Interview

Patrick Favre-Perrod was recently named director of aR&D at the School of Engineering and Architecture of Fribourg (HEIA-FR). In this interview, he talks about the school’s ongoing collaboration with the Smart Living Lab (SLL).

Having recently become director of aR&D at the HEIA-FR, what is your vision of the future?

I want to promote collaboration between all the institutions on the Pérolles plateau so that our pool of expertise can become deeper and broader.

To acquire deeper expertise, we have to continue striving for institutional excellence, nationally and internationally, through the practice of constant self-improvement. Broader expertise requires an emphasis on collective action, making it possible to address challenges that single institutions cannot deal with on their own, and increasing the impact of our research community as a whole.

Our pool of expertise should not exist inside institutional walls only—it has to participate in the larger economy of Fribourg and drive its evolution. Through support institutions such as Innosuisse that facilitate the symbiosis between the industry and us, the majority of our projects is already being financed by third parties.

Will you develop new partnerships such as the one recently signed with Groupe E?

Yes, this is also an important point. Partnerships such as the one we have with Groupe E should be our inspiration for what can be achieved. These kinds of partnerships are about much more than getting results in individual projects; they are about defining the structure and direction of our work.

"Real and faster progress is achieved when we work collectively"

The goal should not be to invent new research areas out of thin air, but rather to move forward in lockstep with our partners. In addition to providing know-how and support, HEIA-FR can make a difference by involving institutional neighbors such as TechTransfer Fribourg in intelligent modes of collaboration. Real and faster progress is achieved when we work collectively. Our research institutes are clearly at the forefront of their individual fields, but they do not have the necessary critical mass on their own. Their impact can be greatly strengthened through integration with competence centers such as ROSAS, PICC, iPrint, blueFACTORY and the Smart Living Lab. Every partner becomes stronger when we work together.

How do you envision the collaboration between the HEIA-FR on the one hand and blueFACTORY and the Smart Living Lab on the other?

We have many common projects already, and the will to work together to reach scientific goals is stronger than ever. We can acquire a unique kind of leverage by acting jointly as a catalyst for research funding. And we should also do more of our communication together, especially considering the challenges we have in common at the political level, as shown by the recent vote on blueFACTORY. We must always showcase the work we do, and demonstrate how useful and productive it is not just for specialists, but also for the general population. Our collaboration with the Smart Living Lab must focus on acquiring projects, providing the necessary support, and doing technology transfer towards the industry.

"Our collaboration with the Smart Living Lab must focus on acquiring projects, providing the necessary support, and doing technology transfer towards the industry"

We should have the ambition to accelerate the practical adoption of our results outside of the subsidized and protected environment of our research centers. For that to happen, we have to build ties with the local construction sector and with SMEs looking to develop the kinds of innovative solutions that can benefit from Smart Living Lab's research. This is precisely why the SLL receives public funding.

The Smart Living Lab has to create as much synergy as possible between specialists in the electrical and thermal domains and those working on storage technologies. It is the only way to address the energy challenge. We have to think in terms of sector coupling or multi-energy systems if we are going to offer a global vision to private and public actors in the sector. I want to make my own contribution in this specific area.

The SLL’s research themes should not be dictated by any single actor in the research ecosystem. For themes to be truly successful, they have to be defined by interactions with the economy. That is why the clusters created by the HEIA-FR in the fields of plastics processing, construction and agribusiness will continue to play the role of living interfaces between the economy and us.

What are Fribourg’s strengths in terms of innovation?

First of all, before discussing the technical dimension, it has to be said that Fribourg is a very nice place to live in. This fact alone makes the decision to come to the canton for work or study a lot easier. The city is small and big at the same time, it is bilingual, and its central location means that you can go anywhere in Switzerland in the morning and be back in time for dinner.

At the scientific level, Fribourg’s prestigious and productive research environment is the result of a competitive approach to economic development. Traditionally, jobs do not just land in our canton; they have to be brought here through promotional and support-giving policies. To give an example, we have applied the Swiss Confederation’s New Regional Policy (NPR) in a very smart way. Under my predecessor, Jacques Bersier, we were pioneers in the field of collaborative projects.

"The influence and reputation of our institutions of higher learning is more than proportional to the size of the canton"

The influence and reputation of our institutions of higher learning is more than proportional to the size of the canton; and the activities of our partners and students extend well beyond the cantonal lines. Looking ahead, we are certainly in an advantageous position, yet we cannot afford to rest on our laurels. Our competitors are making progress too, and if they move faster, we will de facto lose ground to them.

Contact

Patrick Favre-Perrod

Directeur adjoint, Directeur Ra&D- HEIA-FR

Information

Portrait

Professor at the HEIA-FR since 2013, Patrick Favre-Perrod started his career in the power system components industry, working first at Areva (now General Electric) in England, then at Siemens, in Berlin, where he developed gas-insulated switchgear using SF6 gas technology.

While working for these two multinational companies, he had the opportunity to manage large-scale projects within extensive professional networks. He focused in particular on the synergies needed to make such projects a reality, which required him to adopt an interdisciplinary approach. His PhD thesis on multi-utility strategies enables him to face the challenges of the energy sector using a broad perspective, one that aims to do more than find solutions to individual problems.

At the HEIA-FR, he led a research group specializing in electrical power systems before becoming deputy director in charge of aR&D.

© Gabriel Demierre

TAGs

Interview

Patrick Favre-Perrod vient de reprendre la direction de la Ra&D de la Haute école d'ingénierie et d'architecture de Fribourg (HEIA-FR). Il s’exprime sur les collaborations avec le Smart Living Lab.

Vous venez de reprendre la direction de la Ra&D de la HEIA-FR, quelles sont vos visions pour l’avenir?

Je souhaite encourager la collaboration étroite entre toutes les institutions réunies dans ce périmètre restreint du plateau de Pérolles pour développer un réservoir de compétences encore plus large et plus profond.

Plus profond, pour que nous nous améliorions encore, afin d’approcher toujours plus l'excellence nationale et internationale. Plus large, pour aborder des thématiques que l’on ne peut pas traiter individuellement, mais sur lesquelles nous pouvons avoir un réel impact en agissant collectivement.

Ce réservoir de compétences ne doit pas se cantonner dans les murs de nos institutions, mais faire évoluer l'économie fribourgeoise au sens large. La majorité de nos projets est financée par des tiers, via des institutions de soutien, telles qu'Innosuisse, qui est un instrument de symbiose entre l'industrie et nous.

Allez-vous développer de nouveaux partenariats du type de celui signé avec le Groupe E?

Oui, c’est aussi un point important que je voulais aborder. Les partenariats comme celui que nous avons avec Groupe E doivent être inspirants pour l’avenir. Ils structurent notre activité et vont bien plus loin que les simples résultats ponctuels de projets.

"On avance toujours plus vite quand on agit collectivement"

Le but n'est pas d'inventer des domaines de recherche, mais d'avancer ensemble en fournissant le soutien nécessaire, d'abord dans notre institution, mais aussi en collaborant de manière intelligente avec nos voisins, par exemple avec TechTransfer Fribourg. On avance toujours plus vite quand on agit collectivement. Nos instituts de recherche sont certes pointus, mais, seuls, ils n’ont pas toujours la masse critique nécessaire. Leur travail est largement consolidé lorsqu’il s’inscrit dans l’action des centres de compétences – ROSAS, PICC ou iPrint –, de blueFACTORY et du Smart Living Lab. Chacun des partenaires gagne des forces dans l’action collective.

Comment envisagez-vous les collaborations de la HEIA-FR avec blueFACTORY, respectivement avec le Smart Living Lab?

Nous avons déjà beaucoup de projets communs. Nous avons une volonté d'atteindre des buts scientifiques ensemble et nous avons un autre levier d’action, comme point de cristallisation pour des soutiens à des chercheurs. Nous devons aussi communiquer ensemble. Nous sommes challengés au niveau politique, comme nous l’a bien montré le vote récent sur blueFACTORY. Nous devons toujours montrer à quoi nous servons, pas seulement aux spécialistes, mais également à la population. Notre collaboration avec le Smart Living Lab doit favoriser l'acquisition de projets, le soutien à l'exécution desdits projets et le transfert de technologies vers l'industrie.

"Notre collaboration avec le Smart Living Lab doit favoriser l'acquisition de projets et le transfert de technologies vers l'industrie"

Nous devons avoir l’ambition d’essaimer le plus rapidement possible dans la pratique les résultats que nous obtenons, hors des sites favorisés par cet environnement subventionné et protégé. Il est nécessaire de toucher le secteur de la construction fribourgeois et les PME qui veulent développer des solutions innovantes en bénéficiant des recherches menées au sein du Smart Living Lab. C’est le sens du soutien accordé par les pouvoirs publics à cet instrument.

Le Smart Living Lab doit créer toutes les synergies possibles entre les spécialistes des domaines électrique et thermique et ceux des technologies de stockage. C’est la seule manière de relever le défi énergétique. Nous devons penser des réseaux multifluides ou multi-énergies pour donner une vision globale aux acteurs de terrain, privés et publics. Je veux apporter ma contribution dans ce domaine précis.

Il ne doit pas y avoir de «dictature» programmatique par un partenaire ou un autre dans le choix des thèmes du Smart Living Lab. Ces derniers doivent être définis dans des interactions avec l'économie afin qu’ils soient porteurs. Dans ce contexte, les clusters créés par la HEIA-FR dans les domaines de la plasturgie, de la construction et de l’agroalimentaire continuent à jouer leur rôle d'interface vivante entre nous et le monde économique.

Quels sont les atouts de Fribourg en termes d’innovation?

D’abord, avant d’aborder le domaine technique, il fait bon vivre à Fribourg, ce qui favorise largement la prise de décision pour étudier ou travailler dans le canton. La ville est petite et grande à la fois, bilingue, et elle permet de faire un aller-retour partout en Suisse en une journée.

Au niveau scientifique, on a l'habitude de se battre. Les emplois ne tombent pas naturellement dans le canton. Ils résultent d'actions de promotion et de soutien. Nous avons, par exemple, su utiliser la NPR de manière très intelligente. Sous l’ère de mon prédécesseur, Jacques Bersier, nous avons été des précurseurs dans le domaine des projets collaboratifs.

"Nos hautes écoles ont une force de frappe plus que proportionnelle à la taille du canton"

Nos hautes écoles ont une force de frappe plus que proportionnelle à la taille du canton. Nos partenaires et nos étudiant-e-s s'étendent bien au-delà de nos frontières. Nous avons donc de nombreux atouts pour la suite des opérations, mais il ne faut jamais se complaire: les autres avancent aussi et, s'ils avancent plus vite que nous, nous perdons de facto du terrain.

Contact

Patrick Favre-Perrod

Directeur adjoint, Directeur Ra&D- HEIA-FR

Information

Portrait

Professeur à la HEIA-FR depuis 2013, Patrick Favre-Perrod a d’abord travaillé dans l’industrie des composants de puissance, en Angleterre, chez Areva (aujourd’hui General Electric), puis pour Siemens, à Berlin, sur des postes blindés isolés au gaz SF6.

Dans sa carrière au sein de ces deux entreprises, il a eu l’occasion de largement travailler en réseau pour créer les synergies nécessaires à la réalisation de projets d’envergure au sein de groupes mondialisés. Il s’est aussi spécialisé, dans sa thèse de doctorat, dans les stratégies multifluides, ce qui lui permet aujourd’hui d’envisager les enjeux de l’énergie plus largement que comme la résolution de défis techniques. Il a aussi travaillé de manière interdisciplinaire au sein des sociétés mentionnées.

À Fribourg, avant de prendre la direction de la Ra&D de la HEIA-FR, il a piloté un groupe de recherche spécialisé dans la gestion des réseaux électriques.

© Gabriel Demierre

TAGs