Research Story

Sensors covered with sticky tape and deliberately disabled smart blind motors… these are just a few examples of users' DIY solutions to troublesome everyday building automation systems. Yet, the user comfort and energy efficiency of these systems can only be improved if there is a decent level of user acceptance. The LUCIDELES project, led by the Human-IST Institute of the University of Fribourg, has two aims. The first is to optimise light management by leveraging natural daylight. The second is to carry out user testing on a smart control device in order to better understand user acceptance mechanisms.

"Generally speaking, system optimisation tends to focus on energy efficiency, potential cost savings and modelled comfort factors", explains Julien Nembrini, a researcher and lecturer at the Human-IST Institute of the University of Fribourg. "Rarely does this process consider the end user." Nembrini and his research team joined forces with Jérôme Kaempf, from the Idiap research institute in Martigny, and Regent Lighting in Basel to develop a project on designing user-centric automated light control systems. Tests are conducted simultaneously at multiple sites: Idiap, as well as the CELLS (Controlled Environments for Living Lab Studies) laboratory and offices of the Smart Living Lab in Fribourg, with the technical support of the IT team of the EPFL Building2050 Group.


"Generally speaking, system optimisation tends to focus on energy efficiency and modelled comfort factors. Rarely does this process consider the end user."

— Julien Nembrini, research and teaching assistant, Human-IST, UNIFR

Nembrini explains that there are two strands to the LUCIDELES project. "First, we developed an automation system that prioritises natural daylight in order to optimise light control in a workplace setting." Idiap, which specialises in this field, was in charge of modelling the relevant volumes and the impact of sunlight. This information was used to control the amount of artificial light, as well as the blinds and their tilt angle.

The team then produced light simulations, which involved a considerable amount of computing time. These formed the basis for the next stage which was the use of machine learning to gradually simplify the system in order to obtain an immediate prediction. "The aim was to optimise user comfort and energy efficiency."

Testing the system under real-life conditions

The second part of the LUCIDELES project involves the user testing of the automated light control system. Michael Papinutto, a PhD student in psychology and researcher at the Human-IST Institute explains how the test phase is organised, "It is divided into two levels. Level 1 involves volunteers playing a game in a laboratory/office during which we maintain full control over all of the factors involved. The idea here is to optimise the automated controls and observe user responses."

Volunteers are also asked to complete a form about their experiences and fill in a personality questionnaire. "We formulated a series of hypotheses on the acceptance or non-acceptance of automation systems beforehand. These form the basis of our work."

Level 2 tests the system under real-life conditions. The automation system is installed in a Smart Living Lab office on the blueFACTORY site. The occupants are able to change the light control settings using either the buttons fitted on their desk lamp or an online application. They can also turn the system off and on using a switch.

"Several studies have already been carried out on user acceptance of automation", notes Nembrini. "They tend to show that acceptance is higher if the system allows for a certain degree of user control and the user understands the system." LUCIDELES aims to pinpoint the acceptance criteria with a view to optimising the user comfort and energy efficiency of smart light control systems.

"Several studies tend to show that acceptance is higher if the system allows for a certain degree of user control and the user understands the system."

A Swiss project with links to the International Energy Agency

The LUCIDELES project ties in with one of the tasks set by the International Energy Agency task and taken up by Switzerland, namely the study of the relationship between natural and artificial light use in buildings, and the relationship between the end user and the lighting control system, with a view to improving energy efficiency. The Swiss Federal Office of Energy (SFOE) is a co-funder of the project. One of its funding requirements is the involvement of an industrial partner to ensure that the research is geared towards practical applications. One of Europe's leading lighting manufacturers, Regent Lighting in Basel has agreed to partner the LUCIDELES project.

Gallery

Contact

Julien Nembrini

Human-IST Institute
Senior research and teaching collaborator- UNIFR
-modeling, simulations and algorithms
-human-building interaction
-user-centered interfaces

Michaël Papinutto

Human-IST Institute
Doctoral assistant- UNIFR
-well-being and behaviors
-human-building interaction
-multimodal tracking

Information

LUCIDELES

Human-IST (UNIFR)
Building2050 Group (EPFL)
CELLS
Idiap
Regent Lighting

Forschungsgeschichte

Mit Klebeband abgedeckte Sensoren, automatische Rollläden, die sich nicht schliessen lassen… die Gebäudeautomatisierung hat bei den Nutzerinnen und Nutzern häufig ein Imageproblem. Damit die Automatisierung ihre Ziele wie einen verbesserten Komfort und eine höhere Energieeinsparung erreichen kann, ist sie jedoch auf deren Akzeptanz angewiesen. Das vom Institut Human-IST der Universität Freiburg durchgeführte Projekt LUCIDELES hat zum Ziel, das Lichtmanagement durch eine Förderung des Tageslichts zu optimieren. Zudem sollen die Reaktionen auf ein intelligentes Kontrollsystem getestet werden. Das Ziel ist es, die Nutzungsmechanismen dieses Systems besser zu verstehen.

«Im Normalfall werden die Systeme im Hinblick auf die Energieeffizienz, die potenziellen Einsparungen und modellierte Komfortfaktoren optimiert,» sagt Julien Nembrini, Forscher und Lehrbeauftragter am Institut Human-IST an der Universität Freiburg. «Sie werden jedoch nur selten von den Menschen getestet, die sie nutzen werden.» In Zusammenarbeit mit Jérôme Kaempf vom Forschungsinstitut Idiap in Martigny und dank einer Industriepartnerschaft mit dem Unternehmen Regent Lighting in Basel hat seine Forschungsgruppe ein Projekt rund um das Lichtmanagement entwickelt, bei dem der Mensch im Zentrum steht. Die Versuche werden parallel am Idiap und im Labor CELLS (Controlled Environments for Living Lab Studies) des Smart Living Lab in Freiburg sowie in Büros des Forschungszentrums für den Wohn- und Lebensraum der Zukunft mit der technischen Unterstützung des IT-Teams der Building2050-Gruppe der EPFL durchgeführt.


«Automatisierungssysteme werden im Hinblick auf ihre Energieeffizienz und auf modellierte Komfortfaktoren optimiert, jedoch nur selten von den Menschen getestet, die sie nutzen werden.»

— Julien Nembrini, Lehrbeauftragter und Forscher am Institut Human-IST, UNIFR

«Unser Projekt LUCIDELES besteht aus zwei Teilen,» erklärt Julien Nembrini. «Zunächst haben wir ein Automatisierungssystem entwickelt, welches das Lichtmanagement eines Arbeitsbereichs optimiert, indem das Tageslicht priorisiert wird.» Das auf diesem Gebiet spezialisierte Forschungsinstitut Idiap modellierte das betreffende Volumen sowie die Auswirkungen des Sonnenlichts, um sowohl die Zufuhr von künstlichem Licht als auch die Rollläden und deren Neigungswinkel zu steuern.

Basierend auf rechenintensiven Lichtsimulationen wurde das System durch maschinelles Lernen schrittweise vereinfacht, um eine sofortige Vorhersage zu erhalten. «Das Ziel ist es, den Komfort der Person zu optimieren und gleichzeitig Energie zu sparen,» sagt der Forscher der Universität Freiburg.

Reale Testbedingungen

Hier kommt der zweite Teil des Projekts LUCIDELES ins Spiel: Das Lichtautomatisierungssystem wird an Nutzerinnen und Nutzern getestet. «Es gibt zwei Teststufen,» erklärt Michael Papinutto, Doktorand in Psychologie und Forscher am Institut Human-IST. Auf einer ersten Stufe mit Freiwilligen in einem Büro-Labor haben wir sämtliche Faktoren unter Kontrolle. Dahinter steckt die Idee, sowohl die automatische Regelung zu optimieren als auch zu sehen, wie die Leute auf das System reagieren.»

Neben einem Formular zu ihren Erfahrungen müssen die Freiwilligen auch einen Persönlichkeitstest ausfüllen. «Als Arbeitsgrundlage haben wir eine Reihe von Hypothesen über die Akzeptanz der Automatisierungssysteme aufgestellt», fügt Michael Papinutto hinzu.

Die zweite Teststufe findet unter realitätsnaheren Bedingungen statt. Das Automatisierungssystem wurde in einem der Büroräume des Smart Living Lab im Innovationsquartier BlueFACTORY in Freiburg installiert. Hier können die Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter dem Lichtmanagementsystem gewisse Präferenzen vorgeben, entweder direkt über die Knöpfe an ihrer Schreibtischlampe oder über eine Online-Anwendung. Sie können das System zudem mit einem Schalter selbstständig ein- oder ausschalten.

«Es wurden bereits mehrere Studien über die Akzeptanz der Automatisierung durchgeführt,» sagt Julien Nembrini. «Daraus geht hervor, dass die Akzeptanz tendenziell besser ist, wenn eine Beeinflussung durch den Menschen möglich bleibt und er das betreffende System versteht.» Das Projekt LUCIDELES zielt darauf ab, diese Kriterien für die Akzeptanz genauer zu bestimmen, um die Akzeptanz zu erhöhen, den Komfort zu optimieren und letztendlich mehr Energie einzusparen.

«Mehrere Studien zeigen, dass die Akzeptanz tendenziell besser ist, wenn eine Beeinflussung durch den Menschen möglich bleibt und er das betreffende System versteht.»

Ein Schweizer Projekt im Zusammenhang mit der Internationalen Energieagentur 

Das Projekt LUCIDELES steht im Zusammenhang mit einem Auftrag, der von der Internationalen Energieagentur definiert und von der Schweiz mitgetragen wird. Es geht darum, das Verhältnis zwischen Tages- und Kunstlicht in Gebäuden sowie das Verhältnis der Nutzerinnen und Nutzer zu den vorgeschlagenen Systemen zur Steuerung dieser beiden unterschiedlichen Lichtquellen zu untersuchen, mit dem Ziel, Energie einzusparen. Das Bundesamt für Energie (BFE) finanziert einen Teil dieser Forschungsarbeiten. Zu seinen Anforderungen gehört u.a. die Beteiligung eines Industriepartners. Auf diese Weise soll sichergestellt werden, dass die unterstützten Projekte auf eine Anwendung unter realen Bedingungen abzielen. Das Projekt LUCIDELES wird vom Unternehmen Regent Lighting unterstützt, das in Basel ansässig ist und einer der führenden Leuchtenhersteller in Europa ist.

Text: Sophie Roulin / Bilder: Guillaume Perret / Überseztung: Transit TXT

Galerie

Kontakt

Julien Nembrini

Human-IST Institute
Senior research and teaching collaborator- UNIFR
-modeling, simulations and algorithms
-human-building interaction
-user-centered interfaces

Michaël Papinutto

Human-IST Institute
Doctoral assistant- UNIFR
-well-being and behaviors
-human-building interaction
-multimodal tracking

Information

LUCIDELES

Human-IST (UNIFR)
Building2050 Group (EPFL)
CELLS
Idiap
Regent Lighting