New chapter in the five-year history of the Smart Living Lab

In 2019, the Smart Living Lab began a new chapter in its five-year history with a new type of Parallel Studies Mandate (MEP) - open and collaborative - for the design of its future building, thus transforming the results of four years of research into a tangible project. This was an opportunity for the selected architectural and engineering firms to work closely with the research teams. The winning project has put a face to the building that will house the Smart Living Lab researchers from 2023. The annual report 2019 highlights this challenge.

The Smart Living Lab now enjoys a national reputation that increases the number of opportunities for international visibility. The ARC-HEST’s Swiss-Korean academic programme is a good example of this. Launched in partnership with three South Korean universities, this is an interdisciplinary Summer School devoted to the study of comfort in co-working spaces in Seoul, South Korea and a corresponding Winter School in Fribourg, Switzerland. Another example includes the initiative to organise sustainable construction workshops in Colombia, as part of the cooperation activities carried out by the State Secretariat for Economic Affairs. These workshops have enabled research findings produced in Fribourg to be transferred and adapted to a different context, where the potential impact is enormous. For each of these projects, the collaborative work between the three partners EPFL, HEIA-FR and UNIFR was a key success factor.

“The Smart Living Lab now enjoys a national reputation that increases the number of opportunities for international visibility”

On the blueFACTORY site where the Smart Living Lab is located, the NeighborHub solar house continues to draw many visitors. It still serves as a multi-functional neighbourhood home designed to showcase sustainability. While public events are held there, the house generates research data on the production and consumption of energy and water. The first two books of a new series entitled “Towards 2050” were published by the European publishing house Park Books in May 2019. These books are intended to disseminate preliminary research findings from the Building2050 programme to a larger readership. The programme exists for the purpose of designing the future Smart Living Lab building. These two books offer recommendations to guide practitioners in the development of comfortable buildings with a low carbon footprint.

2019 was a busy and very satisfying year for the new director, who would like to warmly thank all the members and partners of the Smart Living Lab for their contribution to the success of this ambitious and unique research centre. We look forward to the new fundamental and applied research projects that will result from the Smart Living Lab’s participation in national networks as well as to the innovations that will emerge from these networks through current and future partnerships.

Contact

Marilyne Andersen

Academic Director of Smart Living Lab
Professor, Scientific Commission Chair- EPFL
-modeling, simulations and algorithms
-human-building interaction
-solar availability

Martin Gonzenbach

Director of Operations EPFL Fribourg and Smart Living Lab
-modeling, simulations and algorithms
-technology transfer
-administration

Information

TAGs

Neues Kapitel in der Geschichte des Smart Living Lab

2019 – fünf Jahre nach der Gründung – wurde ein neues Kapitel in der Geschichte des Smart Living Lab aufgeschlagen: im Rahmen eines offenen und kollaborativen Studienauftragsverfahrens (MEP) ging es darum, die bis dahin gewonnenen Forschungserkenntnisse in einem Neubau für das Smart Living Lab umzusetzen, wobei die ausgewählten Architektur- und Ingenieurbüros eng mit den Forschungsteams zusammenarbeiten konnten. Mit der Wahl des Siegerentwurfs nimmt das Projekt nun konkrete Formen an, und ab 2023 wird das neue Gebäude den Forscherinnen und Forschern des Smart Living Lab zur Verfügung stehen. Der Jahresbericht 2019 erläutert diese Herausforderung.

Das Smart Living Lab geniesst inzwischen hohe Anerkennung auf nationaler Ebene, wodurch sich auch international vermehrt Türen öffnen. Gute Beispiele hierfür sind die interdisziplinäre Sommeruniversität in Seoul zum Thema Co-Working-Spaces, die als Teil des akademischen Austauschprogramms ARC-HEST in Zusammenarbeit mit drei Universitäten Südkoreas angeboten wurde, oder die Workshops zum Thema nachhaltiges Bauen, die im Rahmen der Entwicklungsmassnahmen des Staatssekretariats für Wirtschaft in Kolumbien durchgeführt wurden, um die in Freiburg gewonnenen Forschungserkenntnisse weiterzugeben und mit grossem Wirkungspotenzial an einen neuen Kontext anzupassen. Die Zusammenarbeit zwischen der EPFL, der HTA-FR und der UNIFR war für beide Projekte ein wichtiger Erfolgsfaktor.

«Das Smart Living Lab geniesst inzwischen hohe Anerkennung auf nationaler Ebene, wodurch sich auch international vermehrt Türen öffnen»

Auf dem blueFACTORY-Gelände, wo sich das Smart Living Lab befindet, zieht das Solarhaus «NeighborHub» weiterhin viele Besucher an und fungiert nach wie vor als multifunktionales, der Nachhaltigkeit gewidmetes Quartierhaus. Es finden regelmässig öffentliche Veranstaltungen darin statt – dabei werden die Betriebsdaten des Gebäudes für Forschungsarbeiten in den Bereichen Energieerzeugung und -verbrauch sowie Wasserverbrauch gesammelt. Im Mai 2019 erschienen im Verlag Park Books die zwei ersten Bände der Buchreihe «Towards 2050». Es ging darum, die Ergebnisse der Forschungsarbeiten des Programms «Building2050», die der Konzeption des zukünftigen Gebäudes des Smart Living Lab vorausgingen, einem breiteren Publikum zugänglich zu machen. Praktiker finden in diesen zwei Büchern Empfehlungen für die Konzeption von Gebäuden mit hohem Komfort und guter CO2-Bilanz.

2019 war also ein ereignisreiches und sehr erfreuliches Jahr und die neue Direktion des Smart Living Lab bedankt sich ganz herzlich bei allen Mitgliedern und Partnern für ihren Beitrag zum Erfolg dieses ambitionierten und einmaligen Forschungszentrums. Ebenfalls erfreulich sind die Aussichten auf neue Projekte in der Grundlagen- und angewandten Forschung, die sich durch die Teilnahme des Smart Living Lab an landesweiten Netzwerken ergeben, sowie die möglichen Innovationen, die dank unseren aktuellen und zukünftigen Partnerschaften daraus entstehen können.

Kontakt

Marilyne Andersen

Academic Director of Smart Living Lab
Professor, Scientific Commission Chair- EPFL
-modeling, simulations and algorithms
-human-building interaction
-solar availability

Martin Gonzenbach

Director of Operations EPFL Fribourg and Smart Living Lab
-modeling, simulations and algorithms
-technology transfer
-administration

Information

TAGs