Interview

Mandy Juillerat is a Master’s student in life sciences and an academic associate at the School of Engineering and Architecture of Fribourg (HEIA-FR). Her innovative aquaponics project is being developed with support from the Student Incubator Programme at the Smart Living Lab.

How did your project begin?

In April 2019 I was working on a hydroponics project under Professor M. Dabros of the ChemTech Institute. It was exactly the kind of practical research project with real-world applications that I wanted to become a part of when I enrolled in engineering school (after a bilingual baccalaureate with a specialization in Latin).

"As my prototype was taking shape, I heard about the Student Incubator Programme. I sent in my application, and it paid off"

One day, while discussing Prof. Dabros’s project, one of my colleagues mentioned aquaponics (read Mandy Juillerat’s next answer to learn more about aquaponics). I was immediately fascinated by the subject and spent the rest of the day doing research on it. That same evening, I called my parents to ask, “Would you be interested in growing vegetables in our garden using fish tanks?” Armed with diagrams and youtube videos, I convinced them to give up a few square meters of garden space for the project. Then, some time later, as my prototype was taking shape, I heard about the Smart Living Lab’s Student Incubator Programme. Why not try my luck? I sent in my application, and it paid off.

What was it about aquaponics that won you over?

Aquaponics is a truly sustainable system of food production. I believe it offers concrete solutions to some of the most urgent environmental challenges confronting our society today.

Aquaponics is a cultivation technique combining hydroculture and fish farming. In aquaponics, as in hydroponics, plants are not grown in the ground, but on a substrate irrigated with a mixture of water and nutrients. While in hydroponics the nutrients come from chemical fertilizers, in aquaponics it is the fish farming system that will enrich the water with nutrients. In fact, fish faeces will be transformed by a set of bacteria until it can be assimilated by plants. At the same time, the plants clean the water from the fish, which allows for more intensive farming.

In simpler terms, aquaponics brings together fish farming and soilless plant cultivation: fish tanks provide nutrient-rich water to grow fruits, vegetables, and aromatic herbs. The environmental dividends of such a system are enormous. Compared to traditional agriculture, aquaponics eliminates the need for irrigation water and chemical fertilizers. It frees up cultivated land, and is easy to implement in an urban environment.

All things considered, aquaponics is a more balanced form of agricultural production, perfectly suited to meet the demands of demographic growth, urbanization, and climate change. It maximizes the use of space and preserves natural resources. It increases our capacity to produce high-quality food, and allows us to do so locally. The current health crisis has brought the issue of local food production to the front of the agenda. Many Swiss people feel that the country urgently needs to take steps towards food self-sufficiency. For that to happen, sustainable production techniques such as aquaponics have to be developed.

"I believe aquaponics offers concrete solutions to some of the most urgent environmental challenges confronting our society today"

Once I learned about aquaponics’ many advantages, I asked myself why it was not being used more widely. Since I had the necessary engineering skills and knowledge, I set myself the goal of analyzing each of the mechanisms involved in aquaponics in order to get a deeper understanding of the entire system. My main aim was, and still is, to prove that aquaponics can be implemented on a large scale here in Switzerland, in our very gardens.

The first stage of the project was to create my own aquaponics system. I set up a 400L rearing tank for fifteen red fish in a corner of my parents’ garden, and then installed two aquaponic cultivation systems. Using engineering methods, I began to determine the factors that influence the growth of plants and fish.

It is amazing to see what nature is capable of, to witness natural equilibrium at work! I love going to the greenhouse every day to see the new sprouts coming up. But soon I realized that aquaponics systems are difficult to master. Making them work efficiently poses several technical challenges.

What challenges are you trying to overcome?

It has been challenging, but also exciting, to develop a project in a research field that is still emerging. I have to review my work constantly in light of new findings, and every step forward seems to unlock a new set of challenges. I learn something new every day.

The prototype in my parents’ garden has been operational for a few months now. Last autumn I was able to harvest some vegetables—tomatoes, lettuce, and bell peppers. After a pause for winter, I restarted the system in spring 2020. My plants again grew rapidly, and in June I was able to pluck the first strawberries!

"I love going to the greenhouse every day to see the new sprouts coming up"

I have reached my first objectives, but this is by no means the end of the project. I am currently installing measuring devices that will make it easier to analyze parameters that influence the system, particularly the properties of water in the rearing tank and air in the interior of the greenhouse. The collected data should make it possible to optimize the system further.

What concrete plans do you have for the project?

My next objective is to build a second, more compact prototype, an “aquaponics cabinet” for indoor use, like a piece of furniture that can be kept even inside an apartment. The idea is to make it possible to grow aromatic herbs indoors, year-round.

This of course requires dealing with new set of technical challenges. A small volume of water is more difficult to manage due to the low inertia of the system. In addition, creating an aquaponics system that is not only efficient but also aesthetically pleasing implies a different design process and a new component layout.

"Ideally, I would like aquaponics to become well established in Switzerland"

Ideally, I would like aquaponics to become well established in Switzerland. I picture aquaponics systems everywhere: in fish farms, on rooftops, and inside apartments. I am convinced that, in combination with other agricultural techniques, aquaponics represents one of the best ways to increase local food production, and to do so in a sustainable way. There is obviously still a lot to be done, but we are taking the first steps... and planting the first seeds.

Interview: Sofia Marazzi, HEIA-FR

Contact

Jean-Philippe Bacher

Head of ENERGY Institute / Smart Living Lab HEIA-FR Manager
Professor / Technology Transfer Manager- HEIA-FR
-efficient energy strategies and regulation
-smart houses or cities
-technology transfer

Information

Student Incubator

Info session: 02.11.2020 | 11:30 | Zoom
Submission deadline: 15.11.2020
Pitch your project session: 09.12.2020

"The Student Incubator is a programme set up by the Smart Living Lab to help students get their project off the ground. This program offered me not only financial support, but also managerial support. On top of that, participation in the program gave credibility to my project and contributed to its valorization. Feeling supported has been a real motivation booster for me!" Mandy Juillerat

Gallery

TAGs

Interview

Mandy Juillerat, étudiante en master de sciences de la vie et collaboratrice scientifique à la Haute école d’ingénierie et d’architecture de Fribourg (HEIA-FR), a développé un projet d’aquaponie avec le soutien du programme Student Incubator du Smart Living Lab.

Comment ce projet d'aquaponie est-il né?

J’ai découvert l’aquaponie en avril 2019, quand j’ai commencé à travailler sur un projet de cultures hydroponiques, mené par le Professeur M. Dabros à l’Institut ChemTech (HEIA-FR). C’est exactement ce que je recherchais lorsque – en changeant complètement de voie après une maturité fédérale bilingue avec l’option principale latin – j’ai choisi d’étudier le lien avec la pratique et l’expérience sur le terrain à la Haute école d’ingénierie et d’architecture de Fribourg.

"Alors que mon prototype prenait forme, j’ai entendu parler du Student Incubator: j’ai tenté ma chance, et cela a payé!"

En discutant de ce projet avec une collègue, elle m’a parlé de l’aquaponie, qui est une variante de l’hydroponie. J’ai tout de suite été séduite par le concept!  J’ai fait quelques recherches et, le soir même, en rentrant chez moi, j’ai appelé mes parents: « Hey, cela vous dirait qu’on fasse pousser des légumes avec des poissons? ». Avec des vidéos Youtube et des schémas, je les ai convaincus de consacrer quelques mètres carrés de notre jardin à ce projet. Alors que mon prototype prenait gentiment forme, j’ai entendu parler du programme Student Incubator du Smart Living Lab: j’ai tenté ma chance, et cela a payé!

Pourquoi cette technique de culture a-t-elle de quoi séduire?

L’aquaponie est à mes yeux une solution de culture maraîchère durable, qui répond parfaitement aux défis environnementaux auxquels nous sommes actuellement confrontés.

L'aquaponie est une technique de culture alliant l'hydroculture et la pisciculture. En aquaponie, comme en hydroponie, les plantes ne sont pas cultivées dans la terre, mais sur un substrat irrigué par un mélange d'eau et de nutriments. Si en hydroponie les nutriments proviennent d'engrais chimiques, en aquaponie, c'est le système de pisciculture qui va enrichir l'eau en nutriments. En effet, les déjections des poissons vont être transformées par un ensemble de bactéries jusqu'à être assimilable par les plantes. Par la même occasion, les plantes nettoient l'eau des poissons, ce qui permet un élevage plus intensif.

En des termes plus simples, il s’agit d’une combinaison de pisciculture et de culture hors-sol : l’eau de pisciculture, chargée en nutriment par les excréments des poissons, est utilisée pour faire pousser des fruits, des légumes et des herbes aromatiques. Par rapport à la culture maraîchère traditionnelle, l’aquaponie permet ainsi d’économiser l’eau d’arrosage tout en limitant l’utilisation d’engrais chimiques. De plus, elle ne requiert pas de terrain cultivable et peut être facilement développée en milieu urbain.

"L’aquaponie est une solution de culture maraîchère durable, qui répond parfaitement aux défis environnementaux actuels"

Elle est, en somme, une version moderne de la production agricole, qui permet d’économiser des ressources naturelles, mais également de l’espace. Elle est ainsi parfaitement adaptée à un grand nombre de défis actuels – la croissance démographique, l’urbanisation, l’urgence écologique, l’approvisionnement en denrées alimentaires de bonne qualité – et représente une solution idéale pour une production plus locale. En rapport avec la crise sanitaire actuelle, il me semble par ailleurs essentiel que la Suisse soit capable de subvenir à ses propres besoins en termes de denrées alimentaires dans un avenir proche.

Lorsque j’ai découvert l’aquaponie et ses nombreux avantages, je me suis alors demandé pour quelle raison elle n’était pas encore très pratiquée. Puisque mes études m’avaient fourni les connaissances et les compétences nécessaires, j’ai – peut-être naïvement – ressenti le devoir d’essayer d’en comprendre tous les mécanismes, ma principale motivation étant de montrer qu’elle peut être mise en œuvre chez nous, en Suisse, dans nos jardins.

"J’adore me rendre tous les jours dans la serre pour observer chaque nouvelle feuille"

La première étape de mon projet était la création d’un système aquaponique au fond de mon jardin: j’ai installé un aquarium de 400L avec une quinzaine de poissons rouges et deux systèmes de cultures aquaponiques. Dans une optique d’ingénierie, je voulais commencer par comprendre ce qui influençait le développement des plantes et des poissons et ainsi optimiser le système.

C’est impressionnant de constater tout ce que la nature sait faire, comment tout cet équilibre fonctionne! J’adore me rendre tous les jours dans la serre pour observer chaque nouvelle feuille qui a poussé. Mais je me suis rapidement rendu compte que l’aquaponie pose également de nombreuses difficultés techniques et n’est pas simple à apprivoiser.

Quels sont les défis auxquels vous essayez de répondre?

Tout d’abord, développer un projet tout entier sur un sujet que l’on est en train de découvrir, c’est une démarche passionnante. J’ai dû sans arrêt remettre en question le travail déjà réalisé et chercher de nouvelles solutions aux défis qui se présentaient. J’apprends encore beaucoup tous les jours.

Le prototype que j’ai construit dans mon jardin est fonctionnel depuis quelques mois maintenant, j’ai même déjà récolté quelques légumes – des tomates, des salades, des poivrons – à la fin de l’automne passé. Au printemps 2020, le système avait déjà redémarré, les plantes se sont développées rapidement, et en juin j’avais déjà récolté mes premières fraises!

J’ai ainsi atteint le premier objectif que je m’étais fixée, mais le projet se poursuit. Je suis actuellement en train d’installer des appareils de mesure dans la serre, qui devront m’aider à comprendre plus en détail les paramètres qui influencent le système, et notamment l’impact de certaines propriétés de l’eau du bassin, ainsi que de l’air à l’intérieur de la serre. J’espère que les données récoltées me permettront de l’optimiser encore davantage.

Quelles sont aujourd’hui les perspectives concrètes?

Je souhaite maintenant construire un deuxième prototype plus compact, un « meuble aquaponique », dans le but de prouver qu’il est possible de réaliser des cultures en aquaponie même en intérieur et en appartement. Dans l’idéal, ce meuble permettra de cultiver tout au long de l’année diverses plantes aromatiques.

"Dans l’idéal, je souhaiterais que l’aquaponie soit plus répandue en Suisse"

Cela signifie bien évidemment résoudre de nouveaux défis. Tout d’abord, un volume d’eau réduit va être beaucoup plus difficile à gérer, car l’inertie du système est plus petite. Ensuite, je voudrais créer un meuble qui allie fonctionnalité et esthétisme, ce qui implique de concevoir différemment l’agencement des éléments.

Dans l’idéal, je souhaiterais que l’aquaponie soit plus répandue en Suisse. J’imagine qu’on pourra l’utiliser dans des piscicultures, sur les toits des bâtiments, dans des appartements. Je suis persuadée que, couplée avec d’autres techniques agricoles, l’aquaponie représente un excellent moyen de subvenir à nos besoins en denrées alimentaires. Evidemment, je me rends bien compte qu’il y a encore un long chemin à parcourir, mais nous pouvons déjà faire les premiers pas et planter les premières graines...

Interview: Sofia Marazzi, HEIA-FR

Contact

Jean-Philippe Bacher

Head of ENERGY Institute / Smart Living Lab HEIA-FR Manager
Professor / Technology Transfer Manager- HEIA-FR
-efficient energy strategies and regulation
-smart houses or cities
-technology transfer

Information

Student Incubator

Info session: 02.11.2020 | 11:30 | Zoom
Submission deadline: 15.11.2020
Pitch your project session: 09.12.2020

"Le Student Incubator est un programme mis en place par le Smart Living Lab pour aider les étudiants à mettre leur projet sur pied. Ce programme m'a offert non seulement un soutien financier, mais également un soutien managérial. De plus, la participation au programme a donné de la crédibilité au projet et a participé à sa valorisation. Me sentir soutenue a été pour moi un véritable booster de motivation!" Mandy Juillerat

Galerie

TAGs