By developing a method for calculating the carbon footprint of energy used in Switzerland on an hourly basis rather than as a yearly average, EPFL researchers have shed important light on an otherwise obscure industry.

Despite recent advances in power grid technology, engineers still struggle to measure the carbon footprint of one kilowatt-hour (kWh) of energy used in Switzerland. That’s because of the many different variables that must be taken into account. The carbon footprint of the country’s energy use is currently calculated as a yearly average – even though it varies considerably throughout the day. 

EPFL researchers have now succeeded in performing a more granular calculation using a pan-European database of hourly power generation figures by country over the course of a given year (2015-2016). This breakthrough can give electricity suppliers and consumers more detailed information on how they use this important resource.

The EPFL study shows that the carbon footprint of electricity generated at certain times of day is up to five times higher than estimated. And that’s not all: “Thanks to this data, I know that if I charge my smartphone in the afternoon, for example, I’m more likely to draw on a renewable energy source than if I charge it in the evening,” says Didier Vuarnoz, a co-author of the study along with Thomas Jusselme – both members of Building2050, a research group at the smart living lab in Fribourg. They just published their data in the open-access journal Data in Brief, so that engineers and businesses can use them freely. An initial summary of their research appeared in the 24 July 2018 issue of Energy.

New European database

Switzerland makes some of its own electricity and imports and exports it with France, Germany, Austria and Italy. That makes it hard to know which country the energy used at any given time comes from. Vuarnoz and Jusselme had the idea of using the pan-European database, called the ENTSO-E Transparency Platform, to ascertain this information. Launched in 2015, the database contains hourly records of the electricity flowing between European countries.

The researchers converted the kWh from the database into a carbon equivalent based on the entire life cycle of the electricity source (nuclear, carbon, hydraulic, etc.). Each kWh generated was assigned a certain number of carbon emissions based on whether it originates from fossil fuels or renewable energy. Then they developed a series of graphs that engineers can use to quickly see what kind of energy is consumed in Switzerland on an hourly basis over the course of a year.

New strategies

However, the idea is not to encourage everyone to shift their energy consumption to times of the day when renewable sources predominate – as that would just transfer the problem. Rather, the goal is to develop new strategies for electricity use. Vuarnoz, Jusselme and their colleagues from the smart living lab used their data to publish an article in the August issue of Sustainable Cities and Society that takes the example of a building producing some of its own energy. By walking readers through their example, they illustrate the benefits of having access to hourly energy consumption information.

“I could program my washing machine to run in the afternoon instead of at night, for instance, if I know that my apartment building draws on solar energy in the afternoon,” says Jusselme. “An hour-by-hour view lets you know when you should use the battery-stored power at a building in order to fully leverage the carbon benefits of that energy. For example, if at night you use clean energy stored in a battery instead of power generated at a German coal-fired plant, you can shrink your carbon footprint,” adds Vuarnoz.

The researchers hope their method will prompt consumers and businesses to be more intelligent in when they turn on the power switch. But they still believe more efforts are needed to encourage grid operators to provide more transparent information, so that their method can be improved further.

Swiss version

Similar studies were carried out in France, Belgium, Sweden, and Finland between 2013 and 2015 but using other databases. Vuarnoz and Jusselme’s method is tailored specifically to Switzerland’s intricate electricity-trading system. The next step will be to automate the process of downloading power generation and consumption data in real time, so that trends can be identified from one year to the next and engineers can make reliable carbon-footprint forecasts – much like meteorologists do with weather forecasts.

All this matters because if Switzerland wants to become a 2,000-watt society by 2050 and support the energy transition, its engineers need accurate, reliable methods for calculating the country’s environmental impact and implementing alternatives to fossil fuels. “Our new method promises to be highly effective in helping Switzerland meet its 2050 energy goals. And the limitations of our method highlight the important work that is still needed to better understand Switzerland’s energy-related carbon footprint,” says Jusselme.

References

Vuarnoz, D. Jusselme, T. “Dataset concerning the hourly conversion factors for the cumulative energy demand and its non-renewable part, and hourly GHG emission factors of the Swiss mix during a one year period (2015–2016)”, Data in Brief, 26 October 2018.

Vuarnoz, D. and Jusselme, T. “Temporal variations in the primary energy use and greenhouse gas emissions of electricity provided by the Swiss grid,” Energy, 24 July 2018.

Vuarnoz, D., Cozza, S., Jusselme, T., Magnin, G., Schafer, T., Couty, P. and Niederhauser, E.-L., “Integrating hourly life-cycle energy and carbon emissions of energy supply in buildings,” Sustainable Cities and Society, 29 August 2018.

Contact

Didier Vuarnoz

Building2050 Group
Scientist- EPFL
-low carbon
-modelling, simulations and algorithms
-performance indicators

Thomas Jusselme

Building2050 Group
Project Manager- EPFL
-design and construction processes
-efficient energy strategies and regulation
-low carbon

Media contact

Sandrine Perroud | EPFL Press Service
T: +41 21 693 31 89 | secretary: +41 21 693 22 22

Information

Building2050 Group
ENTSO-E transparency platform

En parvenant à évaluer l’empreinte carbone de l’électricité suisse à l’heure plutôt qu’en moyenne annuelle, des chercheurs de l’EPFL ont ouvert une brèche dans un secteur encore très opaque.

Quelle est l’empreinte carbone d’un kilowattheure consommé en Suisse? La réponse à cette question reste à ce jour difficile à formuler en raison de l’important nombre de variables impliquées dans ce calcul. Actuellement, l’empreinte carbone de l’électricité fournie en Suisse se base sur une moyenne annuelle alors qu’elle varie constamment au fil de la journée. 

Pour la première fois, des chercheurs de l’EPFL ont réussi à affiner ce calcul. Leur méthode? Utiliser une plateforme financière européenne qui calcule la production électrique horaire selon sa provenance durant une année (2015-2016). Cette brèche offre une grille d’analyse plus fine aux fournisseurs et aux consommateurs d’électricité en Suisse.

Cette recherche montre en effet qu’à certaines heures de la journée, l’empreinte carbone est jusqu’à cinq fois sous-évaluée qu’elle ne l’est réellement. Ce n’est pas tout: «Cette analyse nous permet par exemple de savoir que lorsque je charge mon téléphone portable l’après-midi, j’ai plus de chance de tomber sur une ressource renouvelable que le soir», explique Didier Vuarnoz, co-auteur de l’étude avec Thomas Jusselme, tous deux membres du groupe Building2050, installé à Fribourg au sein du smart living lab. Les chercheurs viennent de publier leurs données en libre accès sur la plateforme Data in Brief, pour donner la possibilité aux industriels et ingénieurs de les exploiter librement. Un premier compte-rendu de leur recherche est paru le 24 juillet 2018 dans la revue Energy.

Nouvelle base de données

La Suisse produit une partie de sa propre électricité et en échange avec la France, l’Allemagne, l’Autriche et l’Italie sous forme d’imports et d’exports. Il est ainsi difficile d’y voir clair et de savoir quel pays produit quoi à l’instant t. Les chercheurs ont ainsi eu l’idée d’utiliser une nouvelle base de données européenne afin de mieux comprendre ces échanges. Nommée ENTSO-E transparency platform et accessible depuis 2015, cette plateforme financière comptabilise notamment les flux énergétiques entre chaque pays d’Europe, heure par heure.

Les chercheurs ont traité ces données en convertissant les kilowattheures (kWh) en carbone en se basant sur le cycle de vie de chaque flux. Chaque kWh produit à un moment donné (nucléaire, charbon, hydraulique, etc.) a ainsi hérité d’une quantité d’émissions de carbone en fonction de son origine, fossile ou renouvelable. Les chercheurs ont ensuite développé des visualisations comme outils pour voir rapidement, heure par heure, quel type d’énergie est utilisée à quel moment en Suisse durant une année.

Nouvelles stratégies

L’idée n’est toutefois pas d’encourager tout le monde à se focaliser sur les heures où les énergies renouvelables sont les plus utilisées, ce qui aurait comme résultat de déplacer le problème, précise le chercheur, mais de mieux consommer en développant de nouvelles stratégies. Ces données ont par exemple permis aux chercheurs et leurs collègues du smart living lab de publier d’autres travaux en août dernier dans la revue Sustainable Cities and Society. Cette étude propose en cas d’étude l’exploitation d’un bâtiment qui produirait une partie de sa propre électricité, afin de mieux démontrer la pertinence d’une analyse horaire de la consommation énergétique.

«Ne puis-je pas programmer mon lave-linge pour l’après-midi plutôt que le soir, par exemple, si je sais que l’énergie du bâtiment où je vis est produite par du solaire durant cette période?», illustre Thomas Jusselme. «Cette échelle horaire vise aussi à savoir quand utiliser l’énergie stockée dans son bâtiment afin de rentabiliser l’empreinte carbone de sa batterie. Si j’utilise mon énergie propre stockée dans mes batteries le soir, à la place, par exemple de l’énergie issue des centrales à charbon allemandes, je diminue également mon empreinte carbone», complète Didier Vuarnoz.

Pour les auteurs de l’étude, cette nouvelle information horaire permettra un jour de responsabiliser les individus et les industriels dans leur consommation d’énergie en sachant quand consommer. Un effort de transparence auprès des fournisseurs de réseaux devrait toutefois encore être encouragé pour affiner ce calcul, indiquent les chercheurs.

Version helvétique

D’autres études similaires ont été réalisées en France, en Belgique, en Suède et en Finlande entre 2013 et 2015 à partir d’autres bases de données. Pour le cas suisse, les chercheurs du groupe Building 2050 ont développé une nouvelle méthode de calcul adaptée à la complexité des flux helvétiques. Leur but? Automatiser le processus de téléchargement des données de la production et de la consommation d’électricité en temps réel afin de pouvoir dégager, année après année, les tendances et formuler des prédictions valables en termes d’empreinte carbone. A l’image des prévisions météorologiques.

L’enjeu est de taille: pour atteindre les engagements d’une société à 2000 watts, fixé à 2050, et assurer la transition énergétique, la Suisse doit en effet se doter d’outils précis et fiables pour mieux évaluer son impact sur l’environnement et trouver des alternatives à la consommation d’énergies fossiles. «Ce nouvel outil d’analyse pointe un immense potentiel qui nous permettrait de répondre en partie à la promesse formulée pour 2050, mais souligne également, par ses limites, l’effort qui reste à accomplir pour améliorer nos connaissances sur l’empreinte carbone de l’électricité en Suisse», conclut Thomas Jusselme.

Références

Vuarnoz, D. Jusselme, T. “Dataset concerning the hourly conversion factors for the cumulative energy demand and its non-renewable part, and hourly GHG emission factors of the Swiss mix during a one year period (2015–2016)”, Data in Brief, 26 October 2018.

Vuarnoz, D. and Jusselme, T. “Temporal variations in the primary energy use and greenhouse gas emissions of electricity provided by the Swiss grid,” Energy, 24 July 2018.

Vuarnoz, D., Cozza, S., Jusselme, T., Magnin, G., Schafer, T., Couty, P. and Niederhauser, E.-L., “Integrating hourly life-cycle energy and carbon emissions of energy supply in buildings,” Sustainable Cities and Society, 29 August 2018.

Contact

Didier Vuarnoz

Building2050 Group
Scientist- EPFL
-low carbon
-modelling, simulations and algorithms
-performance indicators

Thomas Jusselme

Building2050 Group
Project Manager- EPFL
-design and construction processes
-efficient energy strategies and regulation
-low carbon

Contact média

Sandrine Perroud | EPFL Press Service
T: +41 21 693 31 89 | secretary: +41 21 693 22 22

Information

Building2050 Group
ENTSO-E transparency platform