Press release

A group of 15 students – mostly from the first year of architecture of the School of Architecture and Engineering of Fribourg (HEIA-FR) – will be showing their work on Friday, 22 November 2019 at the Smart Living Lab after having participated in the architecture theme week to build a display stand made up of four different types of green roofs.

The aim of this workshop organized by Raphaël Compagnon and Joëlle Goyette Pernot – both sustainable development professors in the architecture sector of the HEIA-FR - was to help students understand the advantages of green roofs in the built environment, within the context of the global climate change issues society must tackle, such as urban climate regulation (combat against urban heat island phenomenon, rainwater retention…), contribution to maintaining, and possibly restauring biodiversity, restitution of green spaces close to natural spaces, all of which contribute to the development of a green framework in the urban environment. Green roofs are also beneficial when it comes to durability, water tightness of flat roofs, and building isolation, which is particularly interesting from a construction point of view.

«The update of ancient practices» was the message delivered to students by Nathalie Baumann, specialist in urban ecology, when she met them in Basel, pioneering city in the use of green roofs. «To help maintain the local green flora, while aiming for self-regulation of the green environment, and invasive plant management» is Jacques Studer’s vision, biologist from Fribourg whom students interacted with on the blueFACTORY site, where the green roofs are displayed.

The display stand shows four different types of roofs: three extensive ones and an intensive one. Their substrates are varied and adapted to different forms of supporting structures. Native plants seeds will be planted before the end of the theme week. Nature will then have to do its work, and results will be seen as of spring 2020. It may take months, even years, for these roofs to fully develop.

This project was made possible thanks to Contec AG, OHS Otto Hauenstein Semences, and Lautrejardin, who donated sealing materials, substrates, seed mixtures, and plants.

Stand vernissage: Friday, 22 November 2019 at 14:00 at the Smart Living Lab, on the blueFACTORY site, between the NeighborHub and the Blue Hall, Passage du Cardinal 13b, Fribourg.

Contact : Prof. Joëlle Goyette Pernot ▪ Institut TRANSFORM ▪ +41 (0)26 429 66 65 (direct)

Haute école d’ingénierie et d’architecture ▪ Pérolles 80 ▪ CH-1700 Fribourg ▪ www.heia-fr.ch

Contact

Joëlle Goyette Pernot

TRANSFORM Institute
Professor- HEIA-FR
-health and comfort in buildings
-heating, ventilation and air-conditioning HVAC
-construction

Raphaël Compagnon

construction and environnement / TRANSFORM Institute
Professor- HEIA-FR
-spatial analysis or planning
-efficient energy strategies and regulation
-renewable energy

Gallery

TAGs

Am Ende einer Themenwoche in Architektur wird eine Gruppe von 15 Studierenden, wovon die meisten ihr erstes Studienjahr in Architektur an der Universität für Technik und Architektur Freiburg (HTA-FR) absolvieren, die Früchte ihrer Arbeit, d. h. vier Arten von Gründächern, an einem Demonstrationsstand präsentieren, der am Freitag, 22. November 2019 im Smart Living Lab eingeweiht wird.

Der Workshop, der von Raphaël Compagnon und Joëlle Goyette Pernot, Professor und Professorin für nachhaltige Entwicklung an der HTA-FR, angeboten wird, hat zum Ziel, dass die Studierenden die Vorteile von Gründächern in Siedlungsgebieten angesichts der globalen Veränderungen, mit denen die Gesellschaft konfrontiert ist, erkennen: Regulierung des Stadtklimas (Bekämpfung von städtischen Wärmeinseln, Speicherung von Regenwasser usw.), Beitrag zur Erhaltung und sogar zur Wiederherstellung der biologischen Vielfalt, Rückgewinnung von möglichst naturbelassenen Grünflächen. Dies alles trägt dazu bei, die Natur in die Städte zurückzuholen. Gründächer bieten zudem bedeutende Vorteile aus baulicher Sicht, da sie die Lebensdauer von Flachdachabdichtungen verlängern und die Gebäudedämmung verbessern.

«Traditionelle Praktiken wiederentdecken und modernisieren», rät die Stadtökologin Nathalie Baumann den Studierenden anlässlich deren Besuchs in Basel, Pionierstadt im Bereich der Dachbegrünung. «Gründächer leisten einen Beitrag zur Erhaltung der lokalen Pflanzenvielfalt, wobei eine Selbstregulierung anzustreben und das Ausbreiten invasiver Pflanzen zu verhindern ist", so der Freiburger Biologe Jacques Studer im Gespräch mit den Studierenden ­auf dem blueFACTORY-Gelände, im Herzen Freiburgs, wo auch der Demonstrationsstand für Gründächer installiert wird.

Am Stand werden vier Dächer präsentiert ­– drei Arten von Extensivbegrünungen und eine Intensivbegrünung. Sie bestehen aus unterschiedlichen Substraten, die für verschiedene Arten von Tragwerken geeignet sind. Bis zum Ende der Themenwoche werden einheimische Pflanzen gesät und gepflanzt. Dann gilt es nur noch, die Natur ihre Arbeit tun zu lassen und im Frühjahr 2020 wiederzukommen, um zu sehen, wie sich diese Dächer entwickelt haben. Es dauert mehrere Monate oder sogar Jahre, bis sie ihre volle Pracht entfalten.

Dieses Projekt konnte dank der Unterstützung der Unternehmen Contec AG, OHS Otto Hauenstein Semences und Lautrejardin durchgeführt werden, die die notwendigen Dichtungsmaterialien, Substrate, Saatgutmischungen und Pflanzen zur Verfügung gestellt haben.

Standeinweihung: Freitag, 22. November 2019 um 14 Uhr im Smart Living Lab, auf dem blueFACTORY-Gelände, zwischen dem Neighborhub und der Blauen Halle, Passage du Cardinal 13b, Freiburg

Kontakt: Prof. Joëlle Goyette Pernot ▪ Institut TRANSFORM ▪ Smart Living Lab ▪ +41 (0)26 429 66 65 (direkt)

Hochschule für Technik und Architektur Freiburg ▪ Pérolles 80 ▪ CH-1700 Freiburg ▪ www.hta-fr.ch

Kontakt

Joëlle Goyette Pernot

TRANSFORM Institute
Professor- HEIA-FR
-health and comfort in buildings
-heating, ventilation and air-conditioning HVAC
-construction

Raphaël Compagnon

construction and environnement / TRANSFORM Institute
Professor- HEIA-FR
-spatial analysis or planning
-efficient energy strategies and regulation
-renewable energy

Galerie

TAGs