The Smart Living Lab has published its 2018 annual report (in three languages) highlighting the Lab’s research activities dedicated to the future of the built environment. The report describes the launch of the parallel studies mandate for its future building, the inauguration of the NeighborHub solar house in the blueFACTORY innovation district, and outlines more than 100 interdisciplinary research projects.

2018 has been an important milestone for the Smart Living Lab, as it marks its fifth anniversary and the end of the first chapter of its history. The Building2050 research projects, whose mission was to prepare the design of the future Smart Living Lab Building, have now been completed and their results translated into the MEP (parallel studies mandate) tender document, which was launched at the beginning of the year. Four interdisciplinary teams made up of architects and engineers came through an international selection and produced a draft MEP as part of an innovative, collaborative, and open competition. The Canton of Fribourg reiterated its commitment to the project, allocating CHF 25 million for construction of the building.

Two new EPFL labs were created on the Fribourg site, and a third HEIA-FR institute joined the Smart Living Lab. In this context, the Building2050 group has repositioned itself as a support body for research.

The NeighborHub returned to Fribourg following its victory at the Solar Decathlon competition in the United States in 2017, and was opened at the heart of the blueFACTORY site. The social, cultural, and scientific activities that are organized there allow people to participate in neighbourhood life and in the research carried out within the Smart Living Lab. A spin-off was even launched by former solar decathletes in order to expand the concept of being a sustainable activator.

In terms of promotion, the Smart Living Lab was introduced to the general public as guest of honour at the Energissima fair in 2018. Its activities have gained more visibility thanks to its new website, which was completely updated in 2018.

Anne-Claude Cosandey, who led the project as head of operations, handed over the baton at the end of the year. Her commitment was a key factor in implementing the research centre’s work from the very beginning, setting up its facilities and building up the team before expanding the new research groups’ activities to their full extent, as well as developing partnerships with both the private and public sectors. The success of this first phase and the vital contribution of Anne-Claude Cosandey to the implementation of the Smart Living Lab have been unanimously acclaimed.

This annual report summarizes the highlights and key milestones of the Smart Living Lab during 2018. We will now take new steps that will further shape the lab’s identity, thanks to the project definition of the building. We hope that the research that has been made possible thanks to the Smart Living Lab’s unique framework will continue to support innovation locally and to be promoted internationally.

Marilyne Andersen, Academic Director
Martin Gonzenbach, Director of Operations

Contact

Marilyne Andersen

Academic Director of Smart Living Lab
Professor, Scientific Commission Chair- EPFL
-solar availability
-modelling, simulations and algorithms
-human building interaction

Martin Gonzenbach

Director of Operations EPFL Fribourg and Smart Living Lab
-technology transfer
-modelling, simulations and algorithms
-administration

Das Smart Living Lab hat seinen Jahresbericht 2018 in drei Sprachen veröffentlicht und stellt seine Forschungsaktivitäten im Bereich des zukünftigen Wohn- und Lebensraums vor. Neben dem Start des Studienauftrags für das zukünftige Gebäude sowie der Einweihung des NeighborHub-Solarhauses im Innovationsquartier blueFACTORY werden mehr als 100 interdisziplinäre Forschungsprojekte präsentiert.

2018 hat das Smart Living Lab ein erstes Kapitel in seiner Geschichte abgeschlossen; sein fünfjähriges Bestehen. Die Forschungsprojekte des Programms Building2050, dessen Aufgabe es war die Konzeption des künftigen Gebäudes des Smart Living Lab vorzubereiten, ist zum Abschluss gelangt und ihre Ergebnisse schlagen sich im Studienauftrag, welcher in diesem Jahr initiiert wurde, nieder. Vier interdisziplinäre Teams aus Architekten und Ingenieuren wurden aus einer internationalen Teilnehmerschaft selektioniert. Sie werden das Vorprojekt im Rahmen eines Wettbewerbs erarbeiten, der in seinem kooperativen und offenen Format einmalig ist. Der Kanton Freiburg hat sein Engagement bekräftigt und ein Darlehen von 25 Millionen Franken für den Bau des Gebäudes gesprochen.

Die EPFL hat im 2018 an ihrem Standort Freiburg zwei neue Laboratorien eröffnet. Zudem ist ein drittes Institut der HTA-FR zum Smart Living Lab gestossen. In diesem Kontext positioniert sich die Gruppe Building2050 neu als Unterstützungsteam für die Forschung.

Das Solarhaus NeighborHub, welches nach dem Sieg am Solar Decathlon im 2017 aus den USA zurückgekehrt ist, wurde 2018 am Forschungsstandort blueFACTORY wiederaufgebaut und eingeweiht. Die gesellschaftlichen, kulturellen und wissenschaftlichen Aktivitäten, die im NeighborHub stattfinden, leisten einen wertvollen Beitrag zum Quartierleben und den Forschungsarbeiten des Smart Living Lab. Eine Gruppe ehemaliger Studierender, welche am Solar Decathlon beteiligt waren, haben ein Spin-off gegründet, um diesem Konzept für eine aktivere Nachhaltigkeit zu mehr Bekanntheit zu verhelfen.

Auch Öffentlichkeitsarbeit hat das Smart Living Lab geleistet, insbesondere als Ehrengast an der Publikumsmesse Energissima 2018. Ausserdem wurde die Webseite 2018 komplett neu gestaltet und trägt zu einer besseren Sichtbarkeit der Aktivitäten des Smart Living Lab bei.

Ende Jahr hat Anne-Claude Cosandey, die das Projekt seit Anbeginn als operative Direktorin geleitet hatte, das Zepter übergeben. Ihr Engagement war für den Aufbau dieses Forschungszentrums von den allerersten Infrastrukturen und dem Aufbau des Teams bis zum Vollbetrieb der Forschungsgruppen und der Förderung der privaten und öffentlichen Partnerschaften entscheidend. Der Erfolg dieses ersten Kapitels und der zentrale Beitrag von Anne-Claude Cosandey zum Auftakt des Smart Living Lab wurde einstimmig begrüsst.

Dieser Jahresbericht fasst die Höhepunkte und Hauptetappen des Smart Living Lab im Jahr 2018 zusammen. Neue Kapitel und weitere Etappen werden bevor stehen. Gerade das Projekt des neuen Gebäudes, das wir derzeit mit immer grösserem Detailgrad definieren, wird unserer Identität zusätzlich Kontur verleihen. Wir setzen weiterhin alles daran, dass die Forschung, die im einzigartigen Rahmen des Smart Living Lab möglich ist, auch weiterhin international ausstrahlt und lokal zu Innovationen beiträgt.

Marilyne Andersen, Akademische Direktorin
Martin Gonzenbach, Operativer Direktor

Kontakt

Marilyne Andersen

Academic Director of Smart Living Lab
Professor, Scientific Commission Chair- EPFL
-solar availability
-modelling, simulations and algorithms
-human building interaction

Martin Gonzenbach

Director of Operations EPFL Fribourg and Smart Living Lab
-technology transfer
-modelling, simulations and algorithms
-administration

Information