Thomas Jusselme, Associate Professor in Energy Efficiency in Buildings

Thomas Jusselme was appointed associate professor in energy efficiency in buildings at the smart living lab’s ENERGY Institute. Since the beginning of this semester, he teaches “Renewable energies” and “Building physics” at the School of Engineering and Architecture of Fribourg (HEIA-FR). He will continue to work until the end of 2019 within the Building2050 Group, in order to achieve his research activities regarding the future building of the smart living lab. As of 2020, he will join full time the ENERGY Institute to support its projects on low carbon and low energy building design.

You know the smart living lab pretty well, since you joined in 2014, at the very beginning of the project. What are your thoughts on this interdisciplinary research center?

It is true that we came a long way since our time spent at the Route de la Fonderie, where we started together with Anne-Claude Cosandey and Veronica Cubarle! The smart living lab started as a vision full of promises, whose implementation, although exciting, is very challenging. The experimental, interdisciplinary, and inter-institutional nature of the project, driven by the idea of “living lab”, will grant it for sure a place on a national and international stages. As a researcher, I have the privilege to be in contact with researchers from other domains with whom we share common interests.

How important is research in your teaching?

I had the opportunity to teach 7 years before joining the EPFL, but with little research activities. Later, with the Building2050 Group, it was the opposite: I devoted all my energy to developing the research program preceding the construction of the future smart living lab building. As a result, I now realize I need a certain balance between these two activities, as they are interwoven. Teaching allows to step back and think on our work, and build a well-structured speech, where students are the mirror of our capacity to deliver knowledge. Conversely, research contributes significantly to update our teachings, and to ensure that students have a vision of the issues they will need to tackle in the future.

Alongside with your academic work, you also launched a start-up. Could you explain the gap between these two activities ?

It is actually the other way round. I was an entrepreneur before joining the academic world, which is itself a kind of discrepancy. I co-founded an architectural and an engineering practice when I was 25, which forced me to quickly learn different areas, not only the expertise, but also business management. But after ten years, I felt the need to get more seriously involved in innovation for sustainable construction, and to change the way I work. The mission I was offered by the EPFL within the Building2050 group, was a wonderful opportunity for me to explore this desire. In addition, I could start working on my thesis, which led to a technological transfer between EPFL and a start-up I co-founded. It was to me the logical flow of my career, as I felt the need to anchor my work in research, and to confront them to field reality. As a teacher and researcher, I would like to associate practice and research on the long run.

What research activity related to the built environment of the future would you like to pursue?

I focus my work on improving the energy performance / carbon in the construction sector. My first line of work takes the building into account as a whole, with a more holistic view, either in terms of a life-cycle approach, or a multi-purpose approach. I try to integrate the flow and matter that fall within the building system. This needs a change of perspective, since buildings performance was long considered through its use phase only and not for all its energy demand. Buildings become more and more efficient, it is therefore necessary to implement a global analysis to avoid pollution transfer, for instance, between energy demand and gray energy. My second line of work consists in making this holistic approach easily accessible from the very beginning of the design process, since that is exactly where the need of research and development lies. Indeed, this stage of financially high-risk projects for building owners does not offer the resources needed to integrate extensive engineering studies, and it is a vital design phase that will determine the sustainability of the project. These two areas are really exciting, since they bridge many different disciplines, specially architecture, building physics/structural physics, statistics, mechanical engineering, data-visualization, machine learning, etc.

What do you do when you are not teaching or doing research?

At present, I devote 20% of my time to my start-up, called Combo Solutions. I also try to spend as much time as I can with my partner and our three children. We love the mountains in Fribourg, and travelling with the whole family. I also play the trumpet every week in the Big-Band of the Conservatory of Music of Fribourg.

Contact

Thomas Jusselme

Associate Professor ENERGY Institute
Researcher Building2050 Group- EPFL
-design and construction processes
-efficient energy strategies and regulation
-low carbon

Information

ENERGY Institute
Building2050 Group

Thomas Jusselme © Thomas Delley

Thomas Jusselme, assoziierter Professor für Energieeffizienz von Gebäuden

Thomas Jusselme wurde zum assoziierten Professor für Gebäude-Energieeffizienz am Institut ENERGY des Smart Living Lab ernannt. Seit diesem Semester unterrichtet er die Fächer "Erneuerbare Energien" und "Bauphysik" an der Hochschule für Technik und Architektur Freiburg (HTA-FR). Bis Ende 2019 arbeitet er weiterhin innerhalb der Building2050 Group, um seine Forschungsaktivitäten im Zusammenhang mit dem zukünftigen Gebäude des Smart Living Lab abzuschliessen. Im Jahr 2020 wird er vollzeitlich dem Institut ENERGY beitreten, um an dessen Projekten zur Gestaltung von Gebäuden mit niedrigem Energieverbrauch und tiefem Kohlenstoffgehalt teilzunehmen.

Sie kennen das Smart Living Lab gut und arbeiten schon seit 2014 dort. Wie inspiriert Sie dieses interdisziplinäre Forschungszentrum?

Ja, seit den Anfängen mit Anne-Claude Cosandey et Veronica Cubarle in den Büros an der Route de la Fonderie haben wir einiges aufgegleist! Das Smart Living Lab ging von einer vielversprechenden Vision aus, und die Umsetzung ist spannend, auch wenn die zu bewältigenden Herausforderungen sehr gross sind. Die Interdisziplinarität, Interinstitutionalität und der experimentelle Charakter eines Living-Lab-Konzeptes machen es zu einem Forschungsstandort von nationaler und internationaler Bedeutung. Was ich als Forscher hier schätze, ist vor allem die einzigartige Gelegenheit, über gemeinsame Forschungsobjekte privilegierte Kontakte zu Forscherteams aus anderen Bereichen pflegen zu können.

Wie wichtig ist die Forschung für Ihre Lehre?

Ich hatte bereits 7 Jahre lang die Möglichkeit zu lehren, bevor ich zur EPFL kam, jedoch mit sehr geringer Forschungsaktivität. Bei der Gruppe Building2050 war es dann umgekehrt: Ich habe meine ganze Energie in die Entwicklung des Forschungsprogramms des Gebäudes für das Smart Living Lab gesteckt. Als Ergebnis dieser beiden Erfahrungen stelle ich fest, dass für mich ein Gleichgewicht zwischen diesen beiden Aktivitäten notwendig ist; die Lehre inspiriert die Forschung und umgekehrt. Die Lehre ermöglicht es uns, ein bisschen Abstand zu nehmen und einen strukturierten Diskurs aufzubauen. Von den Studierenden erhalten wir dann Feedback über unsere Fähigkeit zur Wissensvermittlung. Auf der anderen Seite ist die Forschung von grundlegender Bedeutung, um unsere Lehre auf den neuesten Stand zu bringen und sicherzustellen, dass die Studierenden eine Vision der Herausforderungen von morgen haben und über entsprechende Lösungsansätze verfügen.

Neben Ihrer akademischen Laufbahn haben Sie auch ein eigenes Start-up-Unternehmen gegründet. Wie lässt sich das kombinieren?

Eigentlich ist es genau das Gegenteil. Ich war Unternehmer, bevor ich in eine akademische Laufbahn einschlug. Im Alter von 25 Jahren war ich Mitbegründer eines Architektur- und Ingenieurbüros, was mich zwang, sehr schnell in verschiedenen Bereichen zu lernen, vom beruflichen Fachwissen bis zur Unternehmensführung. Aber nach 10 Jahren spürte ich den Drang, mich vermehrt in Innovationen für nachhaltiges Bauen zu investieren und meine Arbeitsweise zu ändern. Die mir von der EPFL vorgeschlagene Mission im Rahmen von Building2050 war für mich die ideale Gelegenheit dafür. Neben diesem Auftrag konnte ich mich in eine Doktorarbeit vertiefen, die zu einem Technologietransfer zwischen der EPFL und einem von mir mitbegründeten Start-up führte. Für mich ist dies die logische und notwendige Fortsetzung meiner beruflichen Tätigkeit: Zuerst die Arbeit in der Forschung verankern und sie dann mit der Realität vor Ort zu konfrontieren. Als Lehrperson und Forscher möchte ich Forschung und Praxis dauerhaft miteinander verbinden.

Welche Forschungstätigkeit möchten Sie im Bereich Wohnformen der Zukunft durchführen?

Ich konzentriere meine Arbeit auf die Verbesserung der Energie-/Kohlenstoffbilanz in der Baubranche. Meine erste Forschungsachse betrachtet das Gebäude mit einer ganzheitlichen Vision, sei es in Form eines Lebenszyklus- oder Mehrzweckansatzes. Auf diese Weise versuche ich, alle Stoff- und Energieströme zu integrieren, die in die Systemgrenzen des Gebäudes einfliessen. Dies erfordert einen Perspektivenwechsel, denn lange Zeit wurde die Effizienz von Gebäuden nur während seiner Nutzung berücksichtigt. Da Gebäude immer effizienter werden, ist es nun notwendig, eine gesamtheitliche Analyse durchzuführen, um beispielsweise Transfers von Schadstoffen zwischen Nutzungsenergien und grauen Energien zu vermeiden. Meine zweite Forschungsachse ist es, diesen ganzheitlichen Ansatz bereits in der Frühphase des Planungsprozesses zugänglich zu machen, denn dort besteht ein echter Bedarf an Forschung und Entwicklung. Tatsächlich bietet diese Projektphase mit hohem finanziellem Risiko für die Bauherrschaft nicht genügend Ressourcen, um fundierte Ingenieurstudien zu integrieren; doch genau diese Projektphase ist die wichtigste für ein nachhaltiges Bauwerk. Diese beiden Achsen sind spannend, da sie das Zusammenführen vieler Disziplinen wie Architektur, Bauphysik, Statistik, Maschinentechnik, Datenvisualisierung, Machine Learning, usw. erfordern

Was machen Sie ausserhalb von Forschung und Lehre?

Derzeit widme ich 20% meiner Berufstätigkeit meinem Start-up Combo Solutions. Ausserdem versuche ich, so viel Zeit wie möglich mit meiner Partnerin und meinen drei Kindern zu verbringen. Wir geniessen die Freiburger Berge und reisen gerne. Ich spiele auch jede Woche Jazztrompete in der Big-Band des Konservatoriums Freiburg.

Kontakt

Thomas Jusselme

Associate Professor ENERGY Institute
Researcher Building2050 Group- EPFL
-low carbon and reusable
-design and construction processes
-efficient energy strategies and regulation

Information

ENERGY Institute
Building2050 Group

Thomas Jusselme © Thomas Delley