Thomas Jusselme, Associate Professor in Energy Efficiency in Buildings

Thomas Jusselme was appointed associate professor in energy efficiency in buildings at the smart living lab’s ENERGY Institute. Since the beginning of this semester, he teaches “Renewable energies” and “Building physics” at the School of Engineering and Architecture of Fribourg (HEIA-FR). He will continue to work until the end of 2019 within the Building2050 Group, in order to achieve his research activities regarding the future building of the smart living lab. As of 2020, he will join full time the ENERGY Institute to support its projects on low carbon and low energy building design.

You know the smart living lab pretty well, since you joined in 2014, at the very beginning of the project. What are your thoughts on this interdisciplinary research center?

It is true that we came a long way since our time spent at the Route de la Fonderie, where we started together with Anne-Claude Cosandey and Veronica Cubarle! The smart living lab started as a vision full of promises, whose implementation, although exciting, is very challenging. The experimental, interdisciplinary, and inter-institutional nature of the project, driven by the idea of “living lab”, will grant it for sure a place on a national and international stages. As a researcher, I have the privilege to be in contact with researchers from other domains with whom we share common interests.

How important is research in your teaching?

I had the opportunity to teach 7 years before joining the EPFL, but with little research activities. Later, with the Building2050 Group, it was the opposite: I devoted all my energy to developing the research program preceding the construction of the future smart living lab building. As a result, I now realize I need a certain balance between these two activities, as they are interwoven. Teaching allows to step back and think on our work, and build a well-structured speech, where students are the mirror of our capacity to deliver knowledge. Conversely, research contributes significantly to update our teachings, and to ensure that students have a vision of the issues they will need to tackle in the future.

Alongside with your academic work, you also launched a start-up. Could you explain the gap between these two activities ?

It is actually the other way round. I was an entrepreneur before joining the academic world, which is itself a kind of discrepancy. I co-founded an architectural and an engineering practice when I was 25, which forced me to quickly learn different areas, not only the expertise, but also business management. But after ten years, I felt the need to get more seriously involved in innovation for sustainable construction, and to change the way I work. The mission I was offered by the EPFL within the Building2050 group, was a wonderful opportunity for me to explore this desire. In addition, I could start working on my thesis, which led to a technological transfer between EPFL and a start-up I co-founded. It was to me the logical flow of my career, as I felt the need to anchor my work in research, and to confront them to field reality. As a teacher and researcher, I would like to associate practice and research on the long run.

What research activity related to the built environment of the future would you like to pursue?

I focus my work on improving the energy performance / carbon in the construction sector. My first line of work takes the building into account as a whole, with a more holistic view, either in terms of a life-cycle approach, or a multi-purpose approach. I try to integrate the flow and matter that fall within the building system. This needs a change of perspective, since buildings performance was long considered through its use phase only and not for all its energy demand. Buildings become more and more efficient, it is therefore necessary to implement a global analysis to avoid pollution transfer, for instance, between energy demand and gray energy. My second line of work consists in making this holistic approach easily accessible from the very beginning of the design process, since that is exactly where the need of research and development lies. Indeed, this stage of financially high-risk projects for building owners does not offer the resources needed to integrate extensive engineering studies, and it is a vital design phase that will determine the sustainability of the project. These two areas are really exciting, since they bridge many different disciplines, specially architecture, building physics/structural physics, statistics, mechanical engineering, data-visualization, machine learning, etc.

What do you do when you are not teaching or doing research?

At present, I devote 20% of my time to my start-up, called Combo Solutions. I also try to spend as much time as I can with my partner and our three children. We love the mountains in Fribourg, and travelling with the whole family. I also play the trumpet every week in the Big-Band of the Conservatory of Music of Fribourg.

Contact

Thomas Jusselme

Associate Professor ENERGY Institute
Researcher Building2050 Group- EPFL
-design and construction processes
-efficient energy strategies and regulation
-low carbon

Information

ENERGY Institute
Building2050 Group

Thomas Jusselme © Thomas Delley

Thomas Jusselme, Professeur associé en Efficience Energétique du Bâtiment

Thomas Jusselme a été nommé Professeur associé en efficience énergétique du bâtiment à l’Institut ENERGY du smart living lab. Depuis ce semestre, il enseigne les matières “Energies renouvelables” et “Physiques du bâtiment” à la Haute école d’ingénierie et d’architecture de Fribourg (HEIA-FR). Jusqu’à fin 2019, il continue à travailler au sein du Groupe Building2050, afin de finaliser ses activités de recherche liées au futur bâtiment du smart living lab. En 2020, il rejoindra l’Institut ENERGY à temps complet pour participer à ses projets sur la conception de bâtiments à faible consommation énergétique et teneur en carbone.

Vous connaissez bien le smart living lab pour y travailler depuis 2014. Que vous inspire ce centre de recherche interdisciplinaire ?

C’est vrai que l’on a parcouru beaucoup de chemin depuis les bureaux de la Fonderie ou nous étions au début avec Anne-Claude Cosandey et Veronica Cubarle ! Le smart living lab est parti d’une vision pleine de promesses, et leurs mises en œuvre s’avère passionnante même si les défis à relever sont de taille. L’interdisciplinarité, l’inter-institutionnalité et le caractère expérimental induit par la notion de living lab en font un lieu qui le placeront inévitablement sur la scène nationale et internationale. Donc en tant que chercheur, ce que je retiens c’est avant tout une chance unique d’avoir des contacts privilégiés avec des chercheurs d’autres domaines au travers d’objets de recherche communs.

Quelle est l’importance de la recherche pour votre enseignement ?

J’ai déjà eu la chance d’enseigner 7 ans avant de venir à l’EPFL, mais avec très peu d’activités de recherche. Ensuite, avec le groupe Building2050 c’était l’inverse : j’ai consacré tout mon énergie à développer le programme de recherche préalable à la construction du futur bâtiment qui hébergera le smart living lab. A la suite de ces deux expériences, je constate qu’un équilibre est pour moi nécessaire entre ces deux activités car elles se nourrissent l’une et l’autre. L’enseignement permet de prendre du recul sur ses travaux, de construire un discours structuré où les étudiants constituent le miroir de notre capacité à faire passer un savoir. A l’inverse, la recherche est fondamentale pour mettre à jour nos enseignements et garantir aux étudiants d’avoir une vision des enjeux de demain qu’ils devront maîtriser.

En parallèle de votre carrière académique, vous avez aussi monté votre start-up. Expliquez-nous ce grand écart.

En fait, c’est plutôt l’inverse. J’ai été un entrepreneur avant de rejoindre le monde académique, ce qui reste quand-même un grand écart. J’ai cofondé un bureau d’architecture et un bureau d’ingénierie à 25 ans, ce qui m’a obligé d’apprendre très vite dans plusieurs domaines, de l’expertise métier au management de l’entreprise. Mais après 10 ans, j’ai ressenti le besoin de m’investir plus sérieusement dans l’innovation pour la construction durable, et de changer la façon dont je faisais mon métier. La mission qui m’a été proposée par l’EPFL au sein de Building2050 était pour moi un cadre formidable pour explorer cette envie. En marge de ces travaux, j’ai pu m’investir dans un travail de thèse, qui a abouti à un transfert technologique entre l’EPFL et une start-up que j’ai cofondée. Pour moi, c’est la suite logique de mon parcours car je ressens le besoin d’ancrer mes travaux dans la recherche, et de les confronter ensuite à la réalité du terrain. Comme enseignant et chercheur, je souhaite associer recherche et pratique sur la durée.

Quelle activité de recherche souhaitez-vous mener sur la question de l’habitat du futur?

Je focalise mes travaux sur l’amélioration de la performance énergie/carbone du secteur de la construction. Mon premier axe de travail considère le bâtiment dans son ensemble avec une vision holistique, que ce soit en termes d’approche cycle de vie ou d’approche multi-objectifs. Je m’efforce ainsi d’intégrer tous les flux et la matière qui rentrent dans les frontières du système bâtiment. Cela nécessite de changer de perspective car longtemps la performance des bâtiments n’a été considérée que par usage, et encore, pour quelques postes de consommation seulement. Les bâtiments devenant de plus en plus performants, il est nécessaire maintenant de mettre en œuvre une analyse globale pour éviter les transferts de pollutions entre énergies d’usages et énergies grises, par exemple. Mon deuxième axe de travail consiste à rendre accessible cette approche holistique dès les premières étapes du processus de conception, car c’est là qu’il y a un réel besoin de recherche et développement. En effet, cette étape des projets à haut risque financier pour les maîtres d’ouvrages n’offre pas de moyens suffisants pour intégrer des études d’ingénierie poussées, et c’est pourtant une phase de conception cruciale qui va déterminer le potentiel de durabilité du projet. Ces deux axes de travail sont passionnants, car ils nécessitent de faire le pont entre de nombreuses disciplines, notamment l’architecture, la physique du bâtiment, les statistiques, le génie mécanique, la data-visualisation, le machine learning, etc.

Que faites-vous en dehors de la recherche et l’enseignement?

Je consacre actuellement 20% de mon taux d’activité à ma start-up Combo Solutions. Par ailleurs, j’essaie d’accorder un maximum de temps à ma compagne et à mes trois enfants. On profite des montagnes fribourgeoises et on adore voyager en famille. Je joue également de la trompette jazz toutes les semaines dans le Big-Band du Conservatoire de Fribourg.

Contact

Thomas Jusselme

Associate Professor ENERGY Institute
Researcher Building2050 Group- EPFL
-design and construction processes
-efficient energy strategies and regulation
-low carbon

Information

ENERGY Institute
Building2050 Group

Thomas Jusselme © Thomas Delley