Crowdfunding project

In partnership with the Energy and Sustainable Development sector of the City of Fribourg, a team of researchers from the HEIA-FR and the Smart Living Lab is launching a crowdfunding call for the construction and experimentation of a pavilion demonstrating natural methods of cooling for an outdoor public space in summer conditions.

DEMO-MI2 is the abbreviation for «démonstrateur mobile de mesures de mitigation microclimatique estivale à l’échelle de la rue», which means «mobile demonstrator of summer microclimatic mitigation measures at street level». It is a research and development project that aims to build and experiment a modular pavilion with a surface area of ~36 m2 capable of offering more comfortable climatic conditions in public spaces subject to the urban heat island effect in summer.

This project, which began in the spring of 2020, is carried out in partnership between the School of Engineering and Architecture of Fribourg (HEIA-FR) and the «Energy and sustainable development sector» of the City of Fribourg. Our multidisciplinary team is made up of:

  • Marc Vonlanthen, physicist and associate prof.
  • Jean-Michaël Taillebois, architect and scientific collaborator
  • André Rotzetta, ing. electrician and associate prof.
  • Raphaël Compagnon, ing. physicist and associate prof.
  • Matias Cesari, architect and scientific collaborator
  • Aline Hayoz-Andrey, environmental engineer and sustainable development manager
  • Noemie Dick, nature and environment project manager and project coordinator

In June 2021, the pavilion will be set up for the first time at the end of Boulevard de Pérolles on the asphalt square between the long building of the University of Fribourg and that of the HEIA-FR. This location is interesting because the summer climatic conditions can become very uncomfortable there since the site is strongly exposed to solar radiation, has little vegetation and is protected from draughts. The pavilion will remain on this site for a few weeks during which the public will be able to freely come and experience the cooling effect it will provide.

+information on the Wemakeit crowdfunding

Contact

Raphaël Compagnon

TRANSFORM Institute
Professor- HEIA-FR
-spatial analysis or planning
-efficient energy strategies and regulation
-renewable energy

Marc Vonlanthen

ENERGY Institute
Professor- HEIA-FR
-modeling, simulations and algorithms
-environmental awareness
-renewable energy

Information

TAGs

Financement participatif

En partenariat avec le secteur Énergie et Développement durable de la Ville de Fribourg, une équipe de chercheurs et chercheuses de la HEIA-FR et du Smart Living Lab lance un appel à financement participatif pour la construction et l'expérimentation d'un pavillon de démonstration des moyens naturels de rafraîchissement d’un espace public extérieur en conditions estivales.

DEMO-MI2 est l’abréviation de «démonstrateur mobile de mesures de mitigation microclimatique estivale à l’échelle de la rue». Il s'agit un projet de recherche et développement qui vise à construire et expérimenter un pavillon modulaire d’une surface de ~36 m2 capable d’offrir des conditions climatiques plus confortables dans l’espace public lorsque l’effet d’îlot de chaleur urbain se manifeste avec vigueur en été.

Ce projet entamé au printemps 2020 est mené en partenariat entre la Haute école d’ingénierie et d’architecture de Fribourg (HEIA-FR) et le «Secteur énergie et développement durable» de la Ville de Fribourg. Notre équipe pluridisciplinaire se compose de:

  • Marc Vonlanthen, physicien et prof. associé
  • Jean-Michaël Taillebois, architecte et collaborateur scientifique
  • André Rotzetta, ing. électricien et prof. associé
  • Raphaël Compagnon, ing. physicien et prof. associé
  • Matias Cesari, architecte et collaborateur scientifique
  • Aline Hayoz-Andrey, ing. en environnement et chargée du développement durable
  • Noemie Dick, cheffe de projet nature et environnement et coordinatrice de projets

Au mois de juin 2021, le pavillon sera monté pour la première fois au bout du Boulevard de Pérolles sur la place goudronnée entre le long bâtiment de l’Université de Fribourg et celui de la HEIA-FR. Cet emplacement est intéressant car les conditions climatiques estivales peuvent y devenir très inconfortables puisque le site est fortement exposé au rayonnement solaire, peu végétalisé et protégé des courants d’air. Le pavillon restera sur cet emplacement quelques semaines durant lesquelles le public pourra librement venir expérimenter l’effet de rafraîchissement qu’il procurera.

+ d'information sur la campagne de financement participatif Wemakeit

Contact

Raphaël Compagnon

TRANSFORM Institute
Professor- HEIA-FR
-spatial analysis or planning
-efficient energy strategies and regulation
-renewable energy

Marc Vonlanthen

ENERGY Institute
Professor- HEIA-FR
-modeling, simulations and algorithms
-environmental awareness
-renewable energy

Information

TAGs