largement les résultats des recherches préliminaires menées dans le cadre du programme Building2050, consacré à la conception du futur bâtiment du Smart Living Lab. Ces livres proposent des recommandations destinées aux praticiens pour les guider dans le développement de bâtiments confortables à faible empreinte carbone.

2019 fut une année riche et très satisfaisante pour la nouvelle direction qui tient à remercier chaleureusement tous les membres et partenaires du Smart Living Lab, qui contribuent au succès de ce centre de recherche ambitieux et unique. Nous nous réjouissons des perspectives de nouveaux projets de recherche fondamentale et appliquée qui se dessinent avec la participation du Smart Living Lab à des réseaux d’envergure nationale, et des innovations qui en émergeront grâce aux partenariats actuels et futurs.

Contact

Marilyne Andersen

Academic Director of Smart Living Lab
Professor, Scientific Commission Chair- EPFL
-modeling, simulations and algorithms
-human-building interaction
-solar availability

Martin Gonzenbach

Director of Operations EPFL Fribourg and Smart Living Lab
-modeling, simulations and algorithms
-technology transfer
-administration

Information

TAGs