Congratulations to Thibaut Menny and Célia Küpfer, two master students in architecture at EPFL advised by the Structural Xploration Lab, who received the Durabilis Award last December. The prize awards master students’ works that integrate sustainability principles at their core.

Thibaut’s project redefined energy production and tourism in St-Malo, France, by installing ‘landscape machines’ recolting wind and tidal energy, while reshaping the dyke of ‘noires’. Considering all detailed aspects of energy production, transformation, storage, and distribution at the urban and mechanical level, Thibaut also received the BG ‘Construction and Sustainable Development’ prize. Thibaut had been advised by Prof. Corentin Fivet (SXL), Prof. Thomas Keller (CClab), and Prof. François Maréchal (IPESE).

Célia’s thesis questions and frames the application of circular economy in the architectural production in Switzerland. Her thesis argues for new flows of reused materials at the regional scale, in order to ease the design of buildings that reduce waste and energy production to unprecedented levels. The thesis sets the basis for her master project, which consists in the design of a new reclaim material distribution center on the outskirts of Lausanne. Her thesis had been advised by Prof. Emmanuel Rey (LAST), Prof. Corentin Fivet (SXL), and Aleksis Dind (LAST).

This series of recognitions adds up to the SIA prize received by Joseph Desruelle earlier this year.

Contact

Corentin Fivet

Head of Structural Xploration Lab (SXL)
Tenure Track Assistant Professor- EPFL
-load-bearing systems
-design and construction processes
-sustainable architectural technology

Gallery

Herzlichen Glückwunsch an Thibaut Menny und Célia Küpfer, Studierende im Master Architektur an der EPFL, die im Dezember beide den Durabilis Preis erhalten haben und durch das Structural Xploration Lab betreut wurden. Der Preis ehrt Abschlussarbeiten zu Themen der Nachhaltigkeit.

Die Arbeit von Thibaut Menny gibt neue Ideen zur Energieproduktion und zum Tourismus in St-Malo, Frankreich. Sogenannte „Landschafts-Maschinen“ erzeugen Energie durch Wind und Gezeiten und verändert gleichzeitig den „Deich von Noires“. Die Arbeit bezieht alle Aspekte der Mechanik und Energie Produktion, Transformation und Speicherung sowie die Energie Verteilung im urbanen Raum mit ein. Deshalb hat Thibaut zusätzlich den BG-Preis „Nachhaltige Konstruktion und Entwicklung“ erhalten. Die erfolgreiche Arbeit wurde von den Professoren Corentin Fivet (SXL), Thomas Keller (CClab) und François Maréchal (IPESE) betreut.

Die Masterarbeit von Célia Küpfer betrachtet und hinterfragt die Anwendung der Kreislaufwirtschaft in der Schweizer Architektur. Ihre Arbeit setzt sich für neue Ströme wiederverwendeter Materialien auf regionaler Ebene ein, um die Gestaltung von Gebäuden zu erleichtern und um die Abfall- und Energieerzeugung auf ein bisher nicht gekanntes Maß zu reduzieren. Die Arbeit bildet die Grundlage für ihr Masterprojekt, das die Konzeption eines neuen Zentrums für die (Rück-)Gewinnung von wiederverwendbaren Materialien am Stadtrand von Lausanne vorsieht. Ihre Arbeit wurde von Prof. Emmanuel Rey (LAST), Prof. Corentin Fivet (SXL) und Aleksis Dind (LAST) betreut.

Diese Anerkennungen folgen auf den erst kürzlich von Joseph Desruelle erhaltenen SIA-Preis.

Kontakt

Corentin Fivet

Head of Structural Xploration Lab (SXL)
Tenure Track Assistant Professor- EPFL
-load-bearing systems
-design and construction processes
-sustainable architectural technology

Galerie