Interview with Prof. Dolaana Khovalyg

30 Swiss and Korean students, from the fields of architecture, civil engineering, IT, management and environmental sciences, participated in the first edition of the ARC-HEST program. They analyzed indoor comfort during a Summer School held in Seoul in August 2019, and a Winter School held in Fribourg in February 2020. EPFL Assistant Professor Dolaana Khovalyg, Head of the Thermal Engineering for the Built Environment Laboratory (TEBEL), tells us more about this ambitious program that has already produced strong links between the six partner universities.

What is the major focus of the ARC-HEST Swiss-Korean Academic Exchange?
The overall focus of the program is the study of the synergy between architectural design, human factors, and technologies in office buildings. It also examines their combined effect on indoor environmental quality and human-building interaction in a local context – both cultural and architectural. The very first edition of the program focused on coworking spaces that are increasingly popular, especially among startups and freelancers.

What is innovative about the ARC-HEST Swiss-Korean Academic Exchange?
Both the educators and students involved in this initial edition of the program had very diverse backgrounds - both multidisciplinary and multicultural. The students therefore benefited from a holistic approach to analyzing office spaces. As a result, the recommended solutions to improve multidimensional comfort and human-building interactions in coworking spaces were innovative and bold.

What do you think are the most significant accomplishments of this program?
The program strengthens scientific and educational cooperation between Switzerland and South Korea. During the Summer School, we were welcomed at the Swiss Embassy in Korea, and during the Winter School, we were welcomed at the Residence of the Republic of Korea in Switzerland. During both visits, the Ambassadors highlighted the significance of the program.

What has been the impact of this program?
Without a doubt, the program has had a great impact on the students and professors involved. Students had a chance to travel, make new friends, work in a multicultural environment, learn how to perform actual measurements in buildings, and gain experience in working in teams. For some students, it was their very first opportunity to travel abroad. At the beginning, the program was challenging for the organizers and professors since we needed to work in a large, international and multidisciplinary team. Overall, the program has been a great success to-date and we have built strong links between six universities that can lead to future collaborations.

With the support of the Science and Technology Office Seoul, the Smart Living Lab and its three partner institutions (EPFL, School of Architecture and Engineering of Fribourg, and the University of Fribourg), have launched the ARC-HEST (Architecture for human environment with smart technologies) Academic Exchange Program between Switzerland and South Korea. Together with the SungKyunKwan, EWHA, and Hanyang Universities from South Korea, this exchange program focuses on the issue of sustainability and comfort of the built environment.

Contact

Dolaana Khovalyg

Head of Thermal Engineering for Built Environment Lab (TEBEL)
Tenure Track Assistant Professor - EPFL
-energy efficiency
-heat recovery
-heating, ventilation and air-conditioning HVAC
Prof. Dolaana Khovalyg © Thomas Delley

Information

ARC-HEST Swiss Korean Academic Exchange Program

TAGs

Interview avec Prof. Dolaana Khovalyg

30 étudiants suisses et coréens, issus des domaines de l'architecture, du génie civil, de l'informatique, du management et des sciences de l'environnement, ont participé à la première édition du programme ARC-HEST. Ils ont analysé le confort intérieur lors d'une Summer School qui s'est tenue à Séoul en août 2019, et d'une Winter School qui a eu lieu à Fribourg en février 2020. Dolaana Khovalyg, professeure assistante à l'EPFL et responsable du Laboratoire d'ingénierie thermique de l'environnement construit (TEBEL), nous en dit plus sur cet ambitieux programme qui a déjà permis de tisser des liens solides entre les six universités partenaires.

L'interview suivant a été traduit de l'anglais vers le français.

Quel est l'objectif principal de l'échange académique Suisse-Corée dans le cadre du programme ARC-HEST ?
L'objectif général du programme est l'étude des synergies entre la conception architecturale, les facteurs humains et les technologies dans les immeubles de bureaux. Il examine également leurs effets combinés sur la qualité de l'environnement intérieur et l'interaction homme-bâtiment dans un contexte local - à la fois culturel et architectural. La toute première édition du programme s'est concentrée sur les espaces de coworking qui sont de plus en plus populaires, en particulier parmi les startups et les indépendants.

En quoi cet échange académique Suisse-Corée ARC-HEST est-il novateur?
Les professeurs et les étudiants impliqués dans cette première édition du programme étaient d'origines très diverses - à la fois multidisciplinaires et multiculturelles. Les étudiants ont donc bénéficié d'une approche holistique de l'analyse des espaces de travail partagés. En conséquence, les solutions recommandées pour améliorer le confort multidimensionnel et les interactions homme-bâtiment dans les espaces de coworking étaient innovantes et audacieuses.

Selon vous, quelles sont les réalisations les plus significatives de ce programme?
Le programme renforce la coopération scientifique et académique entre la Suisse et la Corée du Sud. Lors de la Summer School, nous avons été accueillis à l'ambassade de Suisse en Corée, et pendant la Winter School, nous avons été reçus à la résidence de l'ambassade de Corée en Suisse. Au cours de ces deux visites, les ambassadeurs ont souligné l'importance du programme.

Quel a été l'impact de ce programme ?
Sans aucun doute, le programme a eu un impact positif sur les étudiants et les professeurs impliqués. Les étudiants ont eu la chance de voyager, de se faire de nouveaux amis, de travailler dans un environnement multiculturel, d'apprendre à effectuer des mesures réelles dans les bâtiments et d'acquérir de l'expérience dans le travail d'équipe. Pour certains étudiants, il s'agissait de leur toute première occasion de voyager à l'étranger. Au début, le programme était un défi pour les organisateurs et les professeurs, car nous devions collaborer au sein d'une équipe internationale et multidisciplinaire d'envergure. Dans l'ensemble, le programme a été un franc succès jusqu'à présent et nous avons établi des liens solides entre six universités qui peuvent déboucher sur de futures collaborations.

Avec le soutien du Science and Technology Office Seoul, le Smart Living Lab et ses trois institutions partenaires (EPFL, Ecole d'architecture et d'ingénierie de Fribourg et Université de Fribourg), ont lancé le programme d'échange académique ARC-HEST (Architecture for human environment with smart technologies) entre la Suisse et la Corée du Sud. En collaboration avec les universités SungKyunKwan, EWHA et Hanyang de Corée du Sud, ce programme d'échange se concentre sur la question de la durabilité et du confort de l'environnement bâti.

Contact

Dolaana Khovalyg

Head of Thermal Engineering for Built Environment Lab (TEBEL)
Tenure Track Assistant Professor - EPFL
-energy efficiency
-heat recovery
-heating, ventilation and air-conditioning HVAC
Prof. Dolaana Khovalyg © Thomas Delley

Information

ARC-HEST Swiss Korean Academic Exchange Program

TAGs