Press release

JPF Entreprise Générale SA in Bulle has won the public tender to construct the new Smart Living Lab building on the bluefactory site. The aim of the project, which is subject to the provisions of the Public Procurement Act and funded by the canton of Fribourg, is to provide a shared laboratory facility and workspace for research teams from the EPFL, the School of Engineering and Architecture of Fribourg, and the University of Fribourg.

Following a public call for tenders launched in March, JPF Entreprise Générale SA, a general contractor based in Bulle, has been awarded the contract to build the new facility that will house the Smart Living Lab, a research and development centre devoted to the built environment of the future. All bids were scored on a set of award criteria that included the price, the technical merits of the bid, the organisational capacity of the bidder, and the proposed execution of the contract. JPF Entreprise Générale SA demonstrated an excellent understanding of the project and its constraints, particularly with regard to cost optimisation, since its winning bid falls within the CHF 25 million budget granted by the cantonal government. Construction is scheduled to begin in summer 2022.

"JPF Entreprise Générale SA demonstrated an excellent understanding of the project and its constraints, particularly with regard to cost optimisation"

The project is the result of a collaborative process between BFF SA and the Smart Living Lab; the Canton of Fribourg has overseen its implementation. In 2018, it took concrete shape with the launch of the participatory and innovative Mandat d'Etudes Parallèles (MEP). With the help of advanced research tools and an iterative process, the original design has been successively refined to ensure that it meets the particular needs of the building's future users. At the end of this process, an application for planning permission was submitted and a call for tenders (general contractor) launched.

View of the Smart Living Lab building by 2024 © BFF SA / Behnisch Architekten

A living laboratory

The Smart Living Lab building, which is scheduled to open in 2024, will provide workspace for the 130 members of 11 research teams from the EPFL, the School of Engineering and Architecture of Fribourg, and the University of Fribourg. The facility, which will be built from locally sourced timber, has been designed with the targets of Switzerland's Energy Strategy 2050. The design also reflects a wider environmental approach that is informed by the values set for 2050 by the 2000-watt society vision and applied during the whole lifecycle of its component parts, and meets the requirements of the Minergie-A-ECO energy label and Swiss Sustainable Building Standard (SNBS) certification. In addition to offering a comfortable and high-performance workspace, the primary purpose of the Smart Living Lab is to serve as a site of experimentation. The four-storey, multidisciplinary living laboratory will be a catalyst of progress, providing fertile ground for conducting experiments under real-life conditions.

"The Smart Living Lab building, which is scheduled to open in 2024, will provide workspace for the 130 members of 11 research teams from the EPFL, the School of Engineering and Architecture of Fribourg, and the University of Fribourg"

Building information modelling

The new building should encourage rigorous investigation thanks to facilities that support a wide range of research activities. Sensors will permanently monitor energy consumption, environmental quality, and the use of space. These data will be continually fed into a shared database and a building information modelling (BIM) system; in the interest of data interoperability and durability, the latter will function according to the 'OPENBIM' principle. This digital twin will serve three fundamental purposes. The first is post-occupation assessments which should provide proper unbiased feedback and make it possible to verify whether target energy performance levels have been reached or not. The second is the provision of input so that researchers can devise new experiments in the building on a 'plug and test' basis. The third is the optimisation of the implementation process and the monitoring of how the facility evolves with use, i.e. changes or adjustments to built/design elements and/or technical installations, as well as the management and rationalisation of the use of space.

Top of the agenda: well-being, resource efficiency, and innovation

The Smart Living Lab intends to conduct full-scale experiments in four fields: well-being and behaviour, construction technologies, energy systems and interactions, as well as design processes. Even after its construction is complete, the building will continue to evolve to serve research purposes, improve its performance, maintain its longevity, and maintain its place at the forefront of innovation.

View of the bluefactory innovation district by 2024 © BFF SA / Behnisch Architekten

Contacts

  • Department of Economic Affairs and Employment (DEE), Olivier Curty, Member of the cantonal government, olivier.curty@fr.ch, +41 26 305 2402

Smart Living Lab building – key figures

Floorspace 5,000 m2
Type of constructionBuilding made from locally sourced timber, open, adaptable, and resource-efficient
CostCHF 25 million
Project managerBFF SA
General contractorJPF Entreprise Générale SA, Bulle
Start of works2022
End2024
MissionLiving laboratory specialising in research and experimentation on the built environment of the future and sustainable construction
Jobs (estimated)130 research posts within the following institutions: EPFL, School of Engineering and Architecture of Fribourg, University of Fribourg

Contact

Martin Gonzenbach

Director of Operations EPFL Fribourg and Smart Living Lab
-modeling, simulations and algorithms
-technology transfer
-administration

Information

Smart Living Lab Building

Bluefactory Fribourg-Freiburg SA AG

JPF Entreprise Générale SA

Bluefactory Fribourg-Freiburg SA
Founded in 2014, Bluefactory Fribourg-Freiburg SA’s mission is to develop, build, promote, and foster community life in the bluefactory emerging innovation district. There are at present around 340 people working on the site from around 50 entities (SMEs, startups, innovative players, and university research) promoting principles of sustainable development as well as those of the circular economy.

Smart Living Lab
Founded in 2014 with the creation of an EPFL extended campus in Fribourg, the Smart Living Lab is a research centre for the future of the built environment, located in the bluefactory innovation district, a site affiliated to the Switzerland Innovation Network West EPFL. It brings together scientific teams from EPFL, the School of Engineering and Architecture of Fribourg, and the University of Fribourg, an interdisciplinary hub of international outreach, offering full-scale experimental facilities in fields related to sustainable habitat.

Medienmitteilung

Der Auftrag für den Bau des Smart Living Labs auf dem Gelände der blueFACTORY unterlag den Bestimmungen für öffentliche Ausschreibungen. Der Bau wird finanziert vom Kanton Freiburg. Im Gebäude sollen Forschungsteams der EPFL, der Hochschule für Technik und Architektur Freiburg (HTA-FR) und der Universität Freiburg arbeiten. Die öffentliche Ausschreibung für das Bauprojekt wurde von JPF Entreprise Générale aus Bulle gewonnen.

Nach der letzten März erfolgten öffentlichen Ausschreibung wurde der Auftrag für den Bau des Smart Living Labs, Forschungszentrum für die Zukunft der gebauten Umgebung, auf dem Gelän­de der blueFACTORY der Firma JPF Entreprise Générale AG aus Bullezugesprochen. Die Totalunternehmen, die sich beworben hatten, wurden auf der Basis einer Bewertungs­methode geprüft, die Preis, technische Qualität des Angebots und die spezifische Organisa­tion des Anbieters sowie dessen Organisation im Hinblick auf die Ausführung des Auftrags gewichtete. Der Gewinner der Ausschreibung hob sich ab durch sein sehr gutes Verständnis für das Projekt und dessen Herausforderungen, insbesondere im Hinblick auf eine Optimierung der Kosten. Das Siegerprojekt hält sich an den vom Kanton Freiburg vorgegebenen Globalkredit in der Höhe von CHF 25 Millionen.

"Der Gewinner der Ausschreibung hob sich ab durch sein sehr gutes Verständnis für das Projekt und dessen Herausforderungen, insbesondere im Hinblick auf eine Optimierung der Kosten"

Das vom Kanton Freiburg realisierte Projekt ist das Ergebnis einer fortgesetzten Zusammen­arbeit zwischen der BFF SA und dem Smart Living Lab. Konkretisiert wurde es 2018 mit der Lancierung eines partizipativen und innovativen Studienauftrags. Die darauffolgenden Schritte haben es ermöglicht, spezifischer auf die Bedürfnisse der Benutzer einzugehen. Dabei gelangten ein iteratives Verfahren und neuste Forschungstools zum Einsatz. Die Arbeiten mündeten schliesslich in ein Baugesuch und eine öffentliche Ausschreibung für ein Totalunternehmen.

Blick auf das Gebäude des Smart Living Labs im Jahr 2024 © BFF SA / Behnisch Architekten

Ein lebendiges Labor

Ab 2024 wird das Smart Living Lab auf einer Fläche von 5’000 Quadratmetern 130 Personen aufnehmen, die aus 11 Forschungsgruppen der EPFL, der Hochschule für Technik und Architektur Freiburg (HTA-FR) und der Universität Freiburg stammen. Das Gebäude aus lokalem Holz, das im Hinblick auf das Erreichen der langfristigen Ziele der Energiestrategie 2050 des Bundes gebaut wird, verfolgt ökologische Ziele, die auf den Anforderungen einer 2000-Watt-Gesellschaft bis 2050 basieren. Die Ziele werden über den gesamten Lebens­zyklus hinweg definiert. Das Gebäude hält sich zudem an die Vorgaben des Labels Minergie-A-ECO und an den Standard Nachhaltiges Bauen Schweiz SNBS. Das Gebäude soll nicht nur ein angenehmer und leistungsfähiger Arbeitsort ein, es soll auch das zentrale Experimentier­feld des Smart Living Labs sein. Das pluridisziplinäre und fortschrittliche «lebendige Labor» auf vier Stockwerken wird ein Raum sein, in dem unter realen Bedingungen gearbeitet und geforscht werden kann.

"Ab 2024 wird das Smart Living Lab auf einer Fläche von 5’000 Quadratmetern 130 Personen aufnehmen, die aus 11 Forschungsgruppen der EPFL, der Hochschule für Technik und Architektur Freiburg (HTA-FR) und der Universität Freiburg stammen"

Digitales Modell des Gebäudes

Um eine hohe Genauigkeit der Ergebnisse zu erreichen, wird am Gebäude eine ganze Palette von Einrichtungen angebracht, die verschiedene Forschungstätigkeiten ermöglichen. Zahl­reiche Sensoren erlauben die Messung von verschiedenen Parametern, die Auskunft über den Energieverbrauch, die Umgebungsqualität oder die Raumbelegung geben. Die permanente Überwachung des Gebäudes wird Daten an eine gemeinsame Datenbank und ein digitales Modell des Gebäudes (BIM – Building Information Modeling) liefern, letzteres gemäss dem Prinzip «OpenBIM», das die Interoperabilität und Kontinuität der Daten sicherstellt. Dieser «Digital Twin» deckt 3 wichtige Aspekte ab: 1. Er ermöglicht eine Evaluation nach der Nutzung der Räume, liefert eine kritische Rückmeldung und gibt Aufschluss darüber, ob die angestrebte Leistung erreicht wurde. 2. Er wird entscheidend sein im Hinblick auf die Forschungsarbeiten, die neue Erkenntnisse über dieses «Plug-and-Test-Gebäude» liefern sollen. 3. Er wird zur Optimierung bei der Umsetzung und Begleitung von Weiterentwicklungen des Gebäudes im Rahmen seiner Nutzung beitragen, d.h. bei allfälligen Veränderungen der Bauelemente und/oder technischen Installationen sowie bei der Verwaltung und Rationalisierung der Räume.

Die zentralen Begriffe: Wohlbefinden, Ökonomie der Ressourcen und Innovation

Im Smart Living Lab wird Forschung in vier Themenbereichen getrieben: Wohlbefinden und Verhalten, Bautechnologien, Energiesysteme sowie Interaktionen und Designprozesse. Ist das Smart Living Lab einmal gebaut, wird es ständig weiter entwickelt, um der Wissenschaft dienen und seine Leistungen verbessern zu können, eine lange Lebensdauer zu garantieren und stets an der Spitze der Innovation zu stehen.

Blick auf das Innovationsviertel von blueFACTORY im Jahr 2024 © BFF AG / Behnisch Architekten

Kontakte

Facts & Figures zum Gebäude des Smart Living Labs

Bodenfläche5’000 m2
BauartGebäude aus lokalem Holz, offen, in ständiger Weiterentwicklung, ressourcenschonend
BaukostenCHF 25 Millionen
BauherrinBFF SA
UnternehmenJPF Entreprise Générale AG, Bulle
Baubeginn2022
Inbetriebnahme2024
SteckbriefLebendiges Labor, das der Zukunft des Lebensraums und dem nachhaltigen Bauen gewidmet ist.
Arbeitsstellen, geschätzt130 Forschungsstellen der Institutionen EPFL, Hochschule für Technik und Architektur Freiburg, Universität Freiburg

Kontakt

Martin Gonzenbach

Director of Operations EPFL Fribourg and Smart Living Lab
-modeling, simulations and algorithms
-technology transfer
-administration

Information

Smart Living Lab Building

Bluefactory Fribourg-Freiburg SA AG

JPF Entreprise Générale SA

Bluefactory Fribourg-Freiburg SA
Auftrag der 2014 gegründeten Bluefactory Fribourg-Freiburg SA ist es, das CO2-arme Innovationsviertel blueFactory zu entwickeln, aufzubauen, zu betreiben und zu beleben. Im Innovationsviertel sind heute 340 Personen in ca. 50 Einheiten (KMU, Startups, innovative Akteure und universitäre Forschung) tätig. BlueFACTORY fördert die Prinzipien der nachhaltigen Entwicklung und der Kreislaufwirtschaft.

Smart Living Lab
Das zusammen mit dem zur EPFL gehörigen Campus 2014 in Freiburg gegründete Smart Living Lab ist ein Forschungszentrum zum Thema «Zukunft der gebauten Umgebung». Es ist auf dem Gelände des Innovationsviertels BlueFACTORY ansässig, einem der Standorte des Netzwerks Switzerland Innovation Park West EPFL. Es beherbergt Forschungsteams der EPFL, der Hochschule für Technik und Architektur Freiburg und der Universität Freiburg, die zusammen ein interdisziplinäres Zentrum mit internationaler Ausstrahlung bilden, das ein Experimentierfeld für Forschungen im Bereich «nachhaltiger Lebensraum» unter realen Bedingungen bietet.