Interview

Since May 1, 2021, Séréna Vanbutsele has been appointed as Head of the Institute of Architecture: Heritage, Construction and Users (TRANSFORM) at the School of Engineering and Architecture of Fribourg (HEIA-FR). She is involved in the teaching of the Joint Master of Arts in Architecture (JMA) and explains how her goal consists in anchoring her research subject - under-planned nature spaces facing the challenges of qualitative densification – on both, urban and rural Fribourg territory.

What are your thoughts on the Smart Living Lab, which brings together the EPFL, HEIA-FR and UNIFR in an interdisciplinary approach?

It is a stimulating place due to the contrasts it offers, where the international runs alongside with the local; the high-tech with the low-tech; the alternative with the conventional; the fundamental research with the applied research; the technical aspects with the cultural ones; a place where researchers from all over the world develop leading-edge knowledge. It is a concentrate of innovations that sometimes combines the everyday search of new ways of living, working, producing, consuming, and moving around.  

What are the challenges lying ahead for the TRANSFORM Institute you lead since May 1, 2021?

The Institute has around 30 employees and brings together many skills that will contribute to question in one way or another spatial transformations of the built and non-built environment, from the territory planning phase to the construction phase, its use and transformation. By bringing together these valuable skills and these broad areas of expertise, TRANSFORM is well positioned to initiate and conduct projects to nurture the Smart Living Lab. The Institute is a sort of catalyst of interdisciplinary practices that contribute to the definition of a future that provides answers to issues linked to the environment, climate change, search of new ways of living, and a more circular economy.

"The Institute is a sort of catalyst of interdisciplinary practices that contribute to the definition of a future that provides answers to issues linked to the environment"

Other important issues for the Institute, to name a few, are « working together », strengthening ties between research, teaching, and the practice of architecture and urban planning, as well as the  willingness to become a competence center for renovation.

What will be your activities focused on in the upcoming months?

They will be mainly focused on taking over the management of the TRANSFORM Institute. Make contacts, start and build momentum. I am also involved in teaching the Joint Master of Arts in Architecture (JMA) at the School of Engineering and Architecture of Fribourg (HEIA-FR), the Geneva School of Engineering, Architecture and Landscape (HEPIA), the Bern University of Applied Sciences (BFH) as well as several ongoing research projects which are being set up at the moment. It is also about anchoring my research subject - under-planned nature spaces facing the challenges of qualitative densification – on both, urban and rural Fribourg territory.

"It is also about anchoring my research subject - under-planned nature spaces facing the challenges of qualitative densification – on both, urban and rural Fribourg territory"

Could you tell us more about your professional background?

I consider myself a hybrid professional who combines architecture, urban planning, landscaping, geography, and social sciences. I am an architect (UMons – Belgium ) and city planner (UCLouvain - Belgium), and hold a PhD in Art of construction and city planning (UCLouvain - Belgium). Before arriving at the HEIA-FR, I was assistant professor at the Geneva Environmental Governance and Territorial Development Hub/Institute (GEDT) within the Geneva School of Social Sciences and the department of geography.

I also taught theoretical courses (Planning methodology and project management) at the joint Master HES-SO-UNIGE in Territorial development (MDT) and varied workshops – like regional development workshops and the workshop entitled “Territory project – landscape project”. I was also able to participate in fellowships, at the « La Sapienza » University in Rome and at the Landscape Infrastructure Lab-OPSYS at the Graduate School of Design of Harvard University in Boston.  Since 2018 I take part in the steering group of the international brownfield network. This group aims to develop an interdisciplinary methodology to analyze and set up urban brownfield projects, to be able to enhance their resources (infrastructures, use, landscape, and ecological needs).

How do you see the future of the built environment and related research?

It will definitely be linked to the future of the non-built environment. If quality of buildings is an important issue, quality of the relationship between them is even more so.

"If quality of buildings is an important issue, quality of the relationship between them is even more so"

Thinking about the space between buildings, makes possible the creation and conservation of open spaces, nature, and ground space. These open spaces, sometimes defined as « empty » when compared to buildings, will be our levers to be able to address issues related to climate, urban densification and the need of public spaces, the relationship to farming, climate regulation in order to face challenges such as urban heat islands or heat waves, etc …

Could you tell us what are your interests outside architecture?

Travelling the region I live in and discovering picturesque unexpected hidden corners in contrast with the nearby city life. I also like the flatlands of my home country, with its stretches of land, its sea, its traditions and local products, and above all, its friends and family.

Contact

Séréna Vanbutsele

Head of TRANSFORM Institute
Professor- HEIA-FR
-spatial analysis or planning
-green infrastructures
-sustainable urbanism

Information

Séréna Vanbutsele (Professor | Head of TRANSFORM) is trained as an architect and a planner and owned a PhD from UCLouvain (Belgium). Her expertise lies at the interface between architecture, urban and landscape planning. She questions the paradigm of densification through the transformation of unplanned open spaces such as wastelands, semi-natural sites and urban fringes.

TRANSFORM

TAGs

Interview

Séréna Vanbutsele leitet seit dem 1. Mai 2021 das Institut für Architektur: Erbe, Konstruktion und Nutzer (TRANSFORM) der Hochschule für Technik und Architektur Freiburg (HTA-FR). Sie ist auch Dozentin im «Joint Master of Arts in Architecture» (JMA) an der HTA-FR und erzählt im Interview, wie Sie ihr Forschungsthema der unterbeplanten Naturräume im Kontext der qualitativen Verdichtung im städtischen und ländlichen Raum Freiburgs einbringen will.

Wie sehen Sie das «Smart Living Lab», das die Kompetenzen der EPFL, der HTA-FR und der UNIFR in einem interdisziplinären Ansatz vereint?

Es ist ein anregender Ort, weil er voller Kontraste ist. Das Internationale trifft auf das Lokale, Hightech auf Lowtech, das Alternative auf das Konventionelle, die Grundlagenforschung auf die angewandte Forschung, Technik auf Kultur. Man trifft Forschende aus der ganzen Welt, die neueste Erkenntnisse hervorbringen. Da ist eine Konzentration von Innovation und Technologie – auf der Suche nach neuen Möglichkeiten des Lebens, Arbeitens, Produzierens, Konsumierens und Reisens.

Vor welchen Herausforderungen steht das Institut TRANSFORM der HTA-FR, das Sie seit dem 1. Mai 2021 leiten?

Das Institut vereint etwa dreissig Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter und viele Kompetenzen, die alle auf die eine oder andere Weise in der Auseinandersetzung mit Fragen der räumlichen Transformation der bebauten und unbebauten Umwelt, sei es in der Phase der Raumplanung, des Baus, der Nutzung oder des Umbaus, zum Einsatz kommen. Dank der Bündelung dieses wertvollen Know-hows und der breit gefächerten Kompetenzfelder ist TRANSFORM in der Lage, Projekte zu initiieren und zu leiten, die das Smart Living Lab tragen. Das Institut ist eine Art Katalysator interdisziplinärer Praktiken, die dazu beitragen, eine Zukunft zu gestalten, die den Umweltbelangen, den Herausforderungen des Klimawandels und der Suche nach einer verstärkt zirkulären Lebens- und Wirtschaftsweise gerecht wird.

"Das Institut ist eine Art Katalysator interdisziplinärer Praktiken, die dazu beitragen, eine Zukunft zu gestalten, die den Umweltbelangen gerecht wird"

Wichtige Themen für das Institut sind das Zusammen-Arbeiten, die Stärkung der Verbindungen zwischen Forschung, Lehre und Praxis in den Bereichen Architektur und Stadtplanung sowie der Aufbau des Kompetenzzentrums für Gebäudesanierung.

Womit werden Sie in den nächsten Monaten beschäftigt sein?

Die Übernahme der Leitung des Instituts TRANSFORM wird im Zentrum stehen. Es geht darum, Kontakt aufzunehmen und eine Dynamik einzuleiten und zu organisieren.

Parallel dazu unterrichte ich im «Joint Master of Arts in Architecture» (JMA) der Hochschule für Technik und Architektur Freiburg (HTA-FR), der Hochschule für Landschaft, Technik und Architektur, Genf (HEPIA) und der Berner Fachhochschule (BFH), und es sind auch mehrere Forschungsprojekte im Aufbau. Es geht darum, mein Forschungsthema der unterbeplanten Naturräume im Kontext der qualitativen Verdichtung im städtischen und ländlichen Raum Freiburgs einzubringen.

"Es geht darum, mein Forschungsthema der unterbeplanten Naturräume im Kontext der qualitativen Verdichtung im städtischen und ländlichen Raum Freiburgs einzubringen"

Können Sie uns mehr über Ihren beruflichen Werdegang erzählen?

Mein beruflicher Hintergrund ist eine Mischung aus Architektur, Stadtplanung, Landschaftsdesign, Geografie und Sozialwissenschaften. Ich bin ausgebildete Architektin (UMons – Belgien) und Stadtplanerin (UCLouvain – Belgien) und habe einen Doktortitel in Baukunst und Stadtplanung (UCLouvain – Belgien). Bevor ich zur HTA-FR kam, war ich Oberassistentin am Institut für Umweltmanagement und Raumentwicklung (GEDT) der Universität Genf, am Departement für Geografie der Fakultät für Gesellschaftswissenschaften (SdS).

Ich unterrichtete Theorie im Rahmen des gemeinsamen Masterstudiengangs in Raumentwicklung (Master en Développement Territorial – MDT) der HES-SO und der UNIGE (einschliesslich des Kurses zur Methodik der Raumplanung und zum Projektmanagement), sowie Ateliers (einschliesslich des Ateliers zum Thema Regionalentwicklung und des Ateliers Gebietsprojekt–Landschaftsprojekt). Ich konnte mehrere internationale Forschungsaufenthalte absolvieren, unter anderem an der Universität «La Sapienza» in Rom und am «OPSYS/Landscape Infrastructure Lab» an der «Graduate School of Design» der Harvard University in Boston. Seit 2018 bin ich im Steuerungskomitee des internationalen Netzwerks «INTER-FRICHES». Ziel dieses Netzwerks ist es, eine interdisziplinäre Methodik für die Analyse städtischer Brachflächen und die Erarbeitung von Projekten zu entwickeln, um deren vielfältigen Potenziale (Annehmlichkeiten, Nutzungen, ökologische und landschaftliche Aspekte) besser nutzen zu können.

Wie sehen Sie die Zukunft der bebauten Umwelt und der Forschung in diesem Bereich?

Die Zukunft der bebauten Umwelt ist mit der Zukunft der nicht bebauten Umwelt verbunden. Die Qualität der Gebäude ist wichtig, doch die Qualität der Beziehungen zwischen den Gebäuden ist möglicherweise noch wichtiger.

"Die Qualität der Gebäude ist wichtig, doch die Qualität der Beziehungen zwischen den Gebäuden ist möglicherweise noch wichtiger"

Die Auseinandersetzung mit dem Raum zwischen den Gebäuden ermöglicht die Erhaltung und Schaffung von freien Räumen und Naturräumen. Diese freien Räume, die im Kontrast zur Fülle der Gebäude manchmal als «leere» Räume bezeichnet werden, wollen wir nutzen, um Antworten zu finden auf eine Reihe der Herausforderungen von morgen, wie Klimanotstand, Verdichtung der Städte und Bedarf an öffentlichen Räumen, das Verhältnis zur Produktion, einschliesslich der landwirtschaftlichen Produktion, die Klimaregulierung angesichts von Phänomenen wie städtischen Hitzeinseln oder Hitzewellen, usw.

Vielleicht noch kurz etwas dazu, wofür Sie sich ausserhalb der Architektur interessieren?

Ich bin gerne in der Region, in der ich lebe, unterwegs, um versteckte, manchmal malerische und unerwartete Ecken zu entdecken, die im Kontrast zum naheliegenden städtischen Leben stehen. Und ich freue mich auch immer auf ein Wiedersehen mit meiner flachen Heimat, der Weite und dem Meer, den Gewohnheiten und Traditionen und vor allem mit meinen lieben Freunden und meiner lieben Familie.

Kontakt

Séréna Vanbutsele

Head of TRANSFORM Institute
Professor- HEIA-FR
-spatial analysis or planning
-green infrastructures
-sustainable urbanism

Information

Séréna Vanbutsele (Professor | Head of TRANSFORM) is trained as an architect and a planner and owned a PhD from UCLouvain (Belgium). Her expertise lies at the interface between architecture, urban and landscape planning. She questions the paradigm of densification through the transformation of unplanned open spaces such as wastelands, semi-natural sites and urban fringes.

TRANSFORM

TAGs