Construction of the smart living lab’s own dedicated building in Fribourg is set to begin in 2020. This multidisciplinary living laboratory will serve as a catalyst of progress, providing fertile ground for carrying out work in real conditions. The new building should encourage rigorous investigation and lateral thinking thanks to its range of facilities for different types of research activity. The building will be at the cutting edge of efficient resource use over its complete life cycle. Its construction comes 30 years in advance of Switzerland’s 2050 energy targets.

Even after its construction is complete, the building will continue to evolve to aid research, improve its performance, maintain its longevity, and maintain its place at the forefront of innovation. Its technical components will therefore be replaceable, and its spaces will be flexible enough to be adapted for different uses.
A number of sensors will be used to measure different parameters linked to energy consumption, environmental quality, and how spaces are occupied. This constant monitoring of the building will provide data for a numerical model, which has two fundamental aspects:

  • Monitoring research results: the work carried out will be subject to regular post-occupation assessments, which should provide proper feedback to verify that the target energy performance levels have been reached.
  • Input for research tasks, so that the researchers can devise new experiments in the building on a “plug and test” basis.

The experiments carried out in this experimental building will include:

  • using technology for human-building interactions in order to optimize user comfort, productivity, and resource consumption.
  • replacing building components to measure their properties and performance.
  • testing energy production and storage systems in real conditions to determine which are the most efficient.

The building will satisfy some unique ambitions. Its design process has been the subject of careful consideration, so that the different actors concerned can be involved at the appropriate time, thus providing:

  • integrated results from preliminary environmental research
  • responses to the needs of researchers and other users
  • high architectural quality
  • respect for the appropriate legal and financial framework

Operational transition
The building construction process that has been established comprises three phases: the call for project proposals, the implementation study, and construction. A number of programming requirements have been identified for the researchers: office space, laboratories, and meeting space. From an urban planning perspective, the siting of the building respects the new cantonal land use plan, which came into force in the summer of 2018. These various elements, together with the recommendations and tools that came out of the research program, have been consolidated in the Mandat d’Études Parallèles (MEP) tender document published on the simap public procurement platform in September, 2018 (application deadline: 26 October). The winner and the preliminary draft will be unveiled at the end of June, 2019.

In den kommenden Jahren beginnt in Freiburg der Bau eines einzigartigen Gebäudes, das dem Smart Living Lab zur Verfügung stehen wird. Es wird als interdisziplinäres, innovationstreibendes Reallabor ein idealer Versuchsort für Forschungsarbeiten in Lebensgrösse sein. Hier wird eine Palette baulicher Potenziale geschaffen, die diverse Forschungsaktivitäten ermöglichen und so zu messerscharfer Analyse und zum Querdenken anregen. Das Gebäude soll über den gesamten Lebenszyklus zum Pionierwerk für effiziente Ressourcennutzung werden und die Energieziele 2050 der Schweizerischen Eidgenossenschaft mit 30 Jahren Vorsprung erfüllen.


Auch nach dem Bau wird das Gebäude ständig weiterentwickelt werden, um Forschungszwecken zu dienen, die Leistungsparameter zu optimieren, die Lebensdauer zu verlängern und innovativ führend zu bleiben. So werden etwa alle technischen Komponenten sichtbar montiert, damit sie einfacher ersetzt werden können. Ausserdem bieten die Räume die nötige Flexibilität, damit sie neuen Nutzungszwecken angepasst werden können.

Zahlreiche Sensoren werden unterschiedliche Parameter des Energieverbrauchs, der Umweltqualität und der Raumbelegung messen. Dieses ununterbrochene Gebäudemonitoring wird ein digitales Modell speisen, das zwei Grundaspekten dient:

  • Forschungsauswertung: Das Gebäude wird einer regelmässigen Post-Occupancy Evaluation (POE) unterzogen, die ein objektives, kritisches Feedback liefert und nachweisen soll, dass das Gebäude die energetischen Leistungsziele erreicht.
  • Forschungsmöglichkeit: Das Gebäude soll den Forschern die Gelegenheit bieten, neue «plug and test»-Experimente zu entwickeln.

In diesem Experimentalgebäude werden Versuche in folgenden Bereichen ausgeführt:

  • Einsatz von Technologien für die Interaktion zwischen Mensch und Gebäude, um den Komfort, die Produktivität und den Ressourcenverbrauch der Benutzer zu optimieren.
  • Ersetzen von Gebäudekomponenten, um ihre Eigenschaften und Leistungsmerkmale zu messen.
  • Systemtests für die Energieerzeugung und -speicherung unter realen Bedingungen, um die effizientesten Techniken zu ermitteln.

Das Gebäude wird einzigartigen Ambitionen genügen: Teil des Planungsprozesses war eine vertiefte Reflexionsphase, in der die verschiedenen Anspruchsgruppen zur rechten Zeit einbezogen werden konnten. Dabei wurde gewährleistet, dass

  • die Resultate einer vorgängigen Umweltforschung einbezogen,
  • die Bedürfnisse der verschiedenen Benutzer- und Forschergruppen berücksichtigt,
  • auf grosse architektonische Qualität geachtet,
  • die rechtlichen und finanziellen Vorgaben eingehalten wurden.

Operative Transition
Es wurde ein Bauprozess mit den drei Phasen Studienauftrag, Projektierung und Realisierung festgelegt und die Bedürfnisse der Forscher bezüglich des Gebäudeprogramms (Flächen für Büros, Laboratorien, Sitzungszimmer) ermittelt. Städtebaulich berücksichtigt der Projektstandort den neuen kantonalen Nutzungsplan, der im Sommer 2018 in Kraft getreten ist. Alle diese Aspekte sowie die Empfehlungen und Instrumente des Forschungsprogramms wurden in den Unterlagen des Studienauftrags zusammengestellt und im September 2018 auf der Plattform für das öffentliche Beschaffungswesen simap publiziert. In Juli 2019 hat die Firmengruppe Behnisch Architekten, Drees & Sommer Schweiz AG und ZPF Ingenieure AG das von der Bluefactory Fribourg-Freiburg SA und dem Smart Living Lab initiierte MEP gewonnen. Siehe Pressemitteilung.

News

Galerie

Video

Contact

Sergi Aguacil Moreno

Head of Building2050
Manager of the integration of innovation in the building- EPFL
-project management
-sustainable architectural technology
-design and construction processes

Sebastian Duque Mahecha

Building2050
BIM Specialist- EPFL
-modeling, simulations and algorithms
-design and construction processes
-building information modeling BIM

Justine Roman

Building2050
Building Engineer- EPFL
-passive and active strategies
-health and comfort in buildings
-design and construction processes

Concours (MEP)

Informationsblätter

Timeline

360° Ansicht

Mindmap

Projekte

Alle Projekte anzeigen (29)
Die Suche hat keine Ergebnisse geliefert