Interview with Prof. Dolaana Khovalyg

30 Swiss and Korean students, from the fields of architecture, civil engineering, IT, management and environmental sciences, participated in the first edition of the ARC-HEST program. They analyzed indoor comfort during a Summer School held in Seoul in August 2019, and a Winter School held in Fribourg in February 2020. EPFL Assistant Professor Dolaana Khovalyg, Head of the Thermal Engineering for the Built Environment Laboratory (TEBEL), tells us more about this ambitious program that has already produced strong links between the six partner universities.

What is the major focus of the ARC-HEST Swiss-Korean Academic Exchange?
The overall focus of the program is the study of the synergy between architectural design, human factors, and technologies in office buildings. It also examines their combined effect on indoor environmental quality and human-building interaction in a local context – both cultural and architectural. The very first edition of the program focused on coworking spaces that are increasingly popular, especially among startups and freelancers.

What is innovative about the ARC-HEST Swiss-Korean Academic Exchange?
Both the educators and students involved in this initial edition of the program had very diverse backgrounds - both multidisciplinary and multicultural. The students therefore benefited from a holistic approach to analyzing office spaces. As a result, the recommended solutions to improve multidimensional comfort and human-building interactions in coworking spaces were innovative and bold.

What do you think are the most significant accomplishments of this program?
The program strengthens scientific and educational cooperation between Switzerland and South Korea. During the Summer School, we were welcomed at the Swiss Embassy in Korea, and during the Winter School, we were welcomed at the Residence of the Republic of Korea in Switzerland. During both visits, the Ambassadors highlighted the significance of the program.

What has been the impact of this program?
Without a doubt, the program has had a great impact on the students and professors involved. Students had a chance to travel, make new friends, work in a multicultural environment, learn how to perform actual measurements in buildings, and gain experience in working in teams. For some students, it was their very first opportunity to travel abroad. At the beginning, the program was challenging for the organizers and professors since we needed to work in a large, international and multidisciplinary team. Overall, the program has been a great success to-date and we have built strong links between six universities that can lead to future collaborations.

With the support of the Science and Technology Office Seoul, the Smart Living Lab and its three partner institutions (EPFL, School of Architecture and Engineering of Fribourg, and the University of Fribourg), have launched the ARC-HEST (Architecture for human environment with smart technologies) Academic Exchange Program between Switzerland and South Korea. Together with the SungKyunKwan, EWHA, and Hanyang Universities from South Korea, this exchange program focuses on the issue of sustainability and comfort of the built environment.

Contact

Dolaana Khovalyg

Head of Thermal Engineering for Built Environment Lab (TEBEL)
Tenure Track Assistant Professor - EPFL
-energy efficiency
-heat recovery
-heating, ventilation and air-conditioning HVAC
Prof. Dolaana Khovalyg © Thomas Delley

Information

ARC-HEST Swiss Korean Academic Exchange Program

TAGs

Interview mit Prof. Dolaana Khovalyg

30 Schweizer und Koreanische Studierende aus den Bereichen Architektur, Bauingenieurwesen, IT, Management und Umweltwissenschaften nahmen an der ersten Ausgabe des ARC-HEST Programms teil. Sie analysierten den Innenraumkomfort während einer Sommerakademie in Seoul im August 2019 und einer Winterakademie in Fribourg im Februar 2020. Die EPFL-Assistenzprofessorin Dolaana Khovalyg, Leiterin des Thermal Engineering for the Built Environment Laboratory (TEBEL), erzählt uns mehr über die erste Ausgabe dieses ehrgeizigen Programms, das bereits starke Synergien zwischen den sechs Partneruniversitäten hergestellt hat.

Das folgende Interview wurde vom Englischen ins Deutsche übersetzt.

Was ist der Schwerpunkt des ARC-HEST Schweizerisch-Koreanischen akademischen Austausches?
Der allgemeine Schwerpunkt des Programms ist die Untersuchung der Synergie zwischen architektonischem Design, menschlichen Faktoren und Technologien in Bürogebäuden. Es untersucht auch ihre kombinierte Wirkung auf die Umweltqualität in Innenräumen und die Interaktion zwischen Mensch und Gebäude in einem lokalen Kontext - sowohl kulturell als auch architektonisch. Die allererste Ausgabe des Programms konzentrierte sich auf Coworking Spaces, die vor allem bei Start-ups und Freiberuflern immer beliebter werden.

Was ist innovativ am ARC-HEST Schweizerisch-Koreanischen akademischen Austausch?
Sowohl die Pädagogen als auch die Studierenden, die an dieser ersten Ausgabe des Programms beteiligt waren, hatten sehr unterschiedliche Hintergründe - sowohl multidisziplinär als auch multikulturell. Die Studierenden profitierten daher von einem ganzheitlichen Ansatz zur Analyse von Büroräumen. Als Ergebnis waren die empfohlenen Lösungen zur Verbesserung des multidimensionalen Komforts und der Mensch-Gebäude-Interaktionen in Coworking Spaces innovativ und mutig.

Was sind Ihrer Meinung nach die wichtigsten Errungenschaften dieses Programms?
Das Programm stärkt die Wissenschafts- und Bildungszusammenarbeit zwischen der Schweiz und Korea. Während der Sommerakademie wurden wir in der Schweizer Botschaft in Korea und während der Winterakademie in der Residenz des koreanischen Botschafters in der Schweiz empfangen. Während beider Besuche hoben die Botschafter die Bedeutung des Programms hervor.

Welche Auswirkungen hat dieses Programm gehabt?
Zweifellos hat das Programm einen grossen Einfluss auf die beteiligten Studierenden und Dozierenden gehabt. Die Studierenden hatten die Möglichkeit zu reisen, neue Freunde zu finden, in einer multikulturellen Umgebung zu arbeiten, zu lernen, wie man tatsächliche Messungen in Gebäuden durchführt und Erfahrungen in der Arbeit in Teams zu sammeln. Für einige Studierende war es die allererste Gelegenheit, ins Ausland zu reisen. Zu Beginn war das Programm für die Organisatoren und Professoren eine Herausforderung, da wir in einem grossen, internationalen und multidisziplinären Team arbeiten mussten. Insgesamt war das Programm bis heute ein grosser Erfolg, und wir haben starke Verbindungen zwischen sechs Universitäten aufgebaut, die zu einer zukünftigen Zusammenarbeit führen können.

Mit der Unterstützung des Science and Technology Office Seoul haben das Smart Living Lab und seine drei Partnerinstitutionen (EPFL, Hochschule für Technik und Architektur Freiburg und die Universität Freiburg) das akademische Austauschprogramm ARC-HEST (Architecture for human environment with smart technologies) zwischen der Schweiz und Südkorea ins Leben gerufen. Zusammen mit den Universitäten SungKyunKwan, EWHA und Hanyang aus Südkorea konzentriert sich dieses Austauschprogramm auf die Frage der Nachhaltigkeit und des Komforts der gebauten Umwelt.

Kontakt

Dolaana Khovalyg

Head of Thermal Engineering for Built Environment Lab (TEBEL)
Tenure Track Assistant Professor - EPFL
-energy efficiency
-heat recovery
-heating, ventilation and air-conditioning HVAC
Prof. Dolaana Khovalyg © Thomas Delley

Information

ARC-HEST Swiss Korean Academic Exchange Program

TAGs