Carbon Footprint

For the first time, the Smart Living Lab illustrates its carbon footprint, based on data showing annual greenhouse gas emissions generated by the blueFACTORY innovation district, collected by Bluefactory Fribourg-Freiburg SA and Climate Services SA. This report allows to establish a clear diagnosis of all sources of emission by the Smart Living Lab and its partner institutions (EPFL, School of Engineering and Architecture Fribourg and University of Fribourg), whose employees are active members on site. This process seeks to assess the CO2 impact of the research center in order to meet the carbon neutrality goals set by the Swiss government.

© Aline Deschenaux

The Smart Living Lab’s activities generated 87 tons of CO2 in 2019. The total emissions of all 70 Smart Living Lab’s employees (46 FTE) working on the blueFACTORY site amount respectively to 1.2 and 1.9 tons of CO2 (tCO2) per employee and per full-time equivalent (FTE).

For comparison purposes, activities from companies in the industrial sector in Western Switzerland generate emissions between 10 and 30 tCO2 per employee, those in the construction sector, from 3 to 8 tCO2, and those in the services sector, from 1 to 3 tCO2.

The category responsible for the most important climate impact is business travel, with 76% of the total emissions, whereas 90% is generated by air travel, amounting to 60 tons of CO2.

There follows commuting, which generated 15 tCO2. 85% of kilometers covered for home-work commuting is done by either public transport or soft mobility, which represents 15% of emissions in this category, i.e., 2.3 tons of CO2. Inversely, car journeys represent only 15% of kilometers covered, but generate 85% of the CO2 emissions linked to daily mobility.

Regarding Blue Hall carbon footprint, emissions are extremely low due to the fact that space heating on the blueFACTORY site is provided by a heat pump with an electrical source of hydraulic origin. Likewise, electricity emissions are almost zero, since they are supplied by a hydraulic source.  

Emissions related to office material amount to a total of 3 tons of CO2, and come mainly from 17 new computers bought in 2019.  

In addition to the possible efforts still to be made in order to reduce greenhouse gas emissions stemming from its activities, the Smart Living Lab helps chart a path towards the carbon neutrality of the built environment thanks to its research and development projects. Different tools are proposed by Smart Living lab’s researchers to professionals in the design and construction sectors in order to help reduce carbon footprint. Construction technologies are developed to focus on reusing structures and low carbon footprint materials, which are responsible for most emissions generated by the built environment. Within this context, the Smart Living Lab will begin in 2021 the construction of an experimental building on the blueFACTORY site, which will be a demonstrator in this area.

Translation: Véronica Cubarle (EPFL)

Contact

Martin Gonzenbach

Director of Operations EPFL Fribourg and Smart Living Lab
-modeling, simulations and algorithms
-technology transfer
-administration

Information

TAGs

Das Smart Living Lab legt seinen CO2-Fussabdruck erstmals in einer Infografik dar. Die präsentierten Daten wurden von Bluefactory Fribourg-Freiburg AG und Climate Services AG gesammelt und entsprechen der Summe der durch das Innovationsquartier blueFACTORY im Jahr 2019 generierten Treibhausgasemissionen. Die Bilanz liefert eine klare Analyse der Emissionsquellen des Smart Living Lab und seiner Partnerinstitutionen (EPFL, Hochschule für Technik und Architektur Freiburg und Universität Freiburg), deren Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter auf dem Gelände der ehemaligen Cardinal-Brauerei tätig sind. Die Analyse der CO2-Bilanz des Forschungszentrums erfolgt mit dem Ziel, die von der Schweiz angestrebte Klimaneutralität zu erreichen.

© Aline Deschenaux

Im Jahr 2019 beliefen sich die CO2-Emissionen im Zusammenhang mit den Aktivitäten des Smart Living Lab auf insgesamt 87 Tonnen. Die Emissionen der auf dem blueFACTORY-Gelände arbeitenden 70 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter (46 VZÄ) des Smart Living Lab betrugen pro Mitarbeiter bzw. pro Vollzeitäquivalent (VZÄ) 1,2 bzw. 1,9 Tonnen CO2 (tCO2).

Zum Vergleich: In der Westschweiz lagen die durch die Aktivitäten der Unternehmen des Industriesektors generierten Emissionen zwischen 10 und 30 tCO2 pro Mitarbeitenden, die des Bausektors bei 3 bis 8 tCO2 und die des Dienstleistungssektors bei 1 bis 3 tCO2.

Die Mobilität  bzw. Dienstreisen sind mit 76 % für den grössten Anteil des CO2-Fussabdrucks des Smart Living Lab verantwortlich, wobei 90 % dieser Emissionen – d.h. rund 60 Tonnen CO2 – durch Flugreisen verursacht wurden.

Danach folgt die Kategorie Pendelfahrten, die 15 tCO2 generierte. 85 % der Arbeitswegkilometer wurden mit öffentlichen Verkehrsmitteln oder per Langsamverkehr (zu Fuss, auf Rädern oder Rollen) zurückgelegt. Hierbei wurden 2,3 Tonnen CO2 verursacht, was 15 % der durch Pendelfahrten generierten Emissionen entspricht. Umgekehrt wurden nur 15 % der Arbeitswegkilometer per Auto zurückgelegt, wodurch jedoch 85 % der CO2-Emissionen der täglichen Mobilität verursacht wurden.

In Bezug auf den CO2-Fussabdruck der Blauen Halle ist zu erwähnen, dass auf dem blueFACTORY-Gelände mit einer Wärmepumpe geheizt wird, die mit Strom aus Wasserkraft betrieben wird, sodass die Emissionen äusserst gering sind. Dasselbe gilt für den Stromverbrauch: die Emissionen sind praktisch gleich Null, da der Strom ausschliesslich aus Wasserkraft gewonnen wird.

Die Kategorie Büroausstattung weist ein Emissionsvolumen von insgesamt 3 Tonnen auf, wobei der Grossteil der Emissionen aus der Anschaffung von 17 neuen Computern stammt.

Das Smart Living Lab will die aus seinen Aktivitäten entstehenden direkten Emissionen weiter reduzieren und weiterhin durch seine Forschungs- und Entwicklungsarbeit dazu beitragen, den Weg zu einer klimaneutralen gebauten Umwelt zu ebnen. So bieten die Forscherinnen und Forscher den Fachleuten Lösungen für die Planung und Renovierung von Gebäuden mit geringem CO2-Fussabdruck an. Es werden neue Bautechnologien entwickelt, mit dem Ziel, die Verwendung von Materialien mit einer guten CO2-Bilanz sowie die Wiederverwendung von Strukturelementen zu fördern, da diese für einen grossen Teil des CO2-Fussabdrucks der gebauten Umwelt verantwortlich sind. Ab 2021 wird auf dem BlueFACTORY-Gelände vom Smart Living Lab ein experimentelles Gebäude errichtet, das diesbezüglich als Demonstratorgebäude dienen soll.

Übersetzung: Christine Aebischer (HEIA-FR)

Kontakt

Martin Gonzenbach

Director of Operations EPFL Fribourg and Smart Living Lab
-modeling, simulations and algorithms
-technology transfer
-administration

Information

TAGs