Carbon Footprint

For the first time, the Smart Living Lab illustrates its carbon footprint, based on data showing annual greenhouse gas emissions generated by the blueFACTORY innovation district, collected by Bluefactory Fribourg-Freiburg SA and Climate Services SA. This report allows to establish a clear diagnosis of all sources of emission by the Smart Living Lab and its partner institutions (EPFL, School of Engineering and Architecture Fribourg and University of Fribourg), whose employees are active members on site. This process seeks to assess the CO2 impact of the research center in order to meet the carbon neutrality goals set by the Swiss government.

© Aline Deschenaux

The Smart Living Lab’s activities generated 87 tons of CO2 in 2019. The total emissions of all 70 Smart Living Lab’s employees (46 FTE) working on the blueFACTORY site amount respectively to 1.2 and 1.9 tons of CO2 (tCO2) per employee and per full-time equivalent (FTE).

For comparison purposes, activities from companies in the industrial sector in Western Switzerland generate emissions between 10 and 30 tCO2 per employee, those in the construction sector, from 3 to 8 tCO2, and those in the services sector, from 1 to 3 tCO2.

The category responsible for the most important climate impact is business travel, with 76% of the total emissions, whereas 90% is generated by air travel, amounting to 60 tons of CO2.

There follows commuting, which generated 15 tCO2. 85% of kilometers covered for home-work commuting is done by either public transport or soft mobility, which represents 15% of emissions in this category, i.e., 2.3 tons of CO2. Inversely, car journeys represent only 15% of kilometers covered, but generate 85% of the CO2 emissions linked to daily mobility.

Regarding Blue Hall carbon footprint, emissions are extremely low due to the fact that space heating on the blueFACTORY site is provided by a heat pump with an electrical source of hydraulic origin. Likewise, electricity emissions are almost zero, since they are supplied by a hydraulic source.  

Emissions related to office material amount to a total of 3 tons of CO2, and come mainly from 17 new computers bought in 2019.  

In addition to the possible efforts still to be made in order to reduce greenhouse gas emissions stemming from its activities, the Smart Living Lab helps chart a path towards the carbon neutrality of the built environment thanks to its research and development projects. Different tools are proposed by Smart Living lab’s researchers to professionals in the design and construction sectors in order to help reduce carbon footprint. Construction technologies are developed to focus on reusing structures and low carbon footprint materials, which are responsible for most emissions generated by the built environment. Within this context, the Smart Living Lab will begin in 2021 the construction of an experimental building on the blueFACTORY site, which will be a demonstrator in this area.

Translation: Véronica Cubarle (EPFL)

Contact

Martin Gonzenbach

Director of Operations EPFL Fribourg and Smart Living Lab
-modeling, simulations and algorithms
-technology transfer
-administration

Information

TAGs

Bilan carbone

Le Smart Living Lab illustre pour la première fois son bilan carbone, sur la base des données récoltées par Bluefactory Fribourg-Freiburg SA et Climate Services SA qui présentent la somme annuelle de toutes les émissions de gaz à effet de serre générées par le quartier d’innovation de blueFACTORY. Ce bilan permet de poser un diagnostic clair des sources d’émissions du Smart Living Lab et ses institutions partenaires (EPFL, Haute école d’ingénierie et d’architecture de Fribourg et Université de Fribourg), dont les collaborateurs sont actifs sur le site de l’ancienne brasserie Cardinal. Cette démarche vise à évaluer l’impact CO2 du centre de recherche dans le but d’atteindre l’objectif de neutralité carbone que s’est fixé la Suisse.

© Aline Deschenaux

En 2019, les activités du Smart Living Lab ont généré 87 tonnes de CO2 au total. Les émissions des 70 collaborateurs (46 EPT) du Smart Living Lab travaillant à blueFACTORY s’élèvent respectivement par employé et par équivalent plein temps (EPT) à 1.2 et 1.9 tonnes de CO2 (tCO2).

A titre de comparaison, les activités des entreprises dans le secteur de l'industrie en Suisse romande génèrent des émissions comprises entre 10 et 30 tCO2 par collaborateur, celles de la construction de 3 à 8 tCO2 et celles des services de 1 à 3 tCO2.

La catégorie d’émissions responsable de la plus grosse part de l’impact climatique avec 76% du total est celle des déplacements professionnels. 90% de ces émissions sont générées par les déplacements en avion, soit environ 60 tonnes de CO2.

Viennent ensuite les trajets pendulaires, qui ont généré 15 tCO2. 85% des kilomètres parcourus pour les trajets domicile-travail sont faits en transports publics ou en mobilité douce. Cela représente le 15% des émissions de cette catégorie, soit 2.3 tonnes de CO2. A l’inverse, les trajets en voiture ne représentent que 15% des kilomètres parcourus, mais génèrent 85% des émissions de CO2 liées à la mobilité quotidienne.

Concernant l’empreinte carbone du bâtiment de la Halle bleue, le chauffage des locaux sur le site de blueFACTORY se fait par une pompe à chaleur avec une source électrique d'origine hydraulique, ce qui signifie que les émissions sont extrêmement faibles. De la même manière pour l’électricité, les émissions sont quasi nulles, car son approvisionnement est uniquement de source hydraulique.

Le matériel de bureau, dont la majorité des émissions provient de l'achat de 17 nouveaux ordinateurs en 2019, affiche un volume total d’émissions de 3 tonnes de CO2.

Au-delà des efforts encore possibles pour réduire les émissions directes découlant de ses activités, le Smart Living Lab contribue à tracer la voie vers la neutralité carbone de l’environnement bâti par ses travaux de recherche et développement. Des outils pour aider les professionnels dans la conception et la rénovation de bâtiments à faible empreinte carbone sont proposés par les chercheurs. Des technologies de construction sont développées afin de privilégier l’utilisation de matériaux dont le bilan carbone est favorable et le réemploi d’éléments de structure qui sont responsables d’une large part des émissions du bâti. Dans ce contexte, le Smart Living Lab construit à blueFACTORY un bâtiment expérimental dès 2021, qui a pour ambition de servir de démonstrateur en la matière.

Contact

Martin Gonzenbach

Director of Operations EPFL Fribourg and Smart Living Lab
-modeling, simulations and algorithms
-technology transfer
-administration

Information

TAGs