Building Management 4.0 - innovative services for performance monitoring and facility management

The FACILITY 4.0 project aims to evaluate and develop large-scale deployable building monitoring and management services based on the latest data science techniques including AI, machine learning, cloud and Internet of Things. More specifically, analysis, predictive maintenance, warning or forecasting services are targeted in FACILITY 4.0.

This project is part of the general context of the energy transition and the reduction of the environmental impact of the building sector, which accounts for 1⁄3 of CO2 emissions in Switzerland and about 45% of energy consumption. The question of monitoring and optimising the performance of the 2.3 million buildings in Switzerland is therefore crucial.

For building operators, an obstacle to controlling and increasing performance in the area of facility management is, on the one hand, the lack of data from buildings and the resources needed to analyse them. On the other hand, technical management systems are often not designed for the storage and analysis of historical data.

A co-creation group made up of various economic and scientific partners has the role of identifying and specifying the ICT services tested during the project.

Gebäudemanagement 4.0 – innovative Dienstleistungen für Leistungsüberwachung und Facility Management

Das Projekt FACILITY 4.0 zielt darauf ab, Dienste im Bereich Gebäudeüberwachung und -management auf der Grundlage der neuesten datenwissenschaftlichen Techniken einschließlich KI, maschinelles Lernen, Cloud und Internet der Dinge zu evaluieren und zu entwickeln. Der Fokus liegt dabei insbesondere auf den Bereichen Datenanalyse, prädiktive Wartung, Warn- oder Prognosedienste.

Dieses Projekt steht im Zusammenhang mit der Energiewende und der notwendigen Reduktion der Umweltauswirkungen des Schweizer Gebäudeparks, der für einen Drittel der CO2-Emissionen und für etwa 45 Prozent des Gesamtenergieverbrauchs verantwortlich ist. Die Frage der Überwachung und Optimierung der Energieeffizienz der 2,3 Millionen Gebäude in der Schweiz ist daher zentral.

Für Gebäudebetreiber stellt der Mangel an Betriebsdaten und die fehlenden Ressourcen für deren Analyse ein Hindernis für die Überwachung und Verbesserung der Leistung im Bereich Facility Management (FM) dar. Andererseits sind die Gebäudemanagement-Systeme oft nicht für die Speicherung und Analyse von Daten ausgelegt.

Eine aus verschiedenen Partnern aus Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft zusammengesetzte Co-Creation-Gruppe hat die Aufgabe, die im Rahmen des Projekts zu testenden IKT-Dienste zu identifizieren und zu spezifizieren.