Public and private owners wanted

The Structural Xploration Laboratory (SXL) at EPFL is carrying out a research project, funded by the Swiss National Science Foundation (SNF), on the reuse potential of architectural and structural components in the Swiss building stock. This will be made possible by the creation of a large database of buildings located in Switzerland. Any owner wishing to contribute to this research is invited to contact the authors of the study by the end of June.

Reuse consists in employing whole construction elements for a second life cycle in a new building, after they have been dismantled from another building being demolished. Whereas recycling generates new products through energy intensive waste transformations, reuse extends the service life of an existing product by reclaiming it as a whole, exploiting the most out of all its preexisting functional and technical features. It is a circular approach allowing to achieve greater sustainability in the construction industry.

To evaluate the reuse potential in Switzerland, our cities and constructions must be considered as material banks. To localize the elements possibly reusable and foresee their reclamation, a precise knowledge of the Swiss building stock and its different construction typologies has to be developed. This is made possible by the creation of a large database containing drafts and drawings as well as reports on existing or demolished buildings located everywhere in Switzerland.

The SXL is thus looking for private or public owners, businesses or individuals, ready to contribute to this database. The set of studied objects is bounded to residential, office, commercial, and regular industrial buildings. From private house to large warehouse, any building has a potential! To contribute to the database, contact reemploi.suisse@epfl.ch.

Contact

Maléna Bastien Masse

Structural Xploration Lab (SXL)
Scientific Collaborator- EPFL
-low carbon and reusable
-load-bearing systems
-design and construction processes

Information

reemploi.suisse@epfl.ch

TAGs

Propriétaires publics et privés recherchés

Le Structural Xploration Laboratory (SXL) de l’EPFL mène un projet de recherche, financé par le Fonds National Suisse (FNS), sur le potentiel du réemploi d’éléments de construction à grande échelle dans le bâti suisse, à travers la création d'une base de données de bâtiments localisés en Suisse. Tout propriétaire souhaitant contribuer à cette recherche est invité à contacter les auteurs de cette étude jusqu'à fin juin.

Le réemploi consiste en la réutilisation d’un élément de construction dans son ensemble pour un second cycle dans un nouveau bâtiment, après son démontage d’un autre bâtiment en cours de démolition. Contrairement au recyclage qui génère de nouveaux produits par la transformation énergivore de déchets, le réemploi étend la durée d’utilisation des produits existants en exploitant au mieux leurs caractéristiques fonctionnelles et techniques préexistantes, à un coût environnemental minimal. Il s’agit d’une approche circulaire qui permet d’accroître la durabilité de l’industrie de la construction.

Afin d’évaluer le potentiel du réemploi en Suisse, nos villes et nos constructions doivent être perçus comme des réserves de matériaux. Pour mieux localiser les éléments possiblement réutilisables et anticiper leur valorisation, il est essentiel de développer une connaissance fine du patrimoine bâti suisse et de ses différentes typologies. Cela passe par la création d’une base de données alimentée de plans et de rapport techniques de bâtiments existants ou démolis, localisés partout en Suisse.

Le SXL est à la recherche de propriétaires (publics ou privés, entités ou particuliers) qui seraient prêts à contribuer à cette base de données. L’étude porte sur des bâtiments résidentiels, administratifs et commerciaux de même que des bâtiments industriels standards. De la villa à la halle de production, tout immeuble présente un intérêt: pour participer à l’étude et contribuer à la base de données, contacter reemploi.suisse@epfl.ch

Contact

Maléna Bastien Masse

Structural Xploration Lab (SXL)
Scientific Collaborator- EPFL
-low carbon and reusable
-load-bearing systems
-design and construction processes

Information

reemploi.suisse@epfl.ch

ESH Média | Avril 2021

TAGs