Interview

Since May 1, 2021, Séréna Vanbutsele has been appointed as Head of the Institute of Architecture: Heritage, Construction and Users (TRANSFORM) at the School of Engineering and Architecture of Fribourg (HEIA-FR). She is involved in the teaching of the Joint Master of Arts in Architecture (JMA) and explains how her goal consists in anchoring her research subject - under-planned nature spaces facing the challenges of qualitative densification – on both, urban and rural Fribourg territory.

What are your thoughts on the Smart Living Lab, which brings together the EPFL, HEIA-FR and UNIFR in an interdisciplinary approach?

It is a stimulating place due to the contrasts it offers, where the international runs alongside with the local; the high-tech with the low-tech; the alternative with the conventional; the fundamental research with the applied research; the technical aspects with the cultural ones; a place where researchers from all over the world develop leading-edge knowledge. It is a concentrate of innovations that sometimes combines the everyday search of new ways of living, working, producing, consuming, and moving around.  

What are the challenges lying ahead for the TRANSFORM Institute you lead since May 1, 2021?

The Institute has around 30 employees and brings together many skills that will contribute to question in one way or another spatial transformations of the built and non-built environment, from the territory planning phase to the construction phase, its use and transformation. By bringing together these valuable skills and these broad areas of expertise, TRANSFORM is well positioned to initiate and conduct projects to nurture the Smart Living Lab. The Institute is a sort of catalyst of interdisciplinary practices that contribute to the definition of a future that provides answers to issues linked to the environment, climate change, search of new ways of living, and a more circular economy.

"The Institute is a sort of catalyst of interdisciplinary practices that contribute to the definition of a future that provides answers to issues linked to the environment"

Other important issues for the Institute, to name a few, are « working together », strengthening ties between research, teaching, and the practice of architecture and urban planning, as well as the  willingness to become a competence center for renovation.

What will be your activities focused on in the upcoming months?

They will be mainly focused on taking over the management of the TRANSFORM Institute. Make contacts, start and build momentum. I am also involved in teaching the Joint Master of Arts in Architecture (JMA) at the School of Engineering and Architecture of Fribourg (HEIA-FR), the Geneva School of Engineering, Architecture and Landscape (HEPIA), the Bern University of Applied Sciences (BFH) as well as several ongoing research projects which are being set up at the moment. It is also about anchoring my research subject - under-planned nature spaces facing the challenges of qualitative densification – on both, urban and rural Fribourg territory.

"It is also about anchoring my research subject - under-planned nature spaces facing the challenges of qualitative densification – on both, urban and rural Fribourg territory"

Could you tell us more about your professional background?

I consider myself a hybrid professional who combines architecture, urban planning, landscaping, geography, and social sciences. I am an architect (UMons – Belgium ) and city planner (UCLouvain - Belgium), and hold a PhD in Art of construction and city planning (UCLouvain - Belgium). Before arriving at the HEIA-FR, I was assistant professor at the Geneva Environmental Governance and Territorial Development Hub/Institute (GEDT) within the Geneva School of Social Sciences and the department of geography.

I also taught theoretical courses (Planning methodology and project management) at the joint Master HES-SO-UNIGE in Territorial development (MDT) and varied workshops – like regional development workshops and the workshop entitled “Territory project – landscape project”. I was also able to participate in fellowships, at the « La Sapienza » University in Rome and at the Landscape Infrastructure Lab-OPSYS at the Graduate School of Design of Harvard University in Boston.  Since 2018 I take part in the steering group of the international brownfield network. This group aims to develop an interdisciplinary methodology to analyze and set up urban brownfield projects, to be able to enhance their resources (infrastructures, use, landscape, and ecological needs).

How do you see the future of the built environment and related research?

It will definitely be linked to the future of the non-built environment. If quality of buildings is an important issue, quality of the relationship between them is even more so.

"If quality of buildings is an important issue, quality of the relationship between them is even more so"

Thinking about the space between buildings, makes possible the creation and conservation of open spaces, nature, and ground space. These open spaces, sometimes defined as « empty » when compared to buildings, will be our levers to be able to address issues related to climate, urban densification and the need of public spaces, the relationship to farming, climate regulation in order to face challenges such as urban heat islands or heat waves, etc …

Could you tell us what are your interests outside architecture?

Travelling the region I live in and discovering picturesque unexpected hidden corners in contrast with the nearby city life. I also like the flatlands of my home country, with its stretches of land, its sea, its traditions and local products, and above all, its friends and family.

Contact

Séréna Vanbutsele

Head of TRANSFORM Institute
Professor- HEIA-FR
-spatial analysis or planning
-green infrastructures
-sustainable urbanism

Information

Séréna Vanbutsele (Professor | Head of TRANSFORM) is trained as an architect and a planner and owned a PhD from UCLouvain (Belgium). Her expertise lies at the interface between architecture, urban and landscape planning. She questions the paradigm of densification through the transformation of unplanned open spaces such as wastelands, semi-natural sites and urban fringes.

TRANSFORM

TAGs

Interview

Séréna Vanbutsele a été nommée à la tête de l’Institut d'architecture: patrimoine, construction et usages (TRANSFORM) de la Haute école d’ingénierie et d’architecture de Fribourg (HEIA-FR) depuis le 1er mai 2021. Elle y est impliquée dans l’enseignement du Joint Master of Arts en Architecture (JMA) et nous raconte comment elle vise à y ancrer son sujet de recherche que sont les espaces de nature sous-planifiés face aux enjeux de densification qualitative dans le territoire fribourgeois tant urbain que rural.

Que vous inspire le Smart Living Lab, qui réunit l’EPFL, la HEIA-FR et l’UNIFR dans une démarche interdisciplinaire?

C’est un lieu stimulant par les contrastes qu’il offre. L’international côtoie le local ; le high-tech, le low-tech ; l’alternatif, le conventionnel ; la recherche fondamentale, la recherche appliquée ; la technique, la culture. On y trouve des chercheurs venus du monde entier qui développent des connaissances de pointe. C’est un concentré d’innovation et de technologie qui s’allie parfois avec la recherche quotidienne de nouveaux modes de vivre, de travailler, de produire, de consommer et de se déplacer.

Quels sont les défis qui attendent l’Institut TRANSFORM de la HEIA-FR que vous dirigez depuis le 1er mai 2021?

L’Institut compte une trentaine de collaboratrices et de collaborateurs et de nombreuses compétences qui contribuent toutes à questionner d’une manière ou d’une autre les transformations spatiales du cadre bâti et non bâti et ce, depuis le temps de la planification du territoire jusqu’aux temps de la construction, de l’usage et de la transformation. En regroupant ces précieux savoir-faire et ces larges champs d’expertise, TRANSFORM est dans une position favorable pour initier et mener des projets qui nourrissent le Smart Living Lab. L’Institut est une sorte de catalyseur de pratiques interdisciplinaires contribuant à la définition d’un futur qui réponde aux préoccupations environnementales, aux enjeux du changement climatique et à la recherche de modes d’habiter et d’une économie plus circulaires.

"L'Institut est une sorte de catalyseur de pratiques interdisciplinaires contribuant à la définition d’un futur qui réponde aux préoccupations environnementales"

Parmi les enjeux importants de l’Institut, on peut citer notamment le travailler-ensemble ; la consolidation de liens entre la recherche, l’enseignement et la pratique de l’architecture et de l’urbanisme ; et la volonté d’aboutir à un Centre de compétences en matière de rénovation.

Quelles seront vos activités au cours de ces prochains mois?

Reprendre la direction de l’Institut TRANSFORM sera centrale. Il s’agit de prendre contact, d’initier et d’organiser une dynamique. En parallèle, je suis impliquée dans l’enseignement du Joint Master of Arts en Architecture (JMA) de la Haute école d'ingénierie et d'architecture de Fribourg (HEIA-FR), de la Haute école du paysage, d'ingénierie et d'architecture de Genève (HEPIA) et de la Haute école spécialisée bernoise (BFH) et plusieurs projets de recherche sont en cours de montage. Il s’agit d’ancrer mon sujet de recherche que sont les espaces de nature sous-planifiés face aux enjeux de densification qualitative dans le territoire fribourgeois tant urbain que rural.

"Il s’agit d’ancrer mon sujet de recherche que sont les espaces de nature sous-planifiés face aux enjeux de densification qualitative dans le territoire fribourgeois tant urbain que rural"

Pouvez-vous nous en dire plus sur votre parcours professionnel?

J’ai un parcours qui s’est hybridé entre l’architecture, l’urbanisme, le paysagisme, la géographie et les sciences sociales. Je suis architecte (UMons – Belgique ) et urbaniste (UCLouvain - Belgique) de formation et titulaire d'un doctorat en art de bâtir et urbanisme (UCLouvain - Belgique). Avant d’arriver à la HEIA-FR, j’étais maître-assistante à l'Institut de Gouvernance de l'Environnement et Développement Territorial de l'Université de Genève au sein de la Faculté des sciences de la société et du département de géographie.

J’ai enseigné au sein du Master conjoint HES-SO – UNIGE en Développement Territorial (MDT) des cours théoriques (dont le cours Méthodologie de l’aménagement et conduite de projet) et d’ateliers (dont les ateliers de développement régional et l’atelier de projet de territoire-projet de paysage). J’ai eu l’occasion d’effectuer plusieurs séjours de recherche internationaux, notamment à l’Université « La Sapienza » à Rome ou au Landscape Infrastructure Lab –OPSYS à la Graduate School of Design d’Harvard University à Boston.  Depuis 2018, je participe au pilotage du réseau international Inter-friches. Ce réseau vise à développer une méthodologie interdisciplinaire pour l’analyse et la mise en projets des friches urbaines, qui puissent valoriser la diversité de leurs ressources (aménités, usages, intérêts écologiques et paysagers).

Comment percevez-vous le futur de l’environnement bâti et les recherches qui le concernent?

Celui-ci sera indéniablement lié au futur de l’environnement non-bâti. Si la qualité des bâtiments est importante, la qualité des relations entre ceux-ci l’est peut-être encore plus.

"Si la qualité des bâtiments est importante, la qualité des relations entre ceux-ci l’est peut-être encore plus"

Penser les espaces entre les bâtiments permet de penser la conservation et création d’espaces ouverts, de nature et de pleine terre. Ces espaces ouverts, parfois qualifiés de ‘vides’ en contraste avec les pleins que sont les bâtiments, seront nos leviers pour répondre à une série d’enjeux de demain dont l’urgence climatique, la densification des villes et le besoin d’espaces publics, la relation à la production dont la production agricole, la régulation climatique face à des phénomènes d’ilots de chaleur urbain ou de pics caniculaires, …

Un mot sur ce qui vous anime en dehors de l’architecture ? J’aime parcourir  la région où je vis et y découvrir des recoins cachés parfois pittoresques et inattendus qui contrastent avec la vie urbaine qui les voisine. Et puis, j’aime aussi revoir mon plat pays, avec ses étendues, sa mer, ses traditions et terroirs et surtout ses chers amis et familles.

Contact

Séréna Vanbutsele

Head of TRANSFORM Institute
Professor- HEIA-FR
-spatial analysis or planning
-green infrastructures
-sustainable urbanism

Information

Séréna Vanbutsele (Professor | Head of TRANSFORM) is trained as an architect and a planner and owned a PhD from UCLouvain (Belgium). Her expertise lies at the interface between architecture, urban and landscape planning. She questions the paradigm of densification through the transformation of unplanned open spaces such as wastelands, semi-natural sites and urban fringes.

TRANSFORM

TAGs