Welcome to Smart Living Lab's annual report for 2020, a year that saw our lives turned upside down by the onset of the COVID-19 pandemic. This history-making crisis revealed our vulnerabilities as well as our resilience and suddenly redefined the way we live, work, and interact. On the one hand, it forced us to rethink our professional workspaces, in a context where remote working has been widely practiced. On the other hand, it shined a light on the importance of ventilation and air quality inside buildings. These are two of the Smart Living Lab research areas that were brought to the forefront during this time.

We were lucky enough to be able to complete the Winter School ARC-HEST term with three universities from Seoul, just prior to the pandemic's impact being felt across the globe. Thirty students from Switzerland and South Korea, split up into interdisciplinary teams, and conducted a study of different coworking spaces in Fribourg, Bern, and Lausanne. As for ‘Perspectives’, the professional event held at the Blue Hall in September, it provided the opportunity to invite Fribourg companies to discover the Smart Living Lab's accomplishments through concrete examples of collaborations with industry.

Finally, the development of the Smart Living Lab building constitutes a flagship project, not only for the researchers who work there, but also for the entire blueFACTORY area. This will be one of the site's three new buildings, due to start soon. In 2020, the detailed project was drawn up as part of a collaboration between the agents, Bluefactory Fribourg-Freiburg SA and the Smart Living Lab teams. The building will include a number of specific features that will make of it a true research tool. It will also serve as a living lab of international scientific interest and an innovation demonstrator. In short, it's a top-notch platform for collaboration with industrial partners.

Happy reading!

The Smart Living Lab Executive Committee

Contact

Martin Gonzenbach

Director of Operations EPFL Fribourg and Smart Living Lab
-modeling, simulations and algorithms
-technology transfer
-administration

Information

TAGs

Vor Ihnen liegt der Jahresbericht des Smart Living Lab für das Jahr 2020 – dem Jahr, das durch den Ausbruch der Coronapandemie das Leben von uns allen auf den Kopf gestellt hat. Diese historische Krise hat uns gezeigt, wie verwundbar, aber auch wie widerstandsfähig wir sind, und sie hat von einem Tag auf den anderen unseren Umgang miteinander sowie unsere Lebens- und Arbeitsweise neu definiert. Auf der einen Seite brachte sie uns dazu, unsere Arbeitsplatzkonzepte zu überdenken – mit Homeoffice, das plötzlich weit verbreitet war. Auf der anderen Seite lenkte sie die Aufmerksamkeit auf die Bedeutung von Belüftung und Luftqualität in Gebäuden. Damit rückten zwei Forschungsbereiche des Smart Living Lab ins Rampenlicht.

Wir hatten das Glück, die ARC-HEST-Winterakademie mit drei Universitäten in Seoul abhalten zu können, kurz bevor die Pandemie die Welt lahmlegte. Dreissig Studierende aus der Schweiz und Südkorea, aufgeteilt in interdisziplinäre Teams, führten eine Studie über Co-Working Spaces in Freiburg, Bern und Lausanne durch. An der Fachveranstaltung «Perspectives», die im September in der Halle bleue stattfand, konnten Freiburger Unternehmen die Arbeit des Smart Living Lab anhand konkreter Beispiele der Zusammenarbeit mit der Industrie kennenlernen.

Und schliesslich ist die Entwicklung des Smart Living Lab-Gebäudes ein Leuchtturmprojekt – nicht nur für die ForscherInnen, die dort arbeiten werden, sondern auch für das gesamte blueFACTORY-Quartier. Es wird eines von drei neuen Gebäuden an dem Standort sein, deren Bau demnächst beginnen soll. Im Jahr 2020 arbeiteten die Bluefactory Fribourg-Freiburg AG und die Teams des Smart Living Lab gemeinsam die Detailplanung aus. Das Gebäude wird über zahlreiche Besonderheiten verfügen, die es zu einem echten Forschungsinstrument werden lassen. Es wird zugleich als lebendiges Labor, das Gegenstand internationalen wissenschaftlichen Interesses ist, und als Vorzeigeobjekt für Innovationen dienen. Kurz gesagt, eine Plattform erster Klasse für die Zusammenarbeit mit industriellen Partnern.

Wir wünschen Ihnen eine spannende Lektüre.

Das Leitungskomitee des Smart Living Lab

Kontakt

Martin Gonzenbach

Director of Operations EPFL Fribourg and Smart Living Lab
-modeling, simulations and algorithms
-technology transfer
-administration

Information

TAGs