Press release

EPFL researchers have built a footbridge prototype using reinforced-concrete blocks from walls of a building being renovated. The blocks were cut into individual pieces on site and assembled into a prestressed arch. This project, which marks the first time concrete has been reused in this way, is part of an initiative to substantially shrink the construction industry’s carbon footprint by adopting a circular economy approach. The footbridge will be inaugurated at a ceremony at the Smart Living Lab in Fribourg on 11 October.

“People are hesitant to reuse concrete due to a variety of concerns”

“People are hesitant to reuse concrete due to a variety of concerns,” says Corentin Fivet, a tenure-track assistant professor at EPFL and head of the Structural Exploration Lab (SXL) within the Smart Living Lab. “But we wanted to show that those concerns are largely unfounded. Blocks of concrete that are selected for reuse are just as reliable and useful as new blocks.”

Fivet has been studying potential applications of the circular economy in the construction industry for years. His team at SXL, which is part of EPFL’s School of Architecture, Civil and Environmental Engineering (ENAC), initially looked at metal and now also turns its attention to concrete. This project in particular involved building a 10m-wide footbridge out of 25 blocks of concrete taken from walls destined to be torn down. The project engineers have now finished load-testing the new structure, meaning it’s ready for the inauguration ceremony at the Smart Living Lab’s Halle Bleue on 11 October.

Detail of the footbridge. © EPFL

Jan Brütting, a recent PhD graduate from SXL who initiated this project, conducted this research as part of his postdoc along with fellow EPFL postdoc Maléna Bastien Masse. For concrete to be reused effectively, new design methods are needed that are based on exploiting existing concrete sections, rather than the conventional approach of pouring fresh concrete in line with each project’s specifications. The catch is that the properties of existing sections can vary and are not always known ahead of time. To help engineers employ these new methods, SXL recently developed a computer program that automates the process of selecting reclaimed elements from a given stock and minimizes a new structure’s carbon footprint (download the program here).

Proving its worth in practical applications
In practice, builders are often reluctant to reuse concrete due to the perceived additional risk. But the SXL team believes there are only benefits to be had. That’s where their project of building a footbridge prototype comes in: to demonstrate, quickly and efficiently, that the procedure is safe and relevant. “We gave ourselves two months to find a source building in the region and a demolition company that would be interested in working with us,” says Bastien Masse. That company turned out to be Diamcoupe, which had been commissioned to renovate a building erected less than 10 years ago; this renovation site was the perfect opportunity to source viable blocks of concrete. “We asked Diamcoupe to cut the concrete into the sizes we needed and to drill holes through them for our prestressing cables. These cables were provided by Freyssinet and used to build the arch,” she adds.

The engineers were thus able to obtain 20cm-thick concrete blocks for the footbridge. They added mortar in places to smooth out the slight differences in dimensions, which are inevitable anytime objects are reused. “Arches are actually the ideal structure for repurposing concrete blocks, since the material is only subject to compression forces,” says Brütting.

"No other new concrete footbridge has a carbon footprint as small as ours"

Opening up new horizons
This project, which received funding from an ENAC Innovation Seed Grant, opens up promising new research horizons for SXL. Fivet explains: “Most buildings in Switzerland are made out of concrete, and producing this raw material accounts for 7% of CO2 emissions from anthropogenic activity. What’s more, concrete makes up 35% of demolition waste. When the material reaches its end of life, it’s at best broken down into gravel or granulate to create recycled forms – but that consumes a lot of energy. If we were instead to cut up concrete blocks and reuse them, we could both prevent the need to produce more concrete and eliminate the inert waste. The carbon emissions from this process wouldn’t necessarily be zero, but they would be drastically reduced. We would delay the need to downcycle obsolete concrete.”

Detail of the footbridge. © EPFL

Under this circular economy approach, demolition companies – which until now have been at the end of the value chain – would also become producers, kicking off a new cycle. Fivet, true to his training as an architectural engineer, is also currently studying the factors that lead a building to become obsolete and the architectural characteristics that would facilitate the reuse of obsolete building components.

Calling on the entire industry
The SXL team’s project is a call to action for the construction industry. “No other new concrete footbridge has a carbon footprint as small as ours,” says Fivet. “Imagine if every obsolete concrete structure out there was cut into blocks and used to meet some of the global demand for new concrete. That would be a big step towards addressing some of the most pressing climate-change challenges.”

  • Vernissage: 11 October 2021 at 17:00 in the Atelier PopUp of the Smart Living Lab, at the blue Hall of blueFACTORY, Passage du Cardinal 13b, 1700 Fribourg.

Author: Sandrine Perroud

References

Fivet C, Brütting J. Nothing is lost, nothing is created, everything is reused: structural design for a circular economy. Struct Eng. 2020;98(1):74–81.

Brütting J, Vandervaeren C, Senatore G, De Temmerman N, Fivet C. Environmental impact minimization of reticular structures made of reused and new elements through Life Cycle Assessment and Mixed-Integer Linear Programming. Energy Build. 2020 May;215:109827.

Küpfer C, Fivet C. Déconstruction Sélective - Construction Réversible: recueil pour diminuer les déchets et favoriser le réemploi dans la construction. Federal Office for the Environment FOEN; 2021.

Contact

Corentin Fivet

Head of Structural Xploration Lab (SXL)
Tenure Track Assistant Professor- EPFL
-low carbon and reusable
-load-bearing systems
-design and construction processes

Maléna Bastien Masse

Structural Xploration Lab (SXL)
Postdoctoral Researcher- EPFL
-low carbon and reusable
-load-bearing systems
-design and construction processes

Information

Press kit

TAGs

Pressemitteilung

Forscher der EPFL haben einen Prototypen für eine Fussgängerbrücke aus Stahlbetonblöcken gebaut, die aus den Wänden eines zu renovierenden Gebäudes stammen. Die Blöcke wurden vor Ort in einzelne Stücke gesägt und anschliessend zu einem vorgespannten Bogen zusammengesetzt. Dieses Projekt, bei dem zum ersten Mal Beton auf diese Weise wiederverwendet wurde, ist Teil einer Forschungsinitiative, die darauf abzielt, den CO2-Fussabdruck der Bauindustrie durch die Anwendung der Kreislaufwirtschaft erheblich zu verringern. Die Fussgängerbrücke wird am 11. Oktober im Smart Living Lab in Fribourg eingeweiht.

"Die Baubranche zögert, Beton wiederzuverwenden, weil sie einige Bedenken hat"

"Die Baubranche zögert, Beton wiederzuverwenden, weil sie einige Bedenken hat", sagt Corentin Fivet, Tenure-Track Assistenzprofessor an der EPFL und Leiter des Structural Xploration Lab (SXL) im Smart Living Lab. "Wir wollten jedoch zeigen, dass diese Bedenken weitgehend unbegründet sind. Betonblöcke, die für die Wiederverwendung ausgewählt wurden, sind genauso zuverlässig und nützlich wie neue Blöcke."

Fivet befasst sich seit Jahren mit potenziellen Anwendungen der Kreislaufwirtschaft in der Bauindustrie. Sein Team am SXL, das zur Fakultät für Architektur, Bau- und Umweltingenieurwesen (ENAC) der EPFL gehört, befasste sich zunächst mit der Wiederverwendung von Metallbauteilen und wendet sich nun auch dem Beton zu. Bei ebendiesem Projekt ging es darum, eine 10 Meter lange Fussgängerbrücke aus 25 Betonblöcken zu bauen, die aus Wänden stammen, welche abgerissen werden sollten. Die beteiligten Ingenieure haben mittlerweile die Belastungsprüfung der neuen Struktur abgeschlossen, sodass sie für die Einweihungszeremonie in der Halle Bleue des Smart Living Lab am 11. Oktober bereit ist.

Details. © 2021 EPFL

Jan Brütting, seit kurzem am SXL promoviert und Initiator des Projekts, führte die Forschung im Rahmen seines Postdoktorats zusammen mit Maléna Bastien Masse, ebenfalls Postdoktorandin am SXL, durch. Für eine sinnvolle Wiederverwendung von Beton bedarf es neuer Entwurfsmethoden, die auf die Nutzung bestehender Betonelemente zugeschnitten sind. Dieses Vorgehen kehrt den herkömmlichen Ansatz, bei dem frischer Beton entsprechend den Anforderungen des jeweiligen Projekts gegossen wird, um. Der Haken hierbei ist, dass die Eigenschaften vorhandener Elemente variieren können und nicht immer im Voraus bekannt sind. Um Ingenieure bei der praktischen Umsetzung solch neuer Methoden zu unterstützen, hat das SXL vor kurzem eine Software entwickelt. Diese automatisert die Wahl der wiederzuverwendenden Bauteile aus einem vorhandenen Bestand und minimiert dabei den CO2-Fussabdruck des neuen Bauwerks (finden Sie den Download dazu hier).

Bewährungsprobe in der Praxis
In der Praxis sträuben sich Bauherren allerdings oft gegen die Wiederverwendung von Beton, weil sie darin ein zusätzliches Risiko sehen. Das Team des SXL ist jedoch davon überzeugt, dass es einige Vorteile gibt. Hier setzt ihr Projekt zum Bau eines Prototyps einer Fussgängerbrücke an: Sie wollen schnell und effizient beweisen, dass das Verfahren sicher und sinnvoll ist. "Wir hatten zwei Monate Zeit, um ein Gebäude in der Region und ein Abbruchunternehmen zu finden, das an einer Zusammenarbeit mit uns interessiert war", sagt Bastien Masse. Dieses Unternehmen war Diamcoupe, das mit der Renovierung eines vor weniger als 10 Jahren errichteten Gebäudes beauftragt worden war; diese Renovierungsbaustelle war die ideale Gelegenheit, um brauchbare Betonblöcke zu beschaffen. "Wir haben Diamcoupe gebeten, die Betonelemente auf die von uns benötigten Masse zuzuschneiden und Löcher für die Spannkabel zu bohren. Diese Kabel wurden von Freyssinet geliefert und für den Bau des Bogens verwendet", fügt sie hinzu.

So erhielten die Ingenieure 20 cm dicke Betonblöcke für die Fussgängerbrücke. Zwischen die Blöcke fügten sie Mörtel, um die leichten Unterschiede in den Abmessungen auszugleichen, die bei der Wiederverwendung von Bauteilen unvermeidlich sind. "Bögen sind im Grunde die ideale Tragstruktur für die Wiederverwendung von Betonblöcken, da das Material nur Druckkräften ausgesetzt ist", sagt Brütting.

"Keine andere neue Fussgängerbrücke aus Beton hat einen so kleinen ökologischen Fussabdruck wie unsere"

Erschliessung neuer Horizonte
Dieses Projekt, finanziert durch eine ENAC Innovation-Seed-Förderung, eröffnet dem SXL vielversprechende neue Forschungshorizonte. Fivet erklärt: "Die meisten Gebäude in der Schweiz bestehen aus Beton und die Herstellung dieses Rohstoffs ist für 7 % der anthropogenen CO2-Emissionen verantwortlich. Hinzu kommt, dass Beton 35 % der Abbruchabfälle ausmacht. Am Ende seiner Lebensdauer wird das Material bestenfalls zu Schotter oder Granulat zerkleinert, um daraus wiederverwertbare Objekte herzustellen - doch das verbraucht viel Energie. Wenn wir stattdessen Betonelemente zersägen und direkt wiederverwenden würden, könnten wir nicht nur die Produktion von neuem Beton vermeiden, sondern auch den entstehenden Abfall. Die Kohlenstoffemissionen dieses Prozesses wären nicht unbedingt gleich Null, aber sie würden drastisch reduziert. Somit würden wir die Notwendigkeit des Downcyclings von altem Beton hinauszögern.

Details. © 2021 EPFL

Im Rahmen dieses Kreislaufwirtschaftkonzepts würden die Abrissunternehmen, die bisher am Ende der Wertschöpfungskette standen, ebenfalls zu Produzenten werden und einen neuen Kreislauf in Gang setzen. Fivet, der seine Ausbildung als Architekt und Ingenieur absolviert hat, untersucht derzeit auch die Faktoren, die dazu führen, dass ein Gebäude überholt wird, und die architektonischen Merkmale, welche die Wiederverwendung überholter Gebäudekomponenten erleichtern würden.

Ein Appel an die gesamte Branche
Das Projekt des SXL ist ein Aufruf zum Handeln an die Bauindustrie. "Keine andere neue Fussgängerbrücke aus Beton hat einen so kleinen ökologischen Fussabdruck wie unsere", sagt Fivet. "Stellen Sie sich vor, jedes überholte Betonbauwerk würde in Blöcke geschnitten und zur Deckung der weltweiten Nachfrage nach neuem Beton verwendet. Das wäre ein grosser Schritt zur Bewältigung einiger der dringendsten Herausforderungen des Klimawandels."

Vernissage: 11. Oktober 2021 um 17:00 Uhr im Atelier PopUp des Smart Living Lab, in der Halle Bleue der blueFACTORY, Passage du Cardinal 13b, 1700 Fribourg.

Autor: Sandrine Perroud

References

Fivet C, Brütting J. Nothing is lost, nothing is created, everything is reused: structural design for a circular economy. Struct Eng. 2020;98(1):74–81.

Brütting J, Vandervaeren C, Senatore G, De Temmerman N, Fivet C. Environmental impact minimization of reticular structures made of reused and new elements through Life Cycle Assessment and Mixed-Integer Linear Programming. Energy Build. 2020 May;215:109827.

Küpfer C, Fivet C. Déconstruction Sélective - Construction Réversible: recueil pour diminuer les déchets et favoriser le réemploi dans la construction. Federal Office for the Environment FOEN; 2021.

Kontakt

Corentin Fivet

Head of Structural Xploration Lab (SXL)
Tenure Track Assistant Professor- EPFL
-low carbon and reusable
-load-bearing systems
-design and construction processes

Maléna Bastien Masse

Structural Xploration Lab (SXL)
Postdoctoral Researcher- EPFL
-low carbon and reusable
-load-bearing systems
-design and construction processes

Information

Press kit

TAGs